We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Times Hostels - College Street
Ranked #19 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was a great hostel! It was in a great location, easy to get to from the airport (just take the Air Link bus to the College stop), and easy to get to all other local attractions with walking (Trinity College, Dublin Castle, Jamison Distillery, Guinness Factory, St. Patrick's Cathedral, O'Connoll Street). Stayed in the 10 bed mixed dorm, there was a bathroom ensuite that was pretty clean, with a nice shower with hot water and great water pressure. There were large baskets under the beds you could lock your stuff in and plenty of outlets in the room. There was a kitchen space that lots of people hung out in and they had free ice cream socials, wine and cheese nights, etc. each night. A big space for you to cook your own meals if you wanted. The staff was VERY friendly and helped us find anything we were looking for in the city. They even rushed a little to get our beds ready for us to check in early, as when we arrived, we had been traveling for 24 hours and had not slept yet. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Dublin!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    198
    99
    39
    31
See reviews for
31
81
96
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Recently stayed here in a private room while visiting a concert in Dublin.

No luxuries, but for the price I didn't expect any! Easy to find and a really good location for the centre of Dublin, and lots going on around it! Wifi signal not good.

Would consider staying here again if in Dublin for a concert.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JersyNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
285 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

One of the cheapest places we could find with a private room in Dublin. Excellent location. Hostel has a kitchen if you're interested in cooking and friendly helpful staff. The only improvement I would suggest is getting more modems installed as there is very limited wifi throughout the hostel and none in the room we were in. Not a big deal for one night stay but could be annoying if you're staying a while.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I have to agree with others that the hostel is well located and the premises are fairly good for a hostel. Their staff is young and nice, a great pub downstairs which opens till late.

Our bedroom was a triple with a private bathroom (great water pressure) and it was furnished very functionally ... Totally what you expect from a hostel.

We had a basic breakfast included, basically it was a do it yourself, including the washing up: soluble coffee or tea, white and brown bread, cheese, ham, jam, Nutella, peanut butter, and two kinds of juice. I would have killed for proper coffee (even at an extra cost, so it might be a good idea to bring a basic filter if you are a coffee lover). There are cooking facilities and fridges, so if you wish you could make something more elaborate.

But the positives stop here... The main reason to book a hotel/hostel is to sleep, a good rest after a day visiting the city... If you are one of those people who cannot sleep with the light on don't come to this hostel!!! The room had no proper curtains, only broken bank-style curtains totally allowing the light in, both the morning light and the light from the external street lighting .... (see pics); in the bed by the window you could read the newspaper at night! I found very irritating the lack of blackout curtains.

The bathroom had the same kind of curtains, also broken, and provided no privacy whatsoever. While doing your business you can see into other houses .... I am assuming so the others can see you reaching for the toilet roll !!

In the morning the other guests dragged their luggage down the stairs, providing a good way to wake up with a frown on your face. I really think staff should encourage guests not to make too much noise in the early morning hours.

Conclusion, I would not come back to this hostel and neither recommend it to others.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyAstur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Tiny but clean, and safe! Definitely not our nicest stop but great for just one night. Perfect location right next to Trinity College. Had to look hard for parking (nothing was cheap) but we survived. Two great features included the spacious lobby with friendly staff and the dining hall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Located in the heart of Dublin city centre, this hostel provided everything we needed for our brief stay.

The rooms were basic but clean. The shower was hot and had good pressure. The TV didn't work but the staff said they could ask someone to fix it if we wanted... We didn't but it was nice of them to offer.

The staff were very helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Chop_Chop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Really enjoyed the last few days at the Times. As far as facilities go the place is great; fully equipped kitchen, common area, free WIFI - which is great (in places). The rooms also come with a massive lockable cage underneath which will lock up pretty much everything - including full sized luggage. In regards to cleanliness; no complaints - sheets were clean and the houseman came in and did a good job of the rooms, bathrooms and common areas.

Best part about this place really was the staff though. I've worked in luxury hotels for eight years so I always have a pretty high expectation around service - even at hostels. Leah, Ciara and Nicole(Nicola?) were always really helpful with directions, information and just great to chat with. (+ the lobby music was always awesome)

Couple minor things with this place that I will mention as this is a review. The breakfast isn't included, which it isn't always with hostels. I thought it was lacking a little bit as far as value - being 3 euro for a continental (cereal, toast, etc). That being said. The hostel does put on free kitchen events most nights at 20:00 such as free ice cream, dinner, wine and cheese - so that was pretty great too.

One thing that can't really be helped here in noise - which is what you sacrifice for a central location - as it is located on College Street there is constant traffic throughout the day/night. There's also these cheesy viking tours that pass by screaming throughout the day - oh Dublin. I did end extending my stay and moving rooms to the inside of the building on the bottom floor. The WIFI barely worked from here but it was much cooler and quieter than the south facing rooms. I would definitely recommend putting in a request for this side if your planning on staying.

Over all,

Times Hostel = Killin it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the inside of the building. I stayed in 3a which was one of the 10 bed dorms. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWW2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Hostels - College Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Hostels - College Street

Property: Times Hostels - College Street
Address: 8, College Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Times Hostels - College Street 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful old fashion building, in a fantastic location, The Times Hostel is the perfect base for all tourists and backpackers, to enjoy "The Most Lively City in Europe!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Times Hostels - College Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Times Hostel - College Street Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing