We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Dublin”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
“THE place to stay in Dublin”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked this hotel for our wedding guests as they arrived in Ireland from the United States before heading to Cork, Co for the wedding. It was absolutely perfect! We had contemplated staying in Temple Bar to be in the middle of everything but I am so glad we chose The Gibson instead. Our guests were able to take the bus from the airport and the hotel was the first bus stop. And then there was the LUAS to take us all over the city right outside the hotel's front door. The staff was great and the rooms were clean, comfortable, and modern, and the lemon candy at the reception desk is addictive! All of our guests were very impressed as were we. We will definitely stay there again the next time we're in Dublin.

Room Tip: It seems like all the rooms were good from the feedback we got from our family and friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChampagneShoeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear ChampagneShoeGirl,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind words following your recent stay with us at The gibson Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service that we offer. I have shared your feedback with the team.

Please do come back and see us soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,925
    1,245
    295
    90
    55
See reviews for
594
2,057
149
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Like always, before a room at The Gibson Hotel, I tripadvisored it! The reviews seemed good, so I booked!

It's location is perfect; The trams stop right outside the Hotel, for those of you who want quick access to places around the City (women wearing 'break-my-ankle' heels know what I mean!). Also, it's precisely a two minute walk into the O2! Now that's convenience!

The reception of the hotel is on the third floor (a bit confusing). The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The superior room we had was on the 6th floor. The neutral colours were welcoming which was a good contrast to the colourful bar and eatery. It was very clean, relaxing, and most comfortable.

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Good quality products in abundance, and helpful staff who were happy to serve.

I could go on and on...but the bottom line is, it was worth every penny; don't expect to book a four star hotel in the hope that it meets five star standards. It doesn't work that way.

Room Tip: Book well in advance...maybe a month or two ahead of time so that you get more for your money! Pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Rain F,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratoath, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

From start to finish our stay in The Gibson Hotel was perfect. The people we met had much to do with our enjoyment of the stay but the hotel and the service were second to none. We travelled in from the country and could not have been more pleased with the service we received when we arrived. I have in the past felt that Dublin can be over-priced and that the service wasn't worth the cost. I can honestly say that my experience with The Gibson Hotel has changed my opinion... every once in a while it is definitely worth it!!
Thanks to the staff...and all the lovely people we met there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear christina d,

I was very pleased to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you liked the hotel and the service we provided you with. I have passed on your kind words to the team at the hotel. Please do come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Really recommend for a long stay or a short weekend. Restaurant is is amazing. Staff are extremely friendly. Had a really lovely stay. Not too far from the airport. Beds are extremely comfortable. General ambience was exceptional. Due to my experience it's obvious that the staff and management are in control. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Daisy K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the gibson hotel with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope it is not too long till we welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently stayed at The Gibson Hotel as a surprise for my wife's birthday after recommendations from friends and family. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, we were made feel more than welcome. The hotel is very clean and modern and there is always someone to help no matter what you require. The hotel manages to have a laid-back atmosphere while keeping the standard and service you would expect from a 4 or even a 5* hotel. Will definitely be staying here again the next time we are in Dublin

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank white2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear white2408,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the gibson hotel with us; I am extremely delighted that we met your expectations from the moment you arrived till the minute you left. I am happy also that your wife's surprise birthday went well. I hope it is not long till your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here with friends on Saturday night and had a great time , Hotel staff are first class! very friendly, We had an issue with our room and would have been moved if the hotel wasn't full up, We where looked after quite well because of this with free drinks to our room and offered
lunch the next day also, we were well pleased with this.
Rooms are very nice with everything you could need and the Luas stops just outside for a quick journey to city center.
When we return to Dublin this is where we shall be staying for sure !
Thanks again Gibson Hotel staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for choosing the gibson hotel and for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found all the staff to be first class. I am also happy that the issue with your room was resolved to your satisfaction. I am sure everyone here at the hotel will be delighted to welcome to back soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIFE
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from 4 night stay at THE GIBSON HOTEL .Had room 682 on the 6th floor with balcony. All staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also excellent with large choice. The Luas tram stop is at front door, purchased 7 day 2 zone ticket for under 19euro's, great value. Also airport bus 747 stops on main road at hotel.
Shall stay again when in Dublin, don't be put off by the negative reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHERRY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear SHERRY2000,

Thank you for choosing the gibson hotel for your recent trip to Dublin and for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us. I am delighted that you liked room 682 and enjoyed your stay with us. I hope it is not long before we see you back at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,499 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,431 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing