We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant Bed and Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shantalla Lodge B&B
Ranked #18 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Bed and Breakfast!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We recently had a lovely stay at the Shantalla Lodge B&B whilst on a four day Dublin City break.

The Shantalla Lodge is modern, stylish, and located in a nice suburban area of the north side of the City, which is very convenient for the City Centre and the Airport, both a 15/20 minute bus ride away (on the number 16 bus which stops outside).

Our room was bright, clean, very comfortable, and had everything we needed for our stay. Moira, made us feel at home from the moment we arrived, with a very welcome pot of tea and some delicious cake, to the moment we had to leave. There was a good choice of breakfasts, which are plentiful and very tasty, and really set you up for the day ahead.

This is a super B&B that we would recommend without hesitation. We will definitely return here on our next trip to Dublin.

Thank you Moira. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
67
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Can't recommend this gem of a B and B highly enough! Friendly, super clean, comfortable, delectable breakfast, excellent location for visiting family member in Beaumount Hospital. Thank you for such a welcoming stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I had a nice cosy stay. Neat and Clean rooms. Nice warm breakfast. Bus stop for Airport and city centre is opposite the Lodge.

All the best wishes for the Lodge and let many more travelers enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradeepnyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We couldn't seem to find a place to stay in the heart of Dublin for the nights we wanted and then I stumbled onto the Shantalla Lodge B & B listing on TripAdvisor. I contacted Moira and we were set. The location is wonderful with a very short bus ride in to town as well as a short distance to the airport. We loved being in a neighborhood. The breakfasts were delicious with THE best brown bread we had during our 4 weeks in Ireland and it came from the baker across the street. Moira and Keith were always helpful and kind. We ended up coming back to the Shantalla for a night while one member left for home and the other three of us flew to Scotland and then back again the night before the three of us flew back to the States. They made us feel like family each time we returned. We think they are the BEST and run a great B&B. All this and with young children, too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeves_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I am so impressed by this B&B. Moira and Keith have made it incredibly homey, with warm and tasteful decorations, and yet very professional. It's impeccably clean, perfectly comfortable and lacking in nothing! They've even provided a laptop and printer for their guests.
As promised, the cooked Irish breakfast delivers what they say and more.

The location is excellent too as it's about 15 minutes to the heart of Dublin (south of the B&B) and about 15 mins to the airport (north of the B&B). Easy to do sightseeing but then have this lovely place to retreat and rest in when you're done your day.

The hosts are incredibly warm and hospitable but also giving you your own space. They are very much about how to make your experience a good one, rather than getting stuck on what would probably be easier for them.

If I were to go back to Dublin, this would be where I go, no question! Much nicer than a hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally comfortable! I was in double en-suite, but my friends were in the twin and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairofun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We chose this B&B because it was close to the airport but we found that it was also close to our hearts. Our host Moira was very welcoming and provided us with lovely tea and scones on our arrival. All the food she provided was either cooked by herself or provided by local butchers and bakers and it was delicious. We loved hearing about her children and we felt as though we were part of her family.

We highly recommend this B&B for your stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libbersboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is my second time staying at Shantalla Lodge and I have nothing but positive things to say about it. Moira has thought of everything that speaks to her guest's comfort. The rooms are bright, fresh, modern, and immaculately clean. It's the kind of place you want to come home to at the end of a day of sightseeing. The beds are comfy and the breakfasts couldn't be better. Even the coffee is excellent. Add to all that Moira's willingness to help with travel arrangements, local information, and whatever you might need, and Shantalla Lodge is simply a winner!

Room Tip: Both rooms have been lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulsa307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,506 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
1,893 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
1.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantalla Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantalla Lodge B&B

Property: Shantalla Lodge B&B
Address: Shantalla Lodge 95 Shantalla Road, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantalla Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Shantalla Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing