We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - very noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Ranked #92 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location - very noisy.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Kelly's is hidden above Hogans bar and adjoins the "Bar with no name". Our room was on the small side but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom perfectly adequate although larger persons will have considerable difficulty getting to the loo - there wasn't a lot of space. It was fine for a short stay. Rooms 1-6 are directly above the "Bar with no name". This is a lovely bar full of character and a great place to have a drink. However, it is open until 2.30am and did get very noisy. Kelly's provide earplugs and you need them! If you're out enjoying Dublin's nightlife then Kelly's is a great place. Temple Bar is a few minutes away and there are numerous bars and restaurants close by. However, if you need a good nights sleep - stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    122
    50
    30
    16
See reviews for
16
170
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Up until a few years ago, this was a characterful old-school Dublin hotel, frequented almost entirely by Irish (and me ...).

They've now renovated it, and it’s like staying in an Ikea showroom. Ghastly.

Pity, because it’s in a great location, almost across the street from the Long Hall. That's why I'm giving it two stars rather than one.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DFJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thanks for posting . We brought the building back by uncovering many of its original features. In the Loft Style Penthouse you will see the markings by the craftsmen dating from 1870. We love The Long Hall too! Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Dont be fooled by words like hip and boutique.Found myself standing outside a pub wondering where my 180 a night hotel was.Turns out its a pub with rooms above claiming to be a hotel.This place is a way overpriced glorified bedsit.There is a mouldy damp smell throughout,the room was tiny with no proper furniture and a closet with a shower installed inside.Left immediately and found a room in a real hotel 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi Alan
Sorry you decided not to stay with us Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett Pier, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

No water, no flushing toilet, and a LOUD band that played directly under our room until 1;30. All of this in the penthouse suite!!!!! Could have slept in BUT...... the kegs were being loaded and unloaded.. dropped and rolled..first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi Liam
I have to apologize re the noise, It was an exception that a band was playing in The Candle Bar, this was a 1 off. We are located in Dublin's Creative Quarter with many pubs & entertainment venues in the surrounding area.
I hope you liked the layout of the Penthouse & saw the original markings on the beams which exist from 1870?
Sorry for your lack of sleep Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Had the misfortune to depart my beautiful Cork to visit a friend in Dublin recently. Found Kellys online, in a rush the week before and took a chance. Very welcoming receptionist, clean common areas, high above the street bustle. The room blew me away, totally spotless, well stocked with free bottled water, barrys tea (is there another?) and a beautiful sheepskin furnishing too big for the suitcase..After sampling the many delights of Dublin city, fell into the place to find a big private party in the bar, which bodes well I think, if the natives like to use the hotel for functions. The tired barmaid was replaced by the most gregarious and pleasant nite porter, who poured the finest whiskey til all hours. Banter and craic was had.. Next morning wasn't too bad for noise, the windows are old sash style, and not double glazed, but that's charming on a sunday, maybe not during a busy weekday morning. Not rushed to vacate, and close enough to town to find a lazy breakfast nearby. Have to say a lil pricey for the budget minded, but moneys worth is to be had in the facilities. Apparently theres access to the bar/club downstairs, but with so few party hours in the day, will keep that for next time. Will be back, will bring a 'friend'.

Room Tip: rooms to the front will be noisier, but then you miss the street vistas and the atmosphere from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polomoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel is quite hip, vintage-styled and the room we stayed in (room no 1, the "penthouse") was big enough for four persons. Two problems we had while staying in this room: 1. There are two bedrooms with two doublebeds - but without any doors between them. 2. There is only one bathroom, its walls are made out of glass. To sum this up, you got no privacy at all. For us, staying there as a family, it was okay, but if you want to stay in the "penthouse" as friends or two couples it could get a bit akward.
Another big problem we had with this hotel is the noise. Beneath the hotel, there are TWO bars and it is LOUD! No chance to get to sleep before midnight. In the morning, there is noise in the streets from about seven on. We were on holiday and these are not really the sleeping times I am used to when going on holiday. There are ways the hotel staff could do something against it (curtains, isolating the walls, replace the windows by windows that are actually closing, etc., etc...). But obviously nothing like that happend, which really is a shame. Even though the hotel is cute and the location is really great, I would NOT recommend it and I will definatly NOT stay here again. After a five night stay I am just tired!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hncb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hi Hncb
I am sorry your experience with us left you tired. The Penthouse is a loft style room with two sleeping areas (a double bed upstairs in the loft and a double bed downstairs with a separte lounge area. Kellys is located in the heart of the Dublin's Creative Quarter with a choice of restaurants pubs cafes on our doorstep. We are undertaking a programme of continuous improvement and we have installed double glazing in a number of areas. Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you appreciated our decor style. Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed two nights midweek August 2013. We were really impressed with this find. Great location, surrounded by good pubs, food & shops. And at a very reasonable cost. Everything on your doorstep. Funky design in reception and bar downstairs. No lifts, stairs only. No problem for us but not so much for others. Really friendly receptionist on check in and out.
Had executive double room. Huge ceilings, really comfortable double king bed and pillows, tiny bathroom but it was so well designed it didn't bother us at all and there was plenty of space in the shower. People from bar downstairs have access to the hotel for toilets. However there are security doors blocking the bedrooms off from this. This would have been a huge issue for me otherwise. As we stayed midweek we had no problem from noise from bars but the streets can be noisy but that's what you get in city centre locations. The hotel was very clean, can't comment on breakfast as we never made it!!
Would definitely recommend this hotel again at such a good price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Manager at Kelly's Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Woh Sinead ! Thanks swing by soon again Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#94 of 151 in Dublin
884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercantile Hotel
Mercantile Hotel
#112 of 151 in Dublin
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dublin Citi Hotel
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Hotel Dublin

Property: Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Address: 36 South Great Georges Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelly's Hotel Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelly's Hotel Dublin, is the sharpest new urban hotel in the heart of Dublin's City Centre. Brought to you by the same mindset that has created some of Dublin's most popular bar and restaurant environments, Kelly's Hotel Dublin is cool yet affordable. While the rooms on offer have the comfort and style expected from a high end hotel, Kelly's Hotel Dublins unfussy sensibility appeals to a broad range of travellers. The Hotel has 16 rooms which: 1 is the Loft Penthouse Suite, which can fit 4 people in 10 are Standard Double with a Queen Size Bed 5 are Executive Double with a King Size Bed All rates include continental breakfast served in our award winning French restaurant L'Gueuleton. We look forward to welcoming you at Kellys Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kelly's Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing