We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
Ranked #97 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The sign at the desk says no refunds on bookings, why? Because as soon you turn up and realizes how bad it is they have your money.

Now I'm a pretty easy going traveler and I take these reviews with a grain of salt but SO many negative reviews it couldn't be that bad... it was :(

Booked it to use a kitchen, however the kitchen was so dirty that we only ended up using it for breakfast, as to wash/scrub your dishes and then try to clean the stove BEFORE even cooking would have been a waste off time.

The shower was very dirty and completely stopped while my girlfriend was mid shower with shampoo in her hair, so I had too deal with her, then wouldn't start for the next 10 mins.

Shower was luke warm at best, and It took me a few minutes to warm myself back up as the heaters also don't work.

Only one plug in the room worked, with the other one unable to insert the plug

Normally I don't write reviews but what topped me off was someone stealing food from the fridge, so leave only the bare minimum, because even if it is labeled someone will probably steal it.

Room Tip: Book at a different hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_Beccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

I normally take the reviews at the extreme sides of the scale (both overly happy and overly negative) with a pinch of salt, however for this hostel/fly trap/chewing gum & mildew party central it's spot on.

If you ignore all cleanliness related concerns I might have with this place, however, stay well clear of it for another reason:
We were two couples going to Dublin for a weekend, and wanted a cheap place just for sleeping. We're all seasoned travellers and didn't have any specific concerns except we wanted en suite bathrooms. So we booked this place. We thought. When we arrived late Friday evening (just a short while before midnight) we couldn't immediately locate the hostel. Entering another similarly named one just down the street, we were told that this was in fact where our reservation had landed.

The owners of the D1 have two hostels on the same street. When they get reservation, they make a decision on where to place their customers, aparently regardless of the where the reservation was placed. Meaning that our reservation (which we luckily had printed) was moved to the one we didn't know existed. If D1 is horrible, this other place is... uhm... no comment. There were squashed spiders on the walls, litter on the floors and window panes, dirty finger prints over all surfaces, and a shower room/bathroom falling off its hinges and reeking of pee. When we pointed out the clear (in our view) issue with having been placed someplace other than what we had booked in a quiet and rational matter, we were told we were completely right, but nothing could be done. When we applied a bit more pressure, it got more difficult. I'll not go into the details, but we spent a couple of hours in the end arguing with the guy in the lobby and his manager on the phone before we were more or less forced to either accept a 15% discount for the night in question, then be moved to D1, or sleep on the street.

Ah well, after one of my friends had recovered from being called childish, spoiled and ignorant (for asking to have a couple of towels without holes in them) the next morning we moved to D1. I will say that at this point the various employees had aparently decided to try to make us feel more at ease, and as such at least the human link was pleasant. The rooms were still not really fit for human habitation, but as they were better than the first place we just kind of went with it.

All in all, we made a decision not to care, and as a result except from the first unpleasant night we had a great weekend in Dublin. The place is really, really cheap, so if you are willing to ignore all kinds of stuff, go for it. If not, it's worth even paying double the price for a room you can sleep in without being woken up by traffic (windows don't really close), direct sunlight in your face (the curtains are made of transparent mesh and are anyway so full of holes there's no shadow), creaking matresses (both your own and all neighbours both above and in the rooms next door), shouting neighbours (to stay at this place you have an advantage if you're _a bit_ tipsy when you get back to your room, meaning increased noise levels) or just general worry.

At least if you do book it, please call ahead to make sure they give you a room in the D1 and don't try to move you to the other one.
Good luck :)

Room Tip: Call them in advance to make sure they don't try to move your booking to the sister hostel down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arduinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

At the arrival we booked in with very nice and helpfull staff. Came to the room and we've been slapped in the face by a mess. First of all beddings were not changed at all. Just like the other guest left thats what we seen. At the table there was a nice piece of chewing gum. Floor hasnt been hoovered for ages.
We booked room for 3 with toilet and shower room
Toilet was dirty, as well as taps. Shower wasnt visibly dirty, but the whole state of room makes me assume that it hasnt been desinfected.
Hostel supposly has kitchen, but when we wanted to go there at 23.00 to look for bottle opener we were told at reception that we cannot enter as people are sleeping there.
Overall - the place is dirty.
Good things:
I liked the location - the main bus station is just around the corner. Aerlink ( airport bus ) will drop you just 2minutes walk away. 10minutes walk to Trinity College.
No noise

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anazja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

AVOID!

I would have chosen 0 if the rating monitor would have let me.

Disgusting dorm room.

Seems like perminant residents smoke in bed - not using ash trays - from the piles of ash, and probably consume a fair amount of cider\vodka - from the empty bottle collection. The light switch was cracked and I saw a spark when i switched the light on.

I am a bit ashamed to say that I was on the point of walking out of the hostel - and I like to think of myself as a fairly easygoing traveller. I probably would have if i hadn't just given them my last euros. Ended up sitting up all night because I was worried my stuff would be stolen. How the mighty have fallen.

On the plus side though, they were solvent - which is more than you can say for the hostel which i booked before.

Room Tip: Pick a different hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPHadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The D1 hostel is the most disgusting place I have ever had the displeasure of staying in!! Me and my friends were actually scared of going back there after our night out! The state of the bathroom was just unacceptable and I'm sure the environmental health would have a field day in there!

The area of town is very undesirable and do not walk alone around the hostel

To sum up, do NOT stay here if you do not want to catch something nasty or be mugged!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulipflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Julien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Sky Backpackers
#9 of 124 in Dublin
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Courts Hostel
#33 of 124 in Dublin
423 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 124 in Dublin
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin

Address: 80 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £46 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing