We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel for business”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel for business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Service is very good.
The place is huge and you won't be out of space, including in the rooms which are pretty big.
The situation is OK if you're working in the area, but not closed to the city center; however taking a taxi takes only 10 minutes to get there. You can also stay there if you're going to a concert at the O2 (5 minutes).
They have a sport room with some running and workout machines. It's opened very late which is a good point.
The breakfast is good and complete.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear levincent,

Thank you for staying at the gibson hotel and for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be very good. I have shared your comments with all the team and they are delighted that you have an enjoyable stay.

I hope it is not long until we welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,863
    1,181
    277
    89
    51
See reviews for
572
1,997
145
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ARMAGH
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here recently,hotel was nice,rooms were decent. With nice interior. When it came to our dinner dance and European meeting,food was the worst I have ever had, soup was cold,main meal would not fill a 3 year old,as I was waiting for veg an potatoes,but then I was told what is on your plate that was it, insult to friends that we had invited over from Europe for our meeting, lot off the food was handed back, never take this hotel on if you have a group of 10 or more. Find a good hotel that can cater for a decent size party. Breakfast was average as the food was not all that hot,waiter service was slow,such as waiting for toast,or tea. For the money they received for this function,food was truly an insult, never again.

Room Tip: Stay at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with family when in Dublin for the Wicked Musical in the Bord Gais Theatre. It was easily accessible when coming through the tunnel into Dublin. I thought the room was very modern. The shower/bathroom area was lovely but the room was quite cold when we came in at night and didn't seem to heat up when we turned up the heating. Location wise, it would be a great place to stay for concerts in the O2 but the area is very dead otherwise. The Luas tram system is right beside the hotel and takes you to all the main areas but we took a taxi into town at night. In summary, great hotel for concerts etc but stay nearer the town if you want atmosphere.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmat93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Emmat93,

Thank you for sharing your experience of the gibson hotel with us during your recent trip to the Bord Gais theatre. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel to be easily accessible when coming through the tunnel as your room being modern and the shower being lovely.

My apologies you found your room be b cold when you returned, I am brought this up with the maintenance department and I am sure they will be looking into this going forward.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel, perhaps on your next visit to the o2 or again to the Bord Gais.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Went to Wicked and stayed over at t Gibson - I had stayed there before but it was t first time for my friend and yet again found it fantastic on every level starting with Brid in reception friendly pleasant professional and helpful. Left feeling as if we had had total chillax. Wouldn't stay anywhere in Dublin

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Mary R,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, and I have been sure to show your review to Brid.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a gift and from the moment we stepped foot into the gibson they made us feel special. We were upgraded to an executive room and they left a card and happy birthday brownies for him in the room - a really thoughtful touch.

The room was spacious and inviting, the bed comfortable and the balcony was a gem we never expected. The bathroom was spotless with a fantastic shower and the water was consistently warm. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room and there was also a fridge available. Water was left in the room daily.

Luas line was right outside the door so commuting around the city was easy and reasonable €6.40 for unlimited daily travel. There was also a cinema and coffee shop next door so rainy nights weren't an issue. Similarly, taxis were at the door - useful for sights not on the luas such as the aviva.

We didn't eat in the hotel itself so can't comment on the food or service in this area however the check in staff, house keeping staff and maintence were all outstanding and made our stay fantastic.

Couldn't fault this hotel at all during our two nights here and would love to return again in future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine7767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Catherine7767,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip advisor, following your recent stay at the hotel.

I have shared your comments with the entire team here at The gibson Hotel and they are extremely proud to have made your stay such a memorable one.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us soon and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Cannot fault this hotel for location or for facilities as it is fantastic. Have stayed here once before and the quality of the toiletries has gone down but not a huge deal. Reception staff were lovely and the only thing that ruined our stay was the service at breakfast. We were seated and told to order tea/coffee and toast from a server but after 20 mins I had not managed to get anyone to serve us. Finally asked the man who seated us and also asked for scrambled eggs. We waited a further 10 mins and I asked another waitress and waited another 20 and I decided I didn't want to waste my weekend waiting for breakfast so we left. The man was very apologetic and it would have been ok but the same thing happened the next day when we went down but I got up and stopped a waitress and asked her. We managed toast but no eggs and decide not to wait around any longer. Great hotel but poor service and lack of breakfast left a bad taste in my mouth!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights during a conference at the nearby Convention Centre. The hotel has a very interesting design where all the rooms face towards inner courtyards complete with bamboo and Rock Gardens. The rooms gave off a feeling of Zen and tranquility in the middle of Dublin City. The rooms were also very well-equiped with modern amenities and conveniences.

Breakfast was included in our booking package and was delicious. Breakfast in Ireland is much different that what we are accustomed to in the States, but I found the options to be quite delicious and satisfying.

Another feature of the hotel is the under-utilized Relaxation Room on the top level, which was a very nice escape from the daily grind. Complete with Sauna, Steam Room and Copper Baths, it was another peaceful environment in the middle of the City.

Location was not ideal, but the City Centre and Business District (as well as most restaurant options) were just a short Luas ride away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Brenda G,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read your kind comments about the service and facilities here at the hotel. I'm glad you had time to enjoy the Relaxation Area during your stay.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again and that your visit then will be a truly memorable one.

Yours sincerely,

Gordon Gallinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,352 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing