We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel for an Excellent Price in the City Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel for an Excellent Price in the City Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a lovely, modern hotel in the Docklands and at the end of the Luas line. Easy to get to/from and 5 mins. from O'Connell St. Hotel is modern and has a trendy decor. Loved the rooms, loved the bar and the Asian inspired menu is EXCELLENT! Didn't feel the need to venture out for food or drinks. I would stay here again next time we are in Dublin!

Room Tip: not sure if there is a pool or spa? Lovely view of the Wicklow mountains from the balcony of our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Nancy W,

Many thanks for posting a review about your stay at the gibson.

I was delighted to read that you found the accommodation, decor and location to your liking and also that you enjoyed your dining experience in Hemi Bar.

Hopefully on your next visit you will have time to use our Relaxation Room which contains sauna, steam room and Japanese copper baths which you'll find on the 6th floor with some beautiful views. We also have a gym which is open 24 hours.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the gibson and thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,862
    1,181
    277
    89
    51
See reviews for
572
1,997
145
645
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had a lovely weekend staying at the Gibson Hotel in Dublin.

The Gibson is located at The Point in the Docklands, which is a 10 minute tram journey from the centre of Dublin. A modern and spacious hotel with lots of natural light from the large open garden spaces. The large rooms are full of amenities including a huge walk in shower with little touches such as a welcome guide that goes through all of the questions that you may have. Very well designed.

The one thing that the Gibson hotel excels at is the overall service - we were both particularly impressed by the front desk. We needed to post a package and this was no issue for them, spa information was swift and attentive and taxis were booked in the blink of an eye.

The only very minor gripes that we had were:
- the pillows were a little uncomfortable for us
- no vase for the complimentary flower, so we had to watch it wilt or use a water glass in the room.
- it was a bit of a task trying to get tea/coffee at breakfast before you'd finished your food. Would advise asking guests if they wanted drinks as they were seated.

Certainly nothing to deter a visitor!

Visitors should also be aware that there is an ODEON cinema underneath the hotel so if you're stuck on a rainy day you can go there.

Thank you very much Gibson team for such a pleasant stay, we will definitely be booking with you next time we visit Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Nia J,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the gibson and give us your valuable feedback.

I was sorry to read that there were a few issues that prevented your stay from being perfect. I have highlighted the issues you experienced at breakfast with the Restaurant Manager who is working with the team to improve on this service problem.

I'm was so glad to read that you were particularly impressed with our Reception Team, I have passed on your kind comments and flagged your review with their manager also.

It was our pleasure to have you stay and I sincerely hope that your next visit will be sooner rather than later.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmacthomas, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Gibson recently for the first time.I had tickets for a concert in the O2 and this was the ideal hotel to stay in.We were checked in very quickly.Our room was bright and cheerful.Although the view is not the best I didn't expect nice scenery given the location.We didn't have dinner in the hotel but had breakfast which adequate and the staff were efficient and friendly.I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who needed to stay in Dublin and planned on going to the O2

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JacqDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear JacqDee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, we always appreciate feedback so we can continually work on improving our services.

I was delighted to read that you found our location suitable and that the staff were friendly and efficient during your stay.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the gibson again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Advantages:
- first stop on bus 747 route - only 15 minutes or so from the airport.
- modern hotel, with spacious rooms, in a developing area (Dublin port). Approx. 10 minute tram ride from the city center.
- nice little touches: flowers to take to your room, very friendly staff, books to read throughout the hotel, poetry notes on the mirror.
- free, fast, and actually working! WiFi.

Why not 5 stars?
The work area desk seems too tall for the (not adjustable) chair next to it and the phone can't be placed next to it (it's by the bed, and the cord is too short). Also phone has no speaker or mute button - i.e. difficult for extended business conversations.

Overall, very positive first impression of Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Stefanek,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found all the little touches around the hotel to your satisfaction. It is these little touches such as quirky notes and excellent guest service that makes the gibson hotel one of the best in Dublin.

My apologies the work desk was taller than the chair, perhaps on your next visit we will be able to put an adjustable chair in your room. I have shared your kind words with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Yes never been said before but yes PERFECT.
i booked this hotel because it was near the port as i had an early ferry to catch , what a shame i could not have stayed longer, from the moment i arrived the staff were first class, what a nice change to find staff who actually enjoy there job !!! as hosts perfect as efficient team members first class, i had traveled by large van & they even arranged parking in the loading bay for me , Im not easily impressed so my comments here are honest Well done Mr or Mrs Manager you are doing a great job

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear BernieH888,

I am delighted to read that your Stay with us was PERFECT and thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the gibson hotel on tripadvisor. All the team here always try and go the extra mile for all our guests and I am extremely happy that your stay didn't disappoint. I have shared your lovely review with all the team here and we hope next time you will be able to spend more than a night in the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night as it was close to Grand Canal theatre. We travelled from Drogheda so used the Port Tunnel which spits you out right at the hotel, then parked in O2 car park .Overnight rate until 12pm is €14.
Receptionist very welcoming and efficient. The room was clean and modern ,some might say sterile as was the bathroom so all good then. The Luas is right outside the hotel so accessing the city is easy. On our return we tried the bar for a nightcap which was surprisingly busy but service was ok.
Next morning we had a very leisurely breakfast with Sunday papers , bliss.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarFon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear GarFon,

I am delighted you and your wife chose to stay with us when attending a show at the Bord Gais theatre and I want to thank you for taking the time to post your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. I am happy that you found reception to be welcoming and efficient as well as the clean and modern room and bathroom.

All the team here work extremely hard to ensure that every guests experience the highest service possible during their stay and I am happy that you were able to enjoy this service. I have shared your kind words with all the team here and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

12th April 2014.
It's nice to stay at a hotel, that does what it says on it's advertising.
Right opposite the O2.
Good check in. Whilst waiting a member of staff said he would hurry things up and got us booked.
Said he knew our area,as he was from Tottenham, mind you we are about 30 miles away..Anyway,a special mention for him.
Rooms very modern, outlook not good, but not a massive problem
The Lewis tram right outside going into town. For 7 euro get a taxi.
The bar was really busy at night but for the staff it seemed no problem

If we go to a gig in Dublin again this is the place for us.
Try Harry's Bar, not sure if it's part of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tthefourthcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear tthefourthcord,

Thank you for this brilliant review of your stay at The gibson Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the service you experienced was outstanding. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be in a convenient location for you.

I will be sure to pass on your thanks to all of the team here and I look forward to welcoming you back to The gibson Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,844 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,651 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing