We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but...”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good but...”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend were in Dublin for our spring vacation. Dublin was our first stop and The Gibson Hotel our house for three days. In those three days everything was great: breakfast, room, hotel staff (everyone was really nice and friendly). The hotel is pretty new and with really beautiful room, big enough, with all comforts. They are really precise on restaurant schedule: if you arrive three or five minutes before the closing hour you can be sure that you're not going to have your breakfast. So be on time.
The location is perfect: in front of it there is a Luas stop and you can take a tram to city center (about ten minutes) every 8 minutes. If you pay attention on environment and pollution they are really well organized about reduce our footprints.
But this is the nice part.
At the end of our journey we spent another night here and it was the opposite experience of the previous one. good points for this second stay: nice staff and the hotel building. We have reserved our room months in advance and we had a connecting room with a wood door closed. We had a very early flight (6 a.m.) and we cannot sleep at all. Our "roommate" watched tv with a very loud volume until 2.45 a.m. Last point: I was a little bit sick that night so we decided to stay in our room trying to chill out before our trip. Bad idea: we waited more than one hour for room service and when they arrived they had forgotten our water. So no sleep+eating late+alarm clock at 4 a.m.... You know what I mean. I'd like to stay another time at Gibson hotel to understand which one is the real soul of this beautiful design hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear charlotte b,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that your earlier stay was enjoyable and that you found all the staff to be friendly and nice.

I am disappointed however that your return visit wasn't as memorable as your earlier one. my apologies the room next to your had their TV on during the night and also for the delay in your room service order.

I will be discussing these issues with the team and hopefully on your next visit you will enjoy the stay as much as your first one.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,952
    1,255
    297
    90
    56
See reviews for
599
2,078
151
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was my first time at Dublin. When I asked one, they gave me two. The staffs at reception and breakfast were exceptionally responsive and amazingly helpful. The hotel was located about ten minutes' reach by Luas from the hassle of the city centre. Room was very clean but was lack of a bath tub and outward view (patio view was also good and cozy!). My child loved jelly beans at the reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keunoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Keunoh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the gibson.

I was glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay, especially the jelly-beans! I have made the Restaurant and Front of House Managers aware of your kind comments regarding the helpful friendly staff you encountered during your stay.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back to the gibson soon, if so please do not hesitate to request a room with a bath for your next stay.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Gibson for a couple of nights when on a city break in Dublin.

Location wise the hotel was fine, the airport shuttle stops on it's doorstep, and the trams going into the centre of town also stop right outside (two euros and about a five minute journey), fair walk from the centre once the trams stop running, but we managed to get a taxi back for under ten euros.

The room was spacious and very clean and comfortable, the fresh bottle of water each day is also a nice touch. The bathroom was lovely as well, nice walk in shower.

Staff were pleasant enough but I found it all a bit clinical, the reception wasn't overly welcoming, and it felt a bit like wandering into an office after the long journey up three escalators.

I would recommend it though, was nice not to be smack bang in the centre and I couldn't really fault the room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula_8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Paula_8181,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay in the gibson hotel. Your feedback is very important to our continuous development as it highlights the areas where we are performing well, and more importantly, areas which may require some improvement.

I was sorry to read that you felt our Recepetion area was unwelcoming, I have made the Front of House Manager aware of your experience at reception and we will work on making the area more welcoming to our guests- we are currently working on some touches to improve this.

I was however delighted to see that you found the staff friendly during your stay, that the cleanliness and spaciousness of your room was to your liking and that our location was convenient for your trip.

I hope that I will have the chance to welcome you back to the gibson in the the near future.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A hotel with a sense of humour, style and charm. This new hotel is right opposite the O2 Arena in Dublin's Port district which at present is being revitalised but there's not much life here at the moment although the main town is 25 minutes' walk away. The building is fun, (first test is finding the reception which is on the third floor), I loved the life like sculpture of the Lamb reading the paper about the wool price. The rooms are generously proportioned, modern and with good facilities including free wifi. As its almost a desert outside, there are two places to eat within the hotel, the brassiere and the restaurant. The brasserie was very good with an attractive range of food, including Singapore and Asian noodles which were excellent. The only downside was the bar that served the most expensive ginger ale - which worked out at just under Euro 12 a pint. Next time I'll stick to beer. Despite that, I would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Sarah C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review, we appreciate all feedback that from our guests.

Unfortunately there isn't a lot in the area for now, however, the next time you visit please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Relations Team about the Luas service that stops right outside the hotel- this will bring you right into the city center in just 10 minutes.

I was so glad to read that you had fun during your stay, our sheep and pigs at reception do tend to get a lot of attention from our guests. I was also delighted to see that your enjoyed your dining experience and that the menu was to your taste.

Hopefully we have the chance to welcome you back to the gibson again soon.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here recently along with friends. All I can say is well done to the Gibson staff and hotel. Wonderful establishment and lovely bedrooms. Breakfast was also top notch. Taxi in to temple bar was 9 euro so perfect to go out but yet not be in the hustle and bustle when you want to relax. Thanks

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Owen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Owen H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay in the gibson.

I was so glad to read that you and your party enjoyed your stay and that the team delivered a great level of service. I'm delighted you enjoyed breakfast and that you found our location suitable for your visit to Dublin.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from a long vacation ending with 4 days in Dublin. The hotel is modern and quite lovely, however, we were taken aback when we first saw the area it was in. An industrial area, with some unsightly structures and muddy land, However, I would definitely stay there again as the room was great, beds comfortable, bathroom modern with a phenomenal shower, great service and the tram and airport bus right outside the hotel.

Po at the front desk checked us in and was very helpful during our stay. He even carried our luggage out to the bus stop for us.

We had lunch is the beautiful bar area that was great. Best fish and chips I have ever had.

I found everyone to be more than helpful and courteous.

The tram was right outside the door and it was the ending spot of the red line. Runs every 15 minutes. Easy trip to downtown Dublin. About 10 minutes. A great bargain for the dollar.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the vacant lot and it was very quiet. No view but for sleep great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear lincat60,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay in the gibson hotel.

There are some areas around the hotel that aren't as pretty as others but I have to say the view over the port fro, our terrace is one of my favorites in Dublin. We now also have a beautiful original work of art, painted by our artist in residence, Fin Dac, which has completely changed the look of the vacant lot beside us, you can see some pictures of this on our Facebook page.

I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and that Po in particular stood out . I have made his manager aware of your lovely comments and Po was delighted to have been of assistance during your stay.

Hopefully I will have the chance to welcome you back to the gibson again soon.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a lovely, modern hotel in the Docklands and at the end of the Luas line. Easy to get to/from and 5 mins. from O'Connell St. Hotel is modern and has a trendy decor. Loved the rooms, loved the bar and the Asian inspired menu is EXCELLENT! Didn't feel the need to venture out for food or drinks. I would stay here again next time we are in Dublin!

Room Tip: not sure if there is a pool or spa? Lovely view of the Wicklow mountains from the balcony of our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Nancy W,

Many thanks for posting a review about your stay at the gibson.

I was delighted to read that you found the accommodation, decor and location to your liking and also that you enjoyed your dining experience in Hemi Bar.

Hopefully on your next visit you will have time to use our Relaxation Room which contains sauna, steam room and Japanese copper baths which you'll find on the 6th floor with some beautiful views. We also have a gym which is open 24 hours.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the gibson and thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,224 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,493 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing