We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the building the price is nothing! So cheap”

The Brasserie Restaurant at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Ranked #1,434 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$25 - US$74
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Ballsbridge within walking distance of Dublin City Centre, The Restaurant stands as one of the most established restaurants in Ballsbridge. Loved by local residents and corporate clientele alike, it has become a popular spot for family celebrations, romantic evening meals and those important working lunches.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“For the building the price is nothing! So cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

When you arrive here you are met with an outstanding building with spacious rooms and a good atmosphere! The hotel is easily accessed to the city centre by bus and we paid 45 pound a night each which is so cheap for this lovely hotel :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Channy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    54
    23
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

absolutely love this place, so relaxing, great spot to go before heading into town yet its just outside the town too so if ya fancy a relaxing evening your not stuck in the mayhem of the city, the food is delicious and service is very good, the grounds are my favourite part, we had dinner and then got to have a lovely relaxing stroll around the grounds afterwards.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

On Sat. 3rd May my husband and I had a most enjoyable evening with lovely food and wine in this very friendly restaurant. The monkfish was just wonderful!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nuala C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Deserted bleak eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

As a hotel guest I’d pre-booked dinner in the Brasserie Restaurant, but at first could find it, thinking the busy and buzzing ‘Tom’s Bar’ was it, but sadly, no it wasn’t. The Brasserie was down a corridor to the left and was virtually empty. The few guests were in a narrow strip of rather tight seating at the back of the restaurant.
The service and the food both did well. Three courses were more than enough. If there were to be a next time I’d go for 2 courses only. In reality, if I stay here again I’ll eat in the lively bar, not this dead restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing dinner for 70th birthday party”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Having eaten in the Brasserie on a number of occasions before, we picked it as the venue for a family 70th birthday. We were very specific in our requirements at the time of booking - two children and a coeliac were included in our party of 18. We were offered the option to pick a personalised set menu to facilitate this. So far, so good.. When we arrived at our booked time of 7pm, we were told to come back in half hour as the table wasn't ready, despite there being only one other group in the restaurant at that time! When we did eventually get shown to our table, I was taken aback to find that we had been put at two round tables at the back of the restaurant , the result of which was that half the party had their back to the others.. Not a good start. The tables were not properly set and the so-called personalised menus had no indication as to what dishes were gluten free. Not only did we have to call a waiter to take our order after a long wait, we had to ask twice for water, which eventually arrived, without glasses.. The food was average, just ok, certainly not worth waiting for- which incidentally was what three of out party had to do, as most people were well into their main courses before everyone had been served. We had requested a 3 course set menu, but despite asking and then reminding the staff that we wanted to order desserts, the staff went straight to cake, which arrived out with no warning, while some of the party were not even in the room!! Tea and coffee were an afterthought, and despite being specifically asked NOT to cut the whole cake( birthday man wanted to bring it home), the entire cake was cut and served in doorstop slices which were far to big for people to eat in one sitting. Wine drinkers had to help themselves and we had to ask repeatedly for empty water carafes to be refilled.. Despite the fact that the staff were profuse in their apologies at the end of the evening, we would have been much happier if our complaints had been listened to and dealt with in the moment.. This should have been a special night to mark a landmark birthday, but instead it has turned into a night marked by the litany of careless service.. Disappointing. We won't be back anytime soon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brasserie Restaurant at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Brasserie Restaurant at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing