We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not up to normal standard.”
Review of Lucyswell B&B

Lucyswell B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lucyswell B&B
Ranked #111 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“not up to normal standard.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is an honest critical and constructive appraisal (I am a builder so it is mainly from this position that i am commenting) I stayed one night recently ,everything was clean and tidy with a good breakfast with all the usual food provided.Room to front can be noisy,no soap.WATER PRESSURE was non existent a dribble ,a booster pump is an absolute essential here,plumber you are a disgrace ,a few nice shelves in bathroom would be very beneficial.The lady had nothing to say ,if you are going to involve yourself with the public you must be able to interact .Get these basic requirements sorted.Other guests ,did you not use any water?

Room Tip: Rooms to road can be noisy if you come from the quiet counry
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    2
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
4
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed in Lucyswell B&B in June this year, as a treat to myself, as I wanted to spend my Birthday in Dublin, which is where my family are from & is a 2nd home to me.

I was met by a charming Lady, who went out of her way to cook a proper Irish Breakfast for Me, as I had arrived early in the Morning & at a very reasonable price, I then retired to my room. which had a En-suite bathroom, a Double Bed, Coloured Tv & plenty of space to put my clothes, Tea & Coffee Making Facilities & the room was maintained all through My stay.

I was Greeted by the Owner Weldon, who was a very charming Man & went out of his way to make me very welcome, he informed me that there was a Tesco Store within walking distance & a bus stop right outside of the B&B that went straight into the heart of Dublin City Centre.

I would definitely stay here again, especially when returning to Ireland to do further Family Research as it is well worth the money.

Room Tip: I was at the front of the B&B on the ground floor & I never had any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishbrummie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in lucyswell this month after attending party nearby. Fantastic place, very homely, friendly and welcoming service, great quality bed for a good sleep, very pleasant place to stay. Breakfast of very good standard.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipR1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

stayed here a few times and its a fantastic place to stay.cheap as chips
great breakfast included.rooms come either with en suite or u share with maybe one other room.only 9 rooms so it isnt crowded at all and they have own tv tea/coffee and are clean and well presented too
not far from dublin airport.and only 10/15 mins into town centre by bus
owner is a character,very irish with a wealth of stories and full of the craic lol

Room Tip: busy road but quiet at night.so maybe rooms at the back are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertdow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Lucyswell is an absolutly lovely little B&B a little bit out of town, but the bus stops are very close and you will be in the town in around 20 minutes. Welton is a nice helpful person, the breakfast was great, the room smal but clean and modern. I came in and felt like home. I`ll go to Dublin next year again I know, where I will stay again... Better then every Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegsLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Even though it is out of town, it was easy to travel into Dublin by bus. The bus stop is very closeby. The host was helpful and friendly but works during the day. The room and breakfast were great but you need to know that if you arrive outside of working hours, you need to make arrangements for the keys. I loved Dublin and in some ways it was good staying out of the city, especially as it is close to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

If staying in Dublin is your plan this is not for you. The room was small but otherwise very nice, clean and modern. The friendly service was very good - they were helpful in arranging an early breakfast (continental only) for our early departure and booking a taxi to the ferry terminal for us. However, it felt as if we were in the middle of nowhere. We were able to catch a bus easily from the airport but the area was not particularly nice and the only place to eat within walking distance was closing as we arrived which was fairly early in the evening. You could probably organise a bus into Dublin but there are equally good places to stay in Dublin that would have suited us better. The B&B does a lovely job for where it is, just not where we would have liked it to be.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheridan224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Regency Hotel Dublin
The Regency Hotel Dublin
#117 of 151 in Dublin
1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cashel Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shantalla Lodge B&B
Shantalla Lodge B&B
#19 of 150 in Dublin
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin
0.9 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 150 in Dublin
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucyswell B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucyswell B&B

Property: Lucyswell B&B
Address: 171 Beaumont Road, Dublin Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lucyswell GuestHouse is located in Beaumont Dublin 9. Ensuite rooms with free WiFi, TV, Tea/Coffee. At the main gate of Beaumont Hospital. Off street car parking and ALL fully fitted mod con rooms make Lucyswell Guesthouse an ideal place to stay. We are located less than 10 mins from Dublin Airport, Dublin Ferryport and have arranged discounted Taxi rates for all guests at Lucyswell Guesthouse Dublin. Home from Home Comforts await you and Beaumont House for a great meal till 10pm each night and a 5 min walk you have a 24 hour TESCO Store and shopping centre of Artane Castle. Crooke Park Dublin's 02 and many more City Centre Attractions are within easy reach of Lucyswell Guesthouse. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing