We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if your going to the 02 or just staying in the city”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at the 02 as we were going to a gig and it was so handy.The hotel appears to be part of the 02 grounds as the so are close to each other.
Parking is €14 for 24 hrs and the dart is outside the door for €3.20 return to the city center.
On booking in I was greeted with a hand shake which was very nice and this was the kind of staff we found all over the hotel, very efficient, friendly and helpful.
This hotel is very modern maybe a bit too much as it feels like an office block but everything is so clean and new it it hard to knock it.
After the gig there was music and food in the bar until very late which is great and even so the rooms were still very quite.I think most of the stars and crew stay here after gigs so you may even spot a few famous faces( we did)
The room rate was €189 which is expensive as if there was no gig it would have been €99 so we felt a bit robbed.
Overall we would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinead D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Sinead D,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourt stay at the gibson hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next concert or leisure stay.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,191 - 3,197 of 4,800 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here last week on another trip to Ireland. Had some business in Dublin near the docklands so decided to stay out of the city. Location is good (if you want to be out here) right by the Luas. The hotel is really new/clean/comfortable. The only negative I found was that it was a bit miserable in the hotel bar on a Thursday evening, would have expected more people...but maybe that's unreasonable. Would def recommend for anyone looking to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the docks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnsanderson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear johnsanderson22,

Thank you very much for such positive feedback on here and I am sure all the staff here at the gibson hotel will be delighted to read your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we patiently await for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My sister treated me for my birthday to tickets to see Michael Buble in the O2 and we stayed at the Gibson Hotel. I have to say the Hotel is fab very stylish with lots of room, I was however disappointed with the food. We tried to book the restaurant but couldn't get a table before the concert so we opted to go to the bar for food instead. The menu was very minimal to say the least. We decided on a started for two to share and it was very nice. Our main courses however was a different story. I ordered Thai green curry and the only way I can describe it is horrible!The chicken was like something that was boiled in a pot for ten hours. My sister ordered Thai noodles and they were hard and the meat was the same as my chicken tough as old boots. When the waiter came to take our plates he asked was everything OK and we explained that it wasn't, he said he would get the manager to come and see us. We had to wait at least 15 minutes for the manager to arrive to which he apologised for and said we would not be charged for our main courses. We were happy enough with this as we had not eaten it and should not have to pay for it. The bar was very busy I assume because of the concert but that is no excuse for poor quality food. It is a pity as the hotel itself is very nice and so convenient when attending the O2.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redrosecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear redrosecork,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read your kind comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel along with your constructive feedback which I have taken on-board fully and thank you also for bringing it to our attention while you were here.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

From the very second we stepped off the conveniently located Luas stop outside the door of this hotel, our time at this hotel was absolutely faultless.
The building itself is super modern, the staff on reception where delightful too. This goes for all the staff, all very professional and competent.
The room was immaculate and the attention to detail in the room and throughout the hotel is second to none!
Perfect bar/ restaurant overlooking the docklands with a great menu and delicious breakfast.

Usually you would find tiny things which you over look but can honestly say this is the best hotel we've ever stayed in, if your going to Dublin you must stay here! 2 nights for €240 with breakfast is a snippet compared to the service you will receive.

Recommended restaurant also in dublin, FX Buckleys. Great steak, great chefs with all local meats.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Paul V,

Many thanks for the fantastic review following your recent stay and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just a quick thanks to the wonderful staff for welcoming us in this wonderful hotel. The moment we walked in a pleasant lady greeted us with a smile(3jars of sweets @desk too). The rooms were fantastic big rooms walk in shower etc. Will definately be back soon! Thanks guys

Room Tip: good view however the room we got had a nice back garden vnice have to say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UPTHAREBELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear UPTHAREBELS,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of the gibson hotel with the trip advisor community, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

While this hotel lives up to the positive reviews it has received there is one major failing - the new Speedo Lounge. When we checked in to the hotel we were informed that we could make a dinner reservation at the desk in the reception area. The girl at the desk explained there were two dining options that could be booked - the coda restaurant and the new Speedo Lounge. She was not able to show us a menu for the Coda restaurant. The Speedo Lounge was advertised as the new trendy place to dine in Dublin, situated on the 6th floor of the hotel with balcony views over the city and serving a BBQ menu. We asked if there was indoor seating and were reassured that yes, we could sit inside if we wished. Well - the Speedo Lounge turns out to be an empty suite on the top floor, a limited choice BBQ buffet set up on the built in headboard for the missing bed, 8 chairs on a small balcony with 3 tables and 2 deckchairs in the corner of the bedroom. To add insult the decor consists of a number of male mannequins wearing speedo swimwear (enhanced with stuffing) with face masks of Ireland's rugby heroes. Not forgetting the surfboard hung on the wall and the open door into the room's ensuite bathroom beside where you choose your food. I am well travelled but have never seen anything so tacky and cheap in a 4 or 5 star hotel. All of this for the princely sum of €25 per person, including a drink. There were not enough seats for everyone there. We had to sit on deckchairs balancing our food on our knees. Everyone was complaining and to be fair to the management they offered us an extra glass of wine with dinner and cleared our bar bill when we returned from the concert we were attending at the O2 . But those not staying in the hotel didn't even get this. This may be something new the hotel is trying for the summer but the management should be ashamed of themselves. This is well below the standard most people staying at this hotel would expect. Take my advice and stay well clear of the Speedo Lounge.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tao147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was my third stay at the Gibson Hotel and it yet again didn't disappoint. It's a fab hotel with a really modern spacious feel about it. The front desk staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are generously sized and the showers are fantastic. There's a really good choice at the buffet breakfast and you can also order special options for an extra €5. I ordered the crepes which were delicious but my friend's French toast order was a bit disappointing. The location at the end of the Luas line and port tunnel is very convenient. We'll definitely be back next time we're in Dublin!

Room Tip: They have some very large family rooms with a double bed and pull out sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Jaddy1,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review on trip advisor and I am delighted to read that after your third stay, we are still maintaining the standards and didn't disappoint.

We are already looking forward to your fourth visit.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,572 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,699 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £91 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing