We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, spacious, slightly out of town but with good transport connections.”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #22 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Modern, spacious, slightly out of town but with good transport connections.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Hotel is situated immediately across the road (50 yards) from the O2, so if you are going to a concert at that venue, this Hotel is ideal for you.

The Hotel itself is located in the Docklands/Financial district, in what can only be described as an area under development. The hotel is surrounded by a variety of commercial and residential buildings, but there are also vast areas of old, empty and derelict buildings interspersed by vacant building lots, so don't expect a lot by way of views from your room. I suspect that the landscape will be different in 5 years when the development is complete.

The Hotel is situated about 1.5 - 2 Kms outside the City Centre, but is well served by Taxis and the Luas (think modern electric tram) which stops immediately outside the front door of the Hotel. The return adult fare from The Hotel to Abbey Street stop (just round the corner from O'Connell Street) is 3.8 Euros, so if you are going to be there for a few days it might be cheaper to buy one of the week long tickets. You can buy the tickets at the machine situated at the Luas stop outside the Hotel.

As for the Hotel itself, it is light, airy and spacious and the accommodation is fairly large in comparison to other Hotels. The rooms are all non smoking, however, the room did smell as if someone had ignored this fact, and the Balcony was like an open ashtray, and I had to ask to have the large number of cigarette ends cleared away from the floor of the balcony. Apart from that the housekeeping was efficient and unobtrusive.

On arrival, the female receptionist appeared a bit disinterested and not very friendly. I did complain to her on the second day of the stay, that my wife and I had been wakened sometime between 10pm and midnight the night before by someone hammering on the door of our room (twice). She did indicate that the corridor security tape would be reviewed, however, I never saw her on duty again and no word was left as to the outcome. The good news is that it did not happen again.

My wife and I did not eat at the Hotel, but we did use the bar on one occasion and the staff were friendly and efficient.

Would I use this Hotel again? Probably not unless I was going to an event at the O2.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Doric1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the gibson hotel with us. My sincere apologies about aspects of your stay that weren't to the high standards of the hotel and thank you for letting us know. I will be sharing your feedback with the team so that we can make sure all the standards are maintained.

I do hope we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,900
    1,227
    291
    92
    56
See reviews for
591
2,039
148
664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here on a sunday night for valentine weekend,this hotel is fabulous from the design outside to the interior inside,it has everything you could want in a modern hotel.from the moment you check there are lots of little free perks jars of sweets at check in,baskets of apples near your room,freshly made popcorn in the bar,food was lovly in the bar menu had a choice of everything but not to much to choose,ther,s also a 24 hour gym.right outside the hotel is the luas which will take to dublins capital city in less than 10 mins,or you can walk around the docklands and the ifsc area for bars and restaurants,or just do what we done and stayed in the hotel and enjoyed everything it has to offer.well worth value for money lf your looking to treat yourself and your partner to a special night in an exciting modern hotel.i have to say there are no low points to this review.will be going again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Paul S,

I was so happy to read your very kind words following your recent stay with us at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that we exceeded your expectations especially with the facilities we offer. It is this service that also makes The gibson one of the best hotels and the team we have that deliver it. I have passed on your comments to them already.

I hope that you will come and stay with us once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

As a seasoned traveller I've spent my share in business hotels in major European cities.
The Gibson is a modern, airy hotel with lots of space and room, yet manages to convey a warm and welcoming atmosphere.
Staff were friendly throughout, be that at reception, when passing by or while enjoying breakfast.
The breakfast buffet wasn't overwhelming in terms of selection but decent enough, ranging from hot to cold and from savory to sweet, with excellent bread, porridge, eggs, beans, sausages, etc., croissants, fresh fruit, jogurt, juices, jam, butter, cheese, ham ... the usual.
The hotel room was really large, and the high ceiling gives it a pleasant and airy feel. I do admit that I love it when there are a lot of surfaces to spread my out my paper work and belongings.
I slept like a baby in that bed!
Free Wifi worked like a charm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tirza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Tirza11,

Thank you for this brilliant review of your stay at The gibson Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the service you experienced was outstanding. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to all of the team here and I am sure they will all look forward to welcoming you back to The gibson Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We loved the Gibson Hotel! Although not central, it was an easy tram ride into the city (10mins max) and it was such a funky, vibrant and fun hotel. We found it full of life and loved the quirky messages left on the mirror. Staff were incredibly helpful with whatever we asked them. We had a fire alarm go off in the early hours of our first morning and the staff were extremely apologetic. We felt like this hotel was great value and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Amanda C,

I was so glad to read your feedback following your recent stay at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed the brilliant service we provide to our guests. I am very proud that the team delivered the best levels of service to you and that we met your expectations. As always I will be passing your kind words on to our great team.

I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
268 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Gibson is not in the centre of Dublin but actually in the business area. Taxis and bus line are just in front of the main entrance and you can reach the centre also by a 20 minutes' walk. It is a modern building, mostly made of glass, with spacious, well equipped rooms, linear, bright furniture and all services, in the room and in the hotel (including the wellness area). Breakfast is richly assorted and the waiters are kind and quite quick.
The unusual touch is given by small things like the smiling receptionist shaking your hand to welcome you, the complimentary drink at the bar, flowers offered to embellish your room, funny objects placed close to the reception and interesting quotations stuck to your bathroom mirror every day...really "out of the ordinary hotel stuff" buy always with a kind and respectful approach. And when you leave, if you have pre-paid your room you just drop the key in the relevant box and leave the hotel in 1 minute.
I would recommend it if you do not have to stay in downtown Dublin and want to experiment something new, with all the services.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear roseglobe

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at The gibson Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed all the smaller details we take pride in offering our guests. As I always do I have passed on your lovely words to the team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the gibson again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Having read the positive reviews, we booked the Gibson for a 4 night stay.

My first impression was of a big, bright, modern hotel. The location is dreadful....don't bother looking out the window as all you will see are run down industrial buildings and cleared land!

We specifically asked for a non smoking room - seems, however, that such a room does not actually exist. Once the air freshener cleared on the day we checked in, all I could smell was cigarette smoke in our room. We opened the door to the small balcony to take a look outside and found it littered with cigarette ends! We reported this to reception - the girl seemed nonplussed but did get it cleaned up. The smell in the room seems to me to be clinging to the soft furnishings, like the fabric head board of the bed! It all needs a good spray of Febreze!

The bed is comfy enough, but I hated the hard, feathered pillows. I kept getting stabbed by the blunt end of feathers trying to escape!

The rooms are quite big, but do not have much character. Same can be said of the bathroom. The towels are rather thin and limp!

As I said earlier, the surroundings are not great. There is a cinema next door which is like a ghost town, but if you explore closely, you will find a Costa coffee tucked away up there. A couple of streets away there is a Spar shop.

After a hard day of pounding the streets of Dublin we considered eating at the hotel, but changed our plans when we read the menu. It is rather restrictive and is fusion food. The room service menu is similar.

The Luas stops right outside and that is the one saving grace. You can be in the heart of the city in minutes.

I normally find the reception staff at a hotel to be friendly, warm and helpful and eager to equip you with maps and recommendations ..... Not so here. There didn't seem to be any real interest except in taking your money (even though we had paid in advance!)

I think I will take a chance on somewhere with a bit more character next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the O2 - not a great view, but better than the alternative
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Carolyn111_12,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the gibson hotel on your recent visit to Dublin and for sharing your experience with us. My sincere apologies your first experience of the hotel wasn't the best. I am disappointed to hear that you found cigarette ends on the balcony and the room to be smokey.

All our rooms are non smoking however we offer the balcony rooms to guest that want a smoking room and I am sorry you were assigned one of these rooms. We have taken all your comments on board so thank you for bringing them to our attention.

I do hope we will get the chance to welcome you back and I am sure you will enjoy your room and stay.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Mid-week visit to the Gibson Hotel in February. Having been here on two previous occasions we knew what to expect. Our room was on 5th Floor overlooking the O2, the docks and a wee bit of a view of Dublin itself. The Luas is right outside the door so it is very easy to get into the city centre - 3.80 euros return. What we didn't realise is that you can buy a ticket that does all zones, all day for about 6 euros each and we could have saved money because we made 2 trips into the city centre on the same day. Our room is very clean and spacious and nice and warm. The staff are very welcoming and the whole place is quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Our room was on 5th floor overlooking the O2 - not a bad view at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear CoffeeRamblers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the gibson hotel with us. I am delighted to read that after your 3rd visit we are still maintaining the high standards we have set for ourselves. I do hope your visit 4th visit isn't that far away and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,369 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing