We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we'd stayed longer!”
Review of The Merchant House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Merchant House
Ranked #22 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night as a birthday surprise to Dublin and like another review stated the first impression is a little off putting, surrounded by bars and an adult shop! HOWEVER, as soon as you step indoors the doubts disappear. We stayed in the James Joyce Suite, WOW, from the comfiest of beds, to the gorgeous decor and space, I began to wish is was for more than the one night that I had booked. Sound proof windows worked a treat, there is a bar directly opposite open until 2am, we didn’t here a thing and it was a busy Saturday night.

The house keeper was super friendly, offering guidance about where to eat, drink and sight see.
Location wise, it’s as good as you can get if you want to be in the thick of it all. You can easily walk to anything within the city centre, even the Guinness storehouse.

The only constructive feedback I can offer is that it would have been nice to have received a reminder email of booking closer to the visit as I booked a few months in advance and was unsure of the ‘drop off bags’ arrangement. I did email a few days prior and received a reply straight away confirming the times, however I felt it was a little abrupt and didn’t really set the scene of what was to be a fantastic stay with a welcoming and friendly housekeeper.

I would definitely return to Dublin and would most definitely return to The Merchant House.

Travel from airport - Don't waste money on transfers of taxis, for 10 Euro return is was a bargain to get the bus which stops right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: James Jocye suite and Oscar Wilde seem the most luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Busymancbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Merchant House is extremely well situated in the heart of the Temple bar, close to all the theatres, transport links and restaurants. The Oscar Wilde suite was spacious, clean and had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. As we stayed on Tuesday night, there was hardly any noise coming from the downstairs bar. There was no trouble with the adult shop next door either. Staff was friendly.

So why only 3 stars? We booked the room with the breakfast option (+€20) and expected to be directed to the Al's Stage Door Cafe, which we visited independently, and have fallen in love with the place and the ambience. Unfortunately, we received a voucher to Eliza Lodge restaurant. Dirty chairs, terrible coffee and 1 dry old looking sausage and 1 overcooked piece of bacon with poached eggs (egg white still raw in 1 egg) in Irish Breakfast option. If I had a camera with me, I would have taken a photo. It's indescribable.

I would suggest the owners to only use the Stage Door cafe for the breakfast service and refund the breakfast cost to all the unfortunate guests who were forced to eat at Eliza's.

Room Tip: Do not choose the option with breakfast. Independently go to Al's Stage Door Cafe and eat breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustacestreet, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

We are indeed sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast on both mornings of your recent stay with us. As you did not show your disappointment to the restaurant Manager, your Housekeeper or indeed myself during your stay, it is now difficult to help in this regard.
We use both restaurants for our breakfast's at The Merchant House and have had very good feedback from our Guests on both venues. The breakfast menu is comprehensive and at a very good price of €10 per Guest.
If something is disappointing ,we expect our Guests to bring it to our attention immediately . We can then deal with the matter in a professional manner and make your stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, and initially when we first arrived, we were a bit put off by the surrounding bars etc. We needn't have worried, as the hotel suites have sound proof windows and staying here was a complete delight. There are 4 suites to choose from and we stayed in The James Joyce Suite and it was stunning. The staff that we met were both very friendly and knowledgeable in the surrounding attractions, and explained the high level of hotel security very well .If you do decide to stay here, we would recommend eating at La Caverna Italian restaurant, with guests receiving up to 20% discount of their bill.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed in the Oscar Wilde suite which was on the top floor of the old Georgian house. It's was all we could hope for with lovely wooden beams in the ceiling, fantastic decor and a big comfy bed. We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night and could hardly hear any noise from the bars outside. The merchant house is situated right in the heart of Temple Bar which is perfect. Overall we had a lovely weekend away. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CharliL350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The place is clean and well situated, a good start.
But, we were charged for a 3rd person without any warning and even though the room indicates 3 beds. We were greated by the housekeeper and have never seen the manager.
Breakfast is not served on the premises but in a Cafe nearby (Poor quality) against a voucher.
The overall impression is that you are just a mean of revenue for the owner. Not what we expected.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virtualed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustacestreet, General Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All you documents stated and payment was for two Guests, you arrived with a third Guest and a small charge was applied. This is perfectly normal practice. Our breakfast is served in a location just one minutes walk from The Merchant House and at €10 per person it is extremely good value with a very good choice. The Manager was available until 18.00 every evening and you did not make contact with him. Your Suite was beautiful and you got a very attractive rate as well. We hope you returned home safely................

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A group of six of us have just returned having had 3 nights at the merchant house. This really is superb accomodation, great big comfy beds and immaculately clean. Please ignore the bad review on this website as the owners and staff really don't deserve it.

Yes, it is noisy outside and no there is no 24 hour reception but why would you expect anything different when staying in a boutique guest house in the heart of Temple Bar?

The staff couldn't do enough for us and breakfast down the road at the stage door cafe was simply superb. We had a great weekend and thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Top floor suite is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenkins137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustacestreet, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

On behalf of my small team hear at The Merchant House. We wish to sincerely thank you all for this fantastic review here on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure to look after your party . We hope you all returned home safe after a lovely break in Dublin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Fabulous accommodation right in the heart off the city. v generous sized rooms. Nice touches include spare fridge for your purchases, earplugs, and DVD loan. The nearby provided breakfast was from a great little cafe overlooking the Liffey and was very good.
Just one irksome thing to watch out for is the La Caverna offer of a discount when booked and the hotel is mentioned. I notice that they have changed the offer now (probably as a result of our complaint), but we did this and opted for the Early Bird to be given 10% instead of 20% as promised at the time. What irritated us was that the manager knew full well of the premise we had booked the table, and didn't say anything until the end; it wasn't like we were scrimping either as well over half the bill was overpriced wine (the food was also mediocre).

Room Tip: My tip, stay at the hotel, forget La Caverna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARTINSOWTER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
The Norseman
The Norseman
#10 of 150 in Dublin
308 reviews
Aaron Court
#5 of 150 in Dublin
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baggot Court Townhouse
#24 of 150 in Dublin
334 reviews
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#4 of 150 in Dublin
464 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#21 of 150 in Dublin
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Address: 8 Eustace Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D02 KX31, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £130 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merchant House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merchant House is a restored award winning early Georgian building situated in Temple Bar, the cultural capital of Dublin City. The building in Eustace Street started out as a Merchant's house in the early Eighteenth Century. After extensive and lengthy refurbishment, luxury Guest Suites were created. It is our intention to offer our Guests spacious luxury Suites with total privacy in the heart of Dublin City. Our sound proof windows, beautiful furnishings, free Wifi and beautiful decor all help to create a relaxing environment for our Guests at a very affordable price. Breakfast is great value at €12 per Guest and served 1 minutes walk from The Merchant House. Some stairs to climb . All our Suites are called after Irish writers. Check In is by appointment with your personal Housekeeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing