We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison

La Maison
Ranked #114 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$38
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: La Maison is the latest venture of Breton chef Olivier Quenet. In April 2009 he transformed his French cafe and boulangerie, La Maison des Gourmets, into a simple yet chic restaurant where he aims to continue his dedication to Irish people eating affordable freshly prepared produce.The menu is a well thought out selection of French dishes; huitre (fresh oysters), plateau de pates du jour, poele de la mer, tarte provencal and cote de boeuf to name but a few of the wonderful choices on offer. Upon arrival diners will be welcomed by the Maitre d'hotel,His high expectations ensure that the service is impeccable with sparkling glassware, starched linen napkins yet all the while remaining relaxed and friendly.The authenticity of La Maison begins with the artwork, works by Leonetto Cappiello, L'oir Dor, and Diable Vent, all sourced from the Paris at Puces market.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
291 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I was there with a group and found the service slow. My own food was good - I had the selection of pate to start which was excellent and the monkfish which was well cooked and presented, if nothing special.Others were less happy - the oysters seemed a bit hit and miss and the other mains were just a bit on the ordinary side. I had been there before and been more impressed with the food so this visit was a little disappointing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank T-G4728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    140
    31
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Dinner at La Maison was a disappointment. The food was OK but not exceptional but what marred the evening was the very slow service with seemingly interminable gaps between courses. I commented, politely, to the waiter that the service could be improved and he became most defensive. There are better and more reliable French restaurants in Dublin.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful find - fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have just been to La Maison after purchasing a deal rush voucher. How lucky we were to have found this restaurant. We ordered venison and monkfish and it was hard to pick a winner! The amount of effort that went into these dishes was unbelievable. Both very well put together dishes with wonderful accompaniments. Tony looked after us so well. Honestly delighted we found this place and definitely plan a return visit with pals over the next few weeks!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good French restaurant in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Location: in Dublin city centre, near the Brooks hotel

Design: it´s a very pleasant, small French restaurant with sitting inside and outside.

Staff: friendly, proffesionall

Menu: we visited this restaurant for the dinner. You can find there French food. We had 2 starters: Selection of homemade pate with pickel and chutney (€9.50) and Oven baked scallops on the shell (€13.50). For the main course we had Roast monkfish with vegetable tagliatelle and prwn bisque (€23) and Loin of venison with braised red cabbage and celeriac pure, cramberry jus (€29). Everything was a really delicious.

Prices: are higher, but you have a really good food

Reservation: you need a reservation

Summary: Very good and small restaurant in the city centre.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Humenikova_Beata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for haute cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was our first time in La Maison and it was a great experience. We were seated upstairs but unlike some of the other reviews we didn't find the staff overly attentive. We went straight to main course and ordered the duck. This was a beautiful dish with the best roast vegetables I've ever tasted but this was a haute cuisine sized portion. Luckily we ordered the roast potatoes as a side. I may have over looked it but was not aware that this would be the portion size. In contrast the caramelized peach melba desert was a very generous portion and despite the petite main course we were both quite full afterwards.

Overall this was a great dining experience and we would definitely return and recommend it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevwallace365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Maison also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to La Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing