We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great service.”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #22 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here in February for the Wales Ireland rugby game and would definitely stay here again. It took approx 20 minutes to walk to centre of Dublin, you can walk along the river which is a lovely route. For those in a rush or not wanting to walk so much, tram is right outside the hotel and runs every 5 minutes. The walk to the stadium was about 25 minutes which on a fine day was ideal. The staff were very friendly and for an extra 10 euro per person you can have an excellent buffet breakfast. Rooms were modern and airy, slightly on the warm side but not unbearable. Hotel bar was great and prices on a par with any of the pubs. The gym was really of a high standard with each piece of equipment having their own TV screen. The relaxation area was excellent too. Have already looked to see if we can book when we go back in two years but dates not available yet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Sun1UK,

I am delighted to read that you chose to stay at the gibson hotel during your recent trip to Dublin to see Wales take on Ireland in the 6 Nations. I hope you enjoyed the match. Thank you for sharing your experience of the hotel with the tripadvisor community. I am very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found all the staff to be very friendly.

I hope you will choose the gibson again on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,756 - 2,762 of 4,734 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Confort rooms, big beds, warm atomosphere in a modern decoration. Wifi was free and good conection, Lounge bar has a good offer and at reasonable prices. Location is not right in the city centre, but well communicated with the Luas, and just about €25 to the Airport - 15-20 minutes- by taxi.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamonedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear gamonedo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the gibson hotel on your recent trip to Dublin and for sharing your experience with us and the trip advisor community. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found the rooms to be comfortable with big beds.

I hope you will come visit us again soon when you are next in Dublin.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have stayed in The Gibson Hotel four times now and I would gladly return over and over.
The staff are amazing and will do all they can to help.
The food is fantastic, plenty of it, full of flavour & presented beautifully.
We have stayed in four different rooms and all four were comfortable, spacious & relaxing.
It is located perfectly, close to the city but far enough out to avoid all the hustle bustle.
Would gladly recommend to anyone.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Barbara C,

I am delighted to read that after 4 stays with us, the standard we have set has remained and you have enjoyed all your stays with us. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, It really is satisfying when guests keep coming back to us because they have enjoyed their previous stays.

Your review has given the entire team a big lift as we are always striving to keep all our guests happy. We look forward to your next stay with us which I am sure you will enjoy.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed there valentines night for a well worth price of 175 it was well worth the money because it is a gorgeous hotel and me my girlfriend her sister and her boyfriend ate at ur lovely coda restaurant and I really Wana say this but I've never felt so comfortable from your waiter Daniel he made us feel so welcome he is a very nice lad I would recommend this hotel to any1 I'd like to thank Daniel for making us so welcome and having the laugh with us I think he might remember us cause we had a great laugh

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glennquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Glennquinn,

I am delighted to read that you and your girlfriend had an enjoyable stay with us and I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is even more pleasing to read that Danny was able to make your dinning experience in our Coda eatery the more special. Danny is a credit to the department and the hotel and its really is a delight to be working with him and all the team here at the hotel.

I hope you will come back to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Bedrooms slightly larger than normal. Very clean and modern.
Arrived by car at 4:00 on Friday afternoon and parked in the car park attached to the hotel. We just parked up for our entire stay, leaving at 11:00 on Sunday morning. The total cost was €28. The front desk will validate your tickets and take payment. You dont need your car to visit Dublin from here. The tram leaves right outside the front door and takes you to OConnell St in a few minutes. We walked back from Grafton St one evening taking about 35 minutes. It was a very easy walk, being all on the level, alongside the river. It was well lit the whole way. Effortless, friendly check in, comfortable rooms. The housekeeping was a bit hit and miss though. We as a party had 3 rooms. On the second day 2 of the 3 rooms were never touched, even after being told, leaving us to use wet towels. The other room which had been made up requested dry towels after using the shower before heading out that evening. They never arrived.
The breakfast was really good, but the "hot" food was only lukewarm on both mornings. A little bit more heat would have made such a difference. The selection of breads especially the wheaten and the seeded brown one were really good.
Would I stay again, without doubt yes. This is a great hotel, but the housekeeping glitches need sorted out.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear BigJohnDeere,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of the gibson hotel with us and the trip advisor community. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us however I am also disappointed to read that there were some areas of your stay that fell short of our high standards. I have discussed these issues with the accommodation department and I am sure this was an isolated incident.

I hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My sister and I just spent the night in this Hotel. It was such a treat. The interiors and art on display are v stylish, the building is fresh and modern without being too impersonal. The room was so comfortable and the staff very pleasant. We were in Dublin City in a matter of minutes as the Luas stops directly outside the hotel door... But by far the most pleasant surprise was the deliciously fresh breakfast and ease of checkout next morning ! (I also enjoyed the small but v new gym) Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murfci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear murfci,

I am happy to read that your recent stay at the gibson hotel was an enjoyable one and thank you for sharing your experience of the hotel on trip advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed the fresh breakfast on offer as well as the ease of checkout the next morning.

I have shared your kind words with the team and they all join me in thanking you for such a glowing review. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Last night me and my boyfriend spent Valentine's night here for a special 175 Euros offer and have to say it was really worth it!! (1 night sleep plus three course meal for two, free two coctails on arrival, full irish breakfast and small sweet surprise in our room with free bottle of water) This place really impressed us and left a very good memories! Staff was extremely friendly, food in restaurant was really tasty and and nice served. Room was big and spacious, very modern nice decorated with a huge shower in a bathroom. It's only a pity we didn't have time to use a relaxation area which looks great and free access to all guests. We defo gonna come back there again and i would recommend to everyone!! Thank you guys for everything!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atlantida1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Atlantida1,

Thank you for choosing to spend valentines night with us at the gibson hotel and for sharing your experience on trip advisor. I am delighted to read that you and your boyfriend had an enjoyable stay and especially the treat in your room.

I am happy that the gibson has given you great memories and I hope you can make more on your future stays with us.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,414 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,614 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £98 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing