We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chophouse Gastro Pub

The Chophouse Gastro Pub
Ranked #37 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub, Steakhouse, Irish, Bar, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dining Options: Lunch, Dinner , Private Dining, Reservations Please see our website
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Food was delicious, wine was great and service was excellent. Would highly recommend!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DianeElizabeth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    158
    44
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warmly welcomed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and I went last Saturday to the Chophouse in Dublin without a reservation. They were packed, not just because it was Saturday night, but also because they had just gotten some special honor bestowed on them for their restaurant. The man in charge, Emmett, told us to go on into the bar and he will get us a table. He kept coming back to reassure us a table was coming,and sure enough he made one available. What was impressive is that he kept us informed and made sure we were comfortable, even while handling a large crowd. We enjoyed a fine meal that night, and engaged in pleasant conversations with Emmett and his staff. We promised to return during our stay and did so last night, my birthday, at which Emmett not only served us two fine meals of ribeye steak and a special guinea fowl which were excellent, he also whipped up a dessert with a birthday candle to wish me a happy birthday. It was a pleasant surprise, and we engaged in some more pleasant conversation about the restaurant. The two visits there rank among the highlights of our trip to Dublin, and if you go, tell Emmett that Mick from Arizona sent you.....

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere, but a little too pricey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

l like going here mid week and on weekends. They have a good menu selection, fancire than the average pub but its above average prices so you'd expect quality food, and it is.The owner is friendly and keen to provide a good service. It is a good bar to watch a match (away game) and have lunch or dinner.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HarringEH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Loved it, had the fish, others in our party had the steak and fish/chips, we all loved it, the only thing I would not order again was the deconstructed rhubarb desert, good value for money and great atmosphere.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank liznotrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unusual menu - great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stopped by for a quick lunch while we waited for our rooms to be ready after coming off over night flights. We had some of the tastiest food we had on our trip. Order what is on special - they use great ingredients with a nice presentation.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chophouse Gastro Pub also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Chophouse Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing