We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, fab hotel”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Athy, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fab location, fab hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed just one night in July & it was brilliant. Hotel is located next door to a cinema & the O2 venue. There is a luas that leaves from right outside the door & also a taxi rank. The rooms are spacious & spotless, the showers are lovely, with glass doors & a rain shower head.

Breakfast is really fresh & tasty with a great choice. Great spot for a nightcap after being to a concert in the O2 even if you are not staying over!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purple_swb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear “purple_swb”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I’m delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in the hotel and you benefited from our convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future and in the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,925
    1,243
    295
    90
    55
See reviews for
594
2,056
149
676
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Great week-end at the Gibson hotel where I stayed with my fiancé in February 2012.

The room is nicely furniture and rather big, the hotel is a bit far from the city centre but the tram really stops at the bottom which is really convenient after a long day of walking in Dublin!
We benefitted from a good deal when we booked on their website, so we were very happy with the price/quality value. We had the Sunday Brunch formula, the brunch was good and we enjoyed a late check out at 4pm which was perfect as we could then take the shuttle to the airport which is 3 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

Only negative point: the bathroom has a window which accessed directly into the bedroom (on the bed even!), so I had the bad surprise to be woken up inthe middle of the night when my partner switched on the light to go to the toilets!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear “Julars”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I’m glad to see you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and benefited from one of our great deals. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future and in the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlads
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A different modern hotel not usual for Dublin. Liked the glass work. Close to the town center. Take a taxi to O'Connel street for around €8. Or on a nice day take a walk. Not a very child friendly hotel. Mine where 7 and 9- they could amuse themselves, I wouldn't go here with children younger then that. More a hotel for couples and ideal if you're going to the O2 arena! Restaurant for evening dinner was ok, indonesian quisine- expensive. Breakfast: a lot of choice hot food kept warm- not much taste.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear “topnosh”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I’m sorry to see you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. We cater for all guests including families with young children I apologise if you didn’t get this impression during your stay. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future where I am sure you will have a memorable experience. In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed at The Gibson Hotel, Point Village, Dublin in May. The Hotel location is fantastic for the 02 arena which is just 10 steps away! The Hotel is bright, new & very modern. Not for you if you are looking for "character"!
The double room we had was very clean & bright, there is ample room for everything & the bathrooms are a decent size.
The tram stops just outside the Hotel to take you into the heart of Dublin, it runs every 10 minutes, so you can leave the car in the car park. The Hotel staff are nothing to write home about, they simply do their job! The breakfasts are really nice.
IF you do have a concert to attend at the 02 Arena then this really is the "only" place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyd678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear “lyd678”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I’m delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay in the hotel and that the location was so convenient for you. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here to catch an early ferry. Great location although a bit tricky via Gps but just took just 5 mins to ferry loading dock in the morning. Faciilities all good. Rooms extremely modern comfortable and roomy. 2 min walk to river with lovely boardwalk. Ate in Bar and food was A plus. We shared a platter for lunch and I had seafood Laska for evening meal and it was superb. Would recommend this hotel especially if u need to get an early start to Ferry or boat.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear "Helen V"

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to post your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and I certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We loved staying in the Gibson hotel. We arrived at busaras from Belfast and got on to the luas tram which is at the back of the bus station, they pull up every 10 minutes or so. You buy the tram ticket at the ticket machine at the stop. The tram will display in green lights 'the point' which is where the Gibson is located and is actually the last stop on the tram line :). I would advise everyone staying at the Gibson to take the tram as it is very reliable and saves you walking 25 minutes to the hotel :) the tram literally stops at the front door of the hotel so no need for walking long distances to or from the city centre. Hotel is in a nice quiet area away from the city centre but easily accessible with the luas.
The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful both at the reception desks and the restaurant. The rooms are lovely and modern we had a room on the shared balcony which was just lovely. There is also a cinema next door which we didn't go to but will next time!
We will definitely be back at the Gibson soon.Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 827catlover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear "827catlover22",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to post your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and I certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Lovely new hotel, very modern stylish and clean. Rooms have lovely big showers (no bath) The Asian food in the bar was very good as was the service. Location is great if going to a concert at the O2, not so great otherwise although the Luas stops right outside do very handy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrburges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear "mrburges",

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to post your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and I certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Hotel Manager on Duty
gcallinan@thegibsonhotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,499 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,431 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing