We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shantalla Lodge B&B
Ranked #19 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

If I was to describe this place in one sentence it would have been: shantalla Lodge - you wont find a better place.
I stayed there a few times, only now, after having a bad experience somewhere else, i really appreciated how brilliant Shantalla is! From the modern and clean rooms, to fantastic host and amazing food. You really feel special there. It is nearly too good to be true!!!!!

Room Tip: I dont think you could get it wrong with Shantalla. Every room I had was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
64
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Shantalla Lodge in the Clontarf area of Dublin for 5 days, and very much enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the family who owned it were very welcoming. Excellent breakfast which filled you up for the day. I would particularly recommend the soda bread which she served. I also found that Moira was very knowledgeable about Dublin, could answer all our questions, and particularly helpful regarding the buses which went from a stop just a few yards away. Moira was so obliging that when she found out that I was lactose intolerant she went and bought some dairy free spread for me.

Room Tip: We were in a room at the front which was very comfortable, but there was some noise from traffic whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If you are looking for very comfortable, affordable, convenient, and friendly accommodation, look no further than Shantalla Lodge in Dublin. This was my first trip to Ireland and I wanted a location close to Dublin City University...comfortable and private accommodation...that would give me a taste of local culture and welcoming, friendly hosts. I thought a B&B would be an excellent choice - situated in a residential neighborhood. But where to start - there are so many! I consulted Trip Advisor and found a few. Somehow Shantalla stood out - perhaps it was the picture gallery. It looked like home. I was able (through Google Earth) to literally walk from the B&B to the university before I left Minnesota! Moira and Keith are incredible hosts - attending to your every need with very good guidance on travel tours...bus routes...restaurants & pubs. I stayed for several nights and had the best time. Another thing that is a huge plus - Moira puts on a fabulous breakfast - a selection of three different menu selections from light fare to the hearty Irish breakfast. I honestly can't say enough about the fine quality of this accommodation. Shantalla Lodge is convenient to the airport and the bus stop is just down the street - a 20 minute ride gets you to City center. Public transportation is wonderful in Dublin - such a relief for 'crossed-brained' faint-of-heart drivers from the US...such as myself.
The best of Ireland is in Dublin...at Shantalla Lodge.

Room Tip: most rooms are en suite...which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed at Shantalla Lodge with my wife for a couple of days and we found it to be a lovely guest house – one of the best we’ve seen. The owner Moira confirmed our reservation, time of arrival and directions to the guesthouse by e-mail beforehand, and when we met her she was very friendly and welcoming. The homemade cake and orange juice in the beautiful dining room on arrival was a really thoughtful touch, and she gave us all the information we needed to have a good stay in Dublin, such as the time of the last bus to get out to the guesthouse from the centre of town in the evening.

The guesthouse is a 15 minute bus ride from O’Connell street (and you do need exact change) but it is directly across the road from the bus-stop on Shantalla Road and is easy to find. The road is busy during the day but it is a lot quieter at night and we didn’t have any problems sleeping.

The room we stayed in was spotlessly clean and very comfortable – the bed was lovely and soft and there was a good-sized flat-screen TV. Just like the dining room, our bedroom was decorated in a tasteful and appealing way. The en-suite was also really clean. There was a fixed shower-head and we do prefer one that can be removed from the wall, but that was only a small thing.

In the mornings, we both went for the vegetarian breakfast option and it was delicious. I found the fresh wheaten bread to be a special treat.

In all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuam, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Wonderful place. Warm and spotless fresh and comfortable, service was friendly and welcoming was very well looked after. Room was quiet n again spotless very high standard modern facilities. Will go back again. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in dublin but here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irishsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We recently had a lovely stay at the Shantalla Lodge B&B whilst on a four day Dublin City break.

The Shantalla Lodge is modern, stylish, and located in a nice suburban area of the north side of the City, which is very convenient for the City Centre and the Airport, both a 15/20 minute bus ride away (on the number 16 bus which stops outside).

Our room was bright, clean, very comfortable, and had everything we needed for our stay. Moira, made us feel at home from the moment we arrived, with a very welcome pot of tea and some delicious cake, to the moment we had to leave. There was a good choice of breakfasts, which are plentiful and very tasty, and really set you up for the day ahead.

This is a super B&B that we would recommend without hesitation. We will definitely return here on our next trip to Dublin.

Thank you Moira. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Can't recommend this gem of a B and B highly enough! Friendly, super clean, comfortable, delectable breakfast, excellent location for visiting family member in Beaumount Hospital. Thank you for such a welcoming stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
2.1 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,807 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,861 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
0.3 mi away
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 149 in Dublin
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantalla Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantalla Lodge B&B

Property: Shantalla Lodge B&B
Address: Shantalla Lodge 95 Shantalla Road, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantalla Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Shantalla Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing