We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible”
Review of Deerpark Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deerpark Lodge
Ranked #127 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Roscommon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We booked this B & B because it was convenient to where we were attending a family get-together. castleknock Road and all the properties along the way are really smart - when you arrive at Deerpark Lodge you immediately sense this place is among many things neglected. The reception area is dingy and untidy. We booked double room and told we had the last room when we arrived a twin room which would not have been a problem. The room was tiny with very basic furniture - rusted radiator along a single bed - tiny window looking out on a scrap yard - old bathroom with dirty shower - we went to our party and decided to travel home again afterwards - I do not understand how a business such as this can continue - I owned and ran a guesthouse and I would be very embarrassed to present standards such as this.

Room Tip: Be careful booking on-line - go and have a look first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    20
    14
    33
See reviews for
25
28
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights over the June bank holiday. Our main Reason for picking this b&b was its proximity to phoenix park (bloom garden show was on). Arrived at 10am on check in day and was allowed to leave car in car park and walk into the park for the show. Paid £66 for the 2 nights plus £22 for 2 days breakfasts -which were superb, good quality items and pertly of it. The rooms are a bit tired but were quiet, bed could be more comfortable, but we both slept both nights. Overall would stay again if going to something in the park, otherwise not close enough to Luas or dart to be completely convenient to Dublin city centre.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sdbsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Plenty of room, flexiable checkout beautiful breakfast! Very happy

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuggy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The area is lovely, the b&b is right next to Phoenix Park which you can walk through to get to the city center. I was given a room in an apartment in a block next door to the lodge which I felt was a bit unnerving given I arrived late at night and was a lone traveler. The apartment room contained no information, phone etc. There was three small single beds and a tv which didn't have English menus / instructions. The tea cups in the room were not that clean.

The owner of the b&b wasnt very friendly or welcoming, I wasnt shown around the main lodge or asked if I was ok or given any local information on where to get some food etc. I really felt like I was an inconvinience. A nice scottish lady was quite friendly however the next morning.

They could do much better as its a modern place in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask if you will be staying in the main lodge or overflow appartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChesterPinkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Unfortunately my daughter and I did not enjoy the stay at this B&B. When we arrived we were kept waiting for a good 10-15 minutes for anyone to welcome us. We didn't previously book breakfast as we had an early start each day, but one day we decided to book the night before as we had time but wished we hadn't. It was burnt and not good quality at all and certainly did not live up to the standard of full irish breakfast.

On the Friday evening the teenage son had a barbecue party and music was blaring until 5.00am that morning. Also the barbecue was placed right under our bedroom window so all the smoke came up so had to keep the window shut.

The bathroom was very shabby with cracked tiles and flooring and looked very amateur in fixtures and fittings.

Overall I did not find the people friendly or welcoming and I certainly would not recommend it to anyone. We have stayed in many B&B's and hotels over the years but this was one of the worst ever.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmmtralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Me and my friend really enjoyed the area of Castleknock. It's beautiful, clean and peaceful, and still the connections to the city center are good (the bus stop is just outside the hotel). The B&B is also located just a few minutes from the Phoenix Park gate, and if you're patient it's possible to stroll through the the park to the city center (about 5 km or so). What we didn't enjoy quite as much was that the staff was a bit difficult to get in touch with during our visit. "24 hour reception" seems to mean "You can reach us if we're home and around", since the owner family also live in the building. However, when we DID get in touch with the staff they were helpful. The room was ok, just a bit noisy in the night because of the old floor making a squeaking sound.Overall, the B&B was priceworthy and it's actually nice to experience more than the city center of Dublin.
PS. Note that several maps show the wrong location of the hotel, just ask the taxi to take you to the Phoenix Park gate in Castleknock.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We booked in here and caught a taxi from the airport only to be told that the hotel the hotel was overbooked and that we would be staying in their sister hotel in the centre of Dublin. We then had to waste another hour waiting for another taxi to take us back to the city centre. We ended up at Lynhams Hotel on O'Connel Street. The reviews there speak for themselves. Had read that this had happened before from reviews that we had read on Trip Advisor.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Apolloonexmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Travelodge Phoenix Park
#2 of 3 in Castleknock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
1.4 mi away
Palmerstown Lodge
Palmerstown Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palmerstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Twelfth Lock Hotel
Twelfth Lock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Castleknock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
1.4 mi away
West County Hotel
West County Hotel
#89 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerpark Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerpark Lodge

Property: Deerpark Lodge
Address: Deerpark Lodge 1 Castleknock Road, Dublin Dublin 15, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deerpark Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Deerpark Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing