We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, but tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shantalla Lodge B&B
Ranked #19 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice property, but tiny room”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This B&B was very reasonable in pricing, and good in location (about halfway between Dublin airport and city centre). There is a bus stop just outside the B&B, which will take you to the city centre and/or to the airport. Very clean property, with very decent breakfast served.The only complaint that we had was that our room was really tiny - I think some of the other rooms were larger, and we were unlucky to get a tiny one.

We had informed our arrival time in advance, and were there on time. But no one was there. Had to call up the hostess, who rushed from across the street (where she was having a haircut !), let us in, and ran back to complete her haircut ! It was a strange way to be welcomed ! She did apologize for the same later in the evening, which was fine. The cleanliness and warm breakfast made up for the small deficiencies.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
64
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Friendly hosts, gave us lots of tips and information mainly about the public transportation. Great breakfast. The neighbourhood is very quiet and pleasant. I recommend and certainly I will stay again if I have the opportunity. In spite of being away from the city center the bus stop is right outside the house and you get the city fast. The bus stop to the airport is across the street and takes no more than 20 minutes to get there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Friendly, helpful, clean, good shower pressure and very good breakfast.
Bus 16 stop (from Airport to Dublin center and back) next to Lodge. For bus 14 stop to south Dublin walk about 300m.
Narrow flight of stairs to room. As in most establishments the bathroom exhaust ventilation would need regular dusting. If street view room and hot and the window needs to be open for ventilation purposes, the traffic noise will disturb. Good for a night if 90-120kg longer if slim.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramsay_bocuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a great time staying here with Moira. She was a great host and was so helpful and knowledgeable of how to get around. Her directions and how to get around are spot on and perfect. Her breakfasts were excellent and made to order. What a beautifully remodeled B&B and so comfy to stay in. We both loved the shower and wanted to pack it up in our suitcase and bring it back, LOL. Stay here, whether you are driving in or taking the bus from either the airport or from O'Connell Street in downtown Dublin...you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was the 1st B&B we have ever stayed in so we didn't know what to expect. Coming from Australia we relied on Tripadvisor reviews and we certainly were not disappointed. Shantalla Lodge is very close to the airport and only a couple of minutes walk to the bus stop for the city. The lodging is very clean, tidy and well appointed. Parking is available, there are shops across the road and breakfasts are delicious. WiFi reception is good. Host Moira is the most genuine, lovely, helpful person and we simply can't express our thanks enough. Nothing was too much trouble for her (and thanks to Keith for helping us move the car).

We were in Britain for a month and stayed at quite a few excellent B&B's but this one was the best. 10 out of 10!

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynnuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our daughter and I stayed for one night at this perfect B&B. It is easy to find, even by bus. Close to the airport and you can take the same bus to the city. The room was very cosy. The bed very fine. Internet is fast and the breakfast delicious. Moira is a very good host.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teja007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the moment I arrived to a welcoming cup of tea and biscuits to the moment I left to a warm farewell, it was a delightful experience. Very nicely refurbished home with modern amenities, excellent home cooked breakfasts and fresh, warm Irish soda bread from the bakery across the street fetched by Keith each morning. Full Irish breakfast, vegetarian breakfast, and European style continental breakfast, with fresh tomatoes, cheese, and ham.

Immaculately kept home. Keith calls Moira a neat freak and it shows in the cheerful dining room and homey bedrooms.

Moira and Keith are very helpful with directions and advice. Centre town is easy to reach on one bus but centre town traffic is always congested.

Shantalla Lodge and Moira and Keith's hospitality made my first visit to Dublin a delightful experience.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a bit of street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midlifetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
1.2 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,864 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,454 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
0.3 mi away
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 149 in Dublin
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantalla Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantalla Lodge B&B

Property: Shantalla Lodge B&B
Address: Shantalla Lodge 95 Shantalla Road, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantalla Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Shantalla Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing