We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant modern hotel. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
huddersfield-england
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Brilliant modern hotel. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

This place is a bit out if the main part of the city but is easily accessible by the LUAS trams(Point). End of the line. Across the road from the O2 arena. the hotel is massive. The whole place is decorated really nice. The rooms are very big and spacious. And nice decor. The staff are very polite and helpful. We had breakfast as well which was €15 for full irish. A little expensive but it was nice. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liamf_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear liamf_07,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the gibson hotel and for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff to be polite and helpful. Thank you also for bring to my attention the price of the breakfast, we offer a discounted rate of €10 for all our guests if they inform reception the night before so perhaps you can avail of this offer on your next visit to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,861
    1,179
    277
    89
    51
See reviews for
572
1,995
145
645
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel with a real buzz around the bar and restaurant. Good size rooms which are nice and comfortable. Interior rooms overlook nicely landscaped areas. Good service and a good location with interesting views across the Docks.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Bruce B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the gibson hotel with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel was very nice! Surprisingly large rooms, bright light, electrical shades, nicely equipped bathroom with rainshower - really nice!

I was there on business for about three nights and had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

The menu of the restaurant is a bit limited but other than than absolutely no complaints!

Room Tip: Not sure if there are different types of rooms or not. I was on the 5th floor and the room was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roukiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Roukiat,

I am delighted you chose to stay at the gibson hotel during your recent trip to Dublin; thank you for sharing your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. I am happy you found the hotel to be very nice! Surprisingly large rooms, bright light, electrical shades, nicely equipped bathroom with rainshower. We take pride in maintaining the property and I am glad you were able to experience the service we offer. I hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel overnight when attending a function at the conference centre. The hotel is very close to the exit of the port tunnel and right beside the O2. We we able to walk round to the conference centre which was very handy. There is also a tram stop outside to get into town.

Hotel is lovely and modern with very comfortable and clean rooms. We had a drink in the bar before heading out which was nice and breakfast was also good. I would recommend this hotel

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawther2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Lawther2k,

I am happy to read that you stayed with us during your recent trip to Dublin for your conference, thank you for sharing your experience of the hotel on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the convenience of the hotel to the conference centre as well as the port tunnel to your satisfaction. I hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are back in Dublin.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I had lovely mid-week stay ( Monday till Thursday) at the gibson hotel ,upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff ,quickly checked in and given some good information on how to get about dublin and provided with a map for the laus which is literally outside the hotel door it was only a 7 minutes to city centre so very handy we purchased a week ticket and used this to get about the city . The rooms are very modern comfortable and was spotless on arrival and kept that way throughout our stay by housekeeping . We only had breakfast on our last morning but found it to be of good value , everything was very fresh with a good choice whether u were wanting fruit , hot food or continental breakfast .
Overall I was very impressed with the hotel, staff and would use this hotel on any future trips to dublin .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Lenore O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the gibson hotel with us and on tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

stayed there weekend 7/02/14 for the rugby 10 min in to town by tram airport bus stops right out side staff very helpful room are great with all you want big bathroom clean and tidy tea and coffe in rooms free fruit in the hall ways free internet and compters in reception all in all great place to stay wil be going back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taff1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear taff1098,

I am delighted to read your kind comments following your recent stay at the gibson hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, I have shared your words with the team here and they are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the gibson soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Great hotel and fantastic location for the Luas tram straight into Dublin centre. Staff were brilliant and could not have been more helpful for my parents who both have mobility problems. I would definitely stay again and would recommend a stay.

Food is good quality, breakfast is self serve and plentiful. Evening meals are good, Asian theme for most of the menu, not too everyone's taste but still good quality.

Room Tip: The upgrade to executive room for €35 a night extra is well worth it. For disabled guests, make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akb3176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Akb3176,

I am delighted you chose to stay with us at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you found all the staff to be brilliant and very helpful to you and your elderly parents during your stay. I have shared your kind words with all the team and they are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing