We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The smell”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Huband House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huband House B&B
Ranked #100 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“The smell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We didn't sleep well. On arrival the basement room 6 had a cold, damp and musty smell. I was surprised because I had actually visited the B&B the previous week at midday and thought the room was OK. Basic, and small, but OK, a comfortable bed, and quiet. But the smell got into our noses. My wife thought it was cat, but the owner says she does not have cats. Maybe it was the drains.
It's a cheap B&B at 60 euro for two but I advise paying the extra 10 or 20 euro and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Say no to the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GYWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
5
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Lovely old Georgian house located very close to the city center (secure and clean area of the city). I lived here for two month. Perfect spot for long term guests: rooms are ensuite, access to kitchen, comfortable living room and breakfast room. Free Wifi and TV available. Dublin bikes, bus stop and Tesco (grocery store) around the corner.
Although the very kind owner does not life in the house herself, hospitality is great. Sometimes you just have to help yourself.
Very clean and tidy compared to other properties in Dublin. Don't expect a "5 star luxury B&B" but everything you need is existing (inclusive comfortable bed) for a reasonable price. Basic but lovely...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank case_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radom, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed there two night and I really loved that place. It is located in an old cosy house, very close to the center of Dublin. It has a very friendly atmosphere and the land lady was a lovely person. I enjoyed my stay very much and the price was reasonable. I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Friendly, helpful and flexible. If you are happy with less frills but a nice homely environment then this is fine. Room was not massive but was clean and cosy. Managed to get a double room for a reasobnable price when other hotels were charging premuim because it was a rugby night. They dont normally do a hot breakfast but Antonia was willing to do me some eggs when I asked nicely :) no complaints at all. Location is 10/15 mins walk from Dublin city centre so location is good. Had a key so i could come and go whenever I liked. This hotel is like Dublin - friendly and hospitable :))

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed for three nights in this pleasant homely B&B. Very central and didn't need even a Bus.The place was very clean and comfortable and had all I needed i.e loads of hot water and good solid breakfast all laid out for us and we could help ourselves to as much as we wanted. The Lady of the house was very pleasant and knew her Dublin well. She took trouble to explain the "must see" places, which was a great help. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The B&B is 500 meters from the start finish line of the Dublin Marathon in a lovely quiet setting on the canal. They went out of their way for us on the Marathon weekend without a rise in the rates due to the event. The place is clean, well worn, comfortable and has free parking. If you are a prince or princess you should stay away. If you have a little experience in the world you will appreciate what you get at Huband House.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Horrible, horrible place. First: we arrived there to find out that the lady who runs the B&B does not live there. The house in fact was deserted. We found a message on the door telling to call her (!!!). We did. she had left the keys under a plant. We got the the double room in the basement. not nice. the only good thing was a comfortable bed. the rest awful. as we got in the room we immediately felt the smell of dampness. the window was open on the backyard or on the really unkept staircase of the backyard. no security. we always had the fear anybody could come in. the room was really small, there was no space at all for suitcases as we would have never dreamed of putting our clothes in that broken and smelly closet. the door of the room had a window pane with a curtain. but as nobody lives in the house the light in the corridor was left on all night and the light came in the room, disturbing the sleep.
Bathroom was the worst! Full of horrible black spiders everywhere. the spaces between tiles in the shower black with mold (gross!!!), the curtain of the shower had never been cleaned in our opinion. we had no wish of showering in there. The basin was so small we couldn't even rinse our mouth after brushing the teeth. In a B&B you would expect warmness, but this place was deserted all the time...nobody we could ask information, nothing. only a very nice girl who came there for preparing breakfast. Breakfast not that great either, nothing special, just toast and jam with coffee or tea. nothing special really. The property is completely shabby and unkept, wall paint coming off because of dampness at every corner. To us it was like a shack more than a B&B. I would NEVER dream of recommending this accomodation to anyone, for the same amount of money you can find much better places.

AVOID IT!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chiiik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latchfords of Baggot Street
0.8 mi away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baggot Court Townhouse
Baggot Court Townhouse
#28 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lombard Townhouse
The Lombard Townhouse
#41 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
#37 of 162 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huband House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huband House B&B

Property: Huband House B&B
Address: 10 Warrington Place | Off Mount Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Huband House B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Grand Canal, Huband House is a family-run bed and breakfast with free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The RDS and The O2 Dublin are close by.Each en suite bedroom at Huband House features a TV and complimentary toiletries. A continental breakfast is provided.There is an Aircoach stop just a 5-minute walk from the guesthouse.In south Dublin city, Huband B&B is a Georgian house, close to Lansdowne Road Stadium. The bars and restaurants of the Grand Canal Dock area are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Huband House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing