We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great so nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great so nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

just back from dublin had a great time in this hotel the staff were so nice we stayed in a family room lots of space so nice in the rooms we did not want to leave we had dinner in the hemi bar te food was so nice as were the staff even the duty manager mr evens he made our trip even better we could not have asked for more from the staff if i ever go back to dublin i will be staying there the kids cant stop talking about the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear John H,

I was absolutely delighted to read your very kind words about your recent stay at The gibson Hotel. I was so glad that we met you and your families expectations. I have shared your review with all the team here at the hotel. Please do come and visit us again soon where I am sure we will once again meet your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,831
    1,162
    269
    87
    49
See reviews for
562
1,976
144
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was my second stay in the Gibson, and I really enjoyed it. The rooms are lovely and it opened straight out onto a little garden. We had a twin room and the beds were lovely and comfortable. The room was nice and clean, and really nice, spacious showers. The Luas is right outside the front door which is great for getting into the city centre. The O2 is right opposite the hotel so is ideal if you are going to a show. The night we stayed the X Factor tour was on so a lot of guests were staying there for it, but the hotel was so quiet and peaceful you wouldn't have thought so. There is an underground car park which cost us €14 for parking overnight. We left the car beyond the 12 o'clock check out time so the hotel added a day pass onto that for €10 so it was €24 altogether, which is a little expensive, but it's hard to find anything cheaper in Dublin. It's also safe in there and convenient. We had some lunch in the bar. We had a bit of a mix up with our order which left us waiting a bit for food, but when it came it was very nice. The breakfast was very nice, with a big selection of food to choose from at the buffet.

I really enjoyed the Gibson and would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Dublin, my favourite place I've stayed at in the city. The staff are just so friendly and helpful at reception which makes a big difference.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip advisor following your recent stay at the hotel. My apologies there was a mix up with food in the bar but I am happy that this was sorted and that you found the food to be very nice when it did arrive.

I have shared your comments with the entire team here at The gibson Hotel and they are extremely proud to have made your stay an enjoyable one.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us soon and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We didn't stay the night on either occasion we were here; the food in the bar, however, is fantastic (best rice I've had outside of Asia).

Décor and design deserve high commendation, as do the attentive and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobsTrip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
RobsTrip M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hemi bar with the tripadvisor community. I am delighted you enjoyed the Asian menu we offer, my favourite is actually the Singapore noodles which I have had many times so perhaps on your next visit you will be able to try it.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed recently for one night.
Location is good - a bit out of the centre but easily accessible using the Luas (tram) or taxi.
Check in was friendly and efficient.
The lobby areas are modern and attractive, but not somewhere you might want to hang about in. The bar was similar...and on arriving there late and wanting a drink before bed, it certainly wasn't appealing as quite a number of tables were littered with empties and general rubbish and were waiting to be cleared. Perhaps they just had had a busy evening.
The rooms were large, modern, clean and well appointed. Ours was lovely to stay in. The bathroom likewise was large, clean and had lots of amenities.
Breakfast was poor - lots of people, average selection only, hot food of moderate quality at best and a fairly chaotic seating arrangement with other guests just arriving being seated in the seats of those up getting food at the buffet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hc1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear hc1401,

thank you for taking the time to share your recent of the gibson hotel with us. I am happy that you enjoyed aspects of your stay however I am extremely disappointed that your overall experience wasn't to that of the high standards we have set ourselves. I will be working closely with the team to make sure these high standards are maintained throughout the hotel and I hope you will be able to see it when you next visit us.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Hotel's exterior and interior is all very nice. Its quite a modern hotel, especially by Ireland's standards. Myself and my partner got a very reasonable deal for 1 night with a sweet treat of cupcakes on arrival to our room, a 3 course meal, two free cocktails and breakfast the next day. One of the staff members was a bit zoned out when we were talking to her. The room was mostly clean and looked beautiful but there was an odd smell. The meal was absolutely delicious and the staff were very helpful in giving us suggestions on what to order and even what to avoid. We even got another complimentary cocktail brought to our table to share. Overall it was a great experience even though we didn't avail of the relaxation treatments.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ommet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Ommet,

I am delighted to read that you availed of our valentines package and had a great time in the hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community. Its a shame you weren't able to use the relaxation area during your stay, perhaps on your next visit you will be able to use all the facilities we have to offer.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I have been wanting to stay in the Gibson for a long time and last Sunday we got the opportunity to do so! I must say I was completely underwhelmed by the whole experience! I have stayed in many hotels around the world from the very expensive to the cheap and cheerful! I found that the Gibson while very aesthetically pleasing it lacked a lot of the basics you require from a hotel! As my wife is pregnant and we went for a relaxing break She was very disappointed to find that there was no bath in the hotel room and then I was hoping to order a movie to the room yet the hotel doesn't offer this facility! In fairness you can RENT a DVD player if you have your own DVD's?! I found the room very warm at night I turned the heating system down to the lowest however it made no difference! We couldn't open the window as there was only a door out to a communal balcony shared with 5/6 other rooms. Also beware I was of the opinion that parking was included in the price of the stay seeing as we payed €100 for room only and the fact that it's not in the city centre it would be included, yet in check out it was an extra €14! So for €114
Room I don't think we got value for money, the hotel was spot less and the staff were very friendly however you could have stayed in the 5 star Dylan hotel with parking included for the same price on the night we stayed! I wouldn't stay again I think there is better value in Dublin

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nshev1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear nshev1984,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the gibson hotel with us. I am disappointed to read that your entire experience of the hotel wasn't a satisfying one. My sincere apologies the room you were assigned didn't have a bath, not all the rooms in the hotel have baths however upon request we do try our best to allocated a room with a bath to guests subject to availability. In-room entertainment like movies is not a service the hotel provides however we have DVD players and movies to put in guest rooms on request and am sorry you weren't able to avail of it when you stayed with us.

nshev1984, the car park is not owned by the hotel but we have negotiated a discounted rate of €14 for an overnight stay and I am sorry you didn't think it was value for money. I am disappointed that you are not going to give us another chance to impress however I sincerely hope you will reconsider and come back.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed at the Gibson 14 and 15 Feb. Fantastic!
I have stayed in 5 star hotels which were far inferior to this. Room was lovely but what made it was the friendly and helpful staff at reception and behind the bar.
Privately owned apparantly........ Well done to the owner you have created a gem.
Not in the centre of town but the tram (Luas) stops directly outside. 6 stops (5 mins) to Jervais then walk accross the Liffy to get to Temple Bar and the nightlife.
Went as a group of 10 and everyone thought the same. Drinks are pricey but hey... if you want a cheap beer dont go to Dublin £5-7 Euros a pint everywhere.
Taxis are reasonable and the cabbies are all comedians.
Top trip.
IT

Room Tip: 301 Was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommo3796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Tommo3796,

I am delighted to read that your stay here at the gibson hotel was an enjoyable one and I am delighted you have shared your experience with all the tripadvisor community. I have shared your fantastic review with all the team here and it has given us all a big lift in continuing to deliver excellent service to all our guests.

I hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,174 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,569 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing