We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, with few quirks”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place, with few quirks”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Advantages:
- first stop on bus 747 route - only 15 minutes or so from the airport.
- modern hotel, with spacious rooms, in a developing area (Dublin port). Approx. 10 minute tram ride from the city center.
- nice little touches: flowers to take to your room, very friendly staff, books to read throughout the hotel, poetry notes on the mirror.
- free, fast, and actually working! WiFi.

Why not 5 stars?
The work area desk seems too tall for the (not adjustable) chair next to it and the phone can't be placed next to it (it's by the bed, and the cord is too short). Also phone has no speaker or mute button - i.e. difficult for extended business conversations.

Overall, very positive first impression of Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Stefanek,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found all the little touches around the hotel to your satisfaction. It is these little touches such as quirky notes and excellent guest service that makes the gibson hotel one of the best in Dublin.

My apologies the work desk was taller than the chair, perhaps on your next visit we will be able to put an adjustable chair in your room. I have shared your kind words with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,900
    1,225
    290
    92
    56
See reviews for
590
2,037
148
664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Yes never been said before but yes PERFECT.
i booked this hotel because it was near the port as i had an early ferry to catch , what a shame i could not have stayed longer, from the moment i arrived the staff were first class, what a nice change to find staff who actually enjoy there job !!! as hosts perfect as efficient team members first class, i had traveled by large van & they even arranged parking in the loading bay for me , Im not easily impressed so my comments here are honest Well done Mr or Mrs Manager you are doing a great job

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear BernieH888,

I am delighted to read that your Stay with us was PERFECT and thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the gibson hotel on tripadvisor. All the team here always try and go the extra mile for all our guests and I am extremely happy that your stay didn't disappoint. I have shared your lovely review with all the team here and we hope next time you will be able to spend more than a night in the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night as it was close to Grand Canal theatre. We travelled from Drogheda so used the Port Tunnel which spits you out right at the hotel, then parked in O2 car park .Overnight rate until 12pm is €14.
Receptionist very welcoming and efficient. The room was clean and modern ,some might say sterile as was the bathroom so all good then. The Luas is right outside the hotel so accessing the city is easy. On our return we tried the bar for a nightcap which was surprisingly busy but service was ok.
Next morning we had a very leisurely breakfast with Sunday papers , bliss.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarFon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear GarFon,

I am delighted you and your wife chose to stay with us when attending a show at the Bord Gais theatre and I want to thank you for taking the time to post your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. I am happy that you found reception to be welcoming and efficient as well as the clean and modern room and bathroom.

All the team here work extremely hard to ensure that every guests experience the highest service possible during their stay and I am happy that you were able to enjoy this service. I have shared your kind words with all the team here and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

12th April 2014.
It's nice to stay at a hotel, that does what it says on it's advertising.
Right opposite the O2.
Good check in. Whilst waiting a member of staff said he would hurry things up and got us booked.
Said he knew our area,as he was from Tottenham, mind you we are about 30 miles away..Anyway,a special mention for him.
Rooms very modern, outlook not good, but not a massive problem
The Lewis tram right outside going into town. For 7 euro get a taxi.
The bar was really busy at night but for the staff it seemed no problem

If we go to a gig in Dublin again this is the place for us.
Try Harry's Bar, not sure if it's part of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tthefourthcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear tthefourthcord,

Thank you for this brilliant review of your stay at The gibson Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the service you experienced was outstanding. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be in a convenient location for you.

I will be sure to pass on your thanks to all of the team here and I look forward to welcoming you back to The gibson Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for just one night to meet friends. Hotel is modern, clean and rooms are spacious and nicely done.

A short hop into the centre of dublin (tram right outside), just about walk-able too.

Staff all friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was ok, although some of the ingredients (sausages) were pretty low quality. Didnt eat in the restaurant so cant comment on that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear edwowen,

I am delighted you chose to stay with us here at the gibson hotel when meeting friends and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. I am glad you found the modern, clean and spacious rooms all to your satisfaction.

I am happy that you found all the staff to be welcoming and friendly however I am disappointed to read that your experience at breakfast wasn't to the highest of standards we aim for here. I have shared your review and feedback with all the team here and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I just recently stayed overnight in this hotel. The staff are very pleasant and willing to help with anything. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Also the fact that it is right on the Luas line makes it easy to get to the city centre. Overall really nice stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Paul Q,

Thank you for taking the time to your experience of the gibson hotel on tripadvisor. We take great pride in our tripadvisor status and are very thankful to anyone that takes their time to leave their comments.

I am delighted to read that your overnight stay was an enjoyable one and that you found the location of the hotel to be convenient because of the Luas stop on our doorstep. I have shared your review with all the team here and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Just checked out from a one-night stay at The Gibson, and have to say that my partner and I were very impressed! Initially I was doubtful of it's location, expecting to feel isolated from the city due to being beside the port, but with the Luas stopping right outside the door, it took us about 10 minutes to get to the concert we were attending at The Academy.

The welcome at check-in took me completely by surprise. Sure there was the usual scripted routine that everyone hears, but then came a handshake; it was the most human connection I've ever had checking into a hotel, and something that makes The Gibson stand out from the chain hotels.

The room with an interior courtyard felt like I had got the best room in the house (although this was just a very clever design element). The sliding door and louvre was also a nice touch. We did not eat in the hotel, but the bar is beautiful.

There was a minor issue with the shower leaking all over the bathroom, but that is the consequence of a dodgy door seal and not a service or quality problem and it was handled very well at check out.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel and I will be looking for an excuse to return in the next week or two.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishTravelGuy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear IrishTravelGuy28,

I am delighted you and your partner chose to stay with us here at the gibson hotel and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. I am happy you were impressed with your check-in, it is the little things such as handshakes, or bloom in your room along with the Luas stopping just outside the hotel that sets the gibson hotel apart from other hotels.

I have shared your lovely review with all the team here and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,443 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,366 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing