We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel, great location for the city and convention centre.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel, great location for the city and convention centre.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I used this hotel for a stay close to the convention centre and was impressed with the quality of the rooms, the helpful and friendly staff and convenient location. The location is 10 mins walk to the convention centre and with other parts of the city readily accessible. The room I was given was quiet, clean and modern, with plenty of plugs for device charging and a good wifi signal. The bathroom was fitted to a high standard with a rain shower type shower. The room had a large safe deposit box. I ate from the bar menu and this was good, although it would have been nice to be able to choose from the sandwich menu in the evening and not just have this restricted to lunch. Breakfast was buffet style, with plenty of choice. One overal observation was that in many areas, the hotel seemed to have selected slightly higher quality options (be it food choices, room fittings, etc) and this resulted in a higher enjoyment of the stay and was discernible. In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel and choose it again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear James N,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay with us. I am really pleased to know that your stay with us was a good one and I will make sure that all of the team get to see your great feedback.
I Look forward to welcoming you back should you return to Dublin.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,862
    1,181
    277
    89
    51
See reviews for
572
1,997
145
645
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here for a few nights last week and was sad I had to leave. The hotel itself is very modern and comfortable. Great beds and WONDERFUL shower! The staff at the front desks were very helpful and pleasant. The location was perfect for us, it was very quiet being outside of the bustle of the city but close enough to walk into if you're up for it. We walked along the river a couple times to city centre and took the luas back. It was very convenient. Food in both dining areas were really good, only minor complaint is that we never knew who was waiting on us. Staff just seemed to wonder around until you flagged someone down. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and I hope I have the pleasure of staying at "The Gibo" (as our taxi driver called it) again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Jennifer N,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to the Gibo again.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The Gibson is a modern, well maintained and chic hotel experience. My room was large and nicely decorated, overlooking an internal courtyard so was very quiet. Wifi was fast and free and they gym, although small has plenty of cardio machines. Breakfast was buffet style with a large selection of choices for all.

Although the hotel is away from the main tourist spots, the luas (tram) runs from right outside the door.

I will visit again. Thank you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank wfi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear wfi30,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind words following your recent stay with us at The gibson Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service that we offer. I have shared your feedback with the team.

Please do come back and see us soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
510 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We picked the Gibson hotel simply form the internet and found that it was a terrific choice. Its outlook is modernistic and the rooms are clean and cozy with ours having doors that opens to a courtyard with green plants. It is only a short drive from the airport (we rented a car) and there seemed to be ample underground parking. While it is off the Dublin city centre, it is only a short ride along and across the river to reach the heart of town and all the attractions like Saint Patrick's and Christ Church Cathedral, Trinity College and Dublin Castle . It is also a convenient point to navigate to other places of interest like the Glendalough in Wicklow and Bru Na Boinne in County Mead and we stayed four nights and covered all the above with day trips in our rented vehicle. The Hotel's Hemi bar offered a good selection of food many with Asian flavour and we were impressed by what the chefs turned out. Breakfast selection was also reasonable. We will definitely opt for this hotel again if we ever come this way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Ricky Y,

I am happy you chose the gibson as your base when sightseeing around Dublin and Ireland and I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. I am happy that you found the location of the hotel to your convenience.

The gibson hotel is easily accessible by the Luas as well as the buses to and from the airport which is ideal for all our guests. I am happy you were impressed with the hemi bar Asian themed menu and also found the breakfast selection all to your satisfaction.

I have shared your kind words with all the team here and if you are coming back this way again I hope the gibson will be your first stop.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Located in the Point Village area next to O2, handy for concerts and events or a stroll along the river for a morning/evening coffee. Away from the bustle of the city centre but with a tram stop out front for easy, quick access (or a 10/15 minute walk) as well as the airport bus drop off point.
Our room was on the Reception Level 3, opened onto a courtyard and was spacious and functional. WiFi worked well for emails, blogs and browsing on the iPhone. We were at the end of a month long trip from Australia and glad of the chance to relax a bit.
We ate in both the Hemi Bar and Coda Eatery and experienced excellent service in the Hemi Bar with added tourism tips and are now educated about Guiness!
Definitely come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wokabaut_meri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear wokabaut_meri,

I am delighted to read you chose the gibson hotel as your last stop on your trip and I am happy that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. Your review has given us all a huge boost as our ultimate aim is to ensure guests satisfaction throughout their entire stay.

I hope it isn't long until we welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Arrived to Gibson hotel at 2am sunday morning after 16 hours flight from Asia. Booked Gibson hotel about 5 days in advance agoda.com web.
And they told me that they dont have rooms left.
How i should feel 2 am in a morning after 16h on a planes that u need to go next hotel?
They booked Spencers hotel 5 min away from Gibson.
Next day when i cheak in Gibson i found bottle cheap wine in a room.
Worst experience in mine life time around world with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giedre u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

You know when you're not familiar with a hotel name and just expect a regular hotel experience, but you're then really blown away with lots of great little aspects of a hotel stay? That summarises my stay at The Gibson for me.

Access to this hotel from the airport is fantastic. I was told by my colleague to "take the bus" from the airport and I was expecting a gruelling bus / walk / stumble journey from Dublin airport to the hotel. Not the case at all ! The bus service is only 10€ return trip and it stops directly across the road from the hotel (the O2 arena stop). Super convenient, super affordable.

I really like the public space in the hotel. We held a seminar and the meetings facilities were excellent and very well managed. My only tip is to make sure you allow PLENTY of time to check the data projector as it's located in the ceiling and you need a huge ladder (or cherry picker) to reach or adjust the lens.

Back to the public space. Fantastically fast and reliable wifi (perhaps being located so close to O2 helps?) meant that I could work in a very comfortable environment, very productively.

The lobby menu was an Asian fusion, which I wasn't expecting but again, I was pleasantly surprised. The accommodation rooms are spacious and well designed, nothing to fault there.

Food tip: the soft shell crab and shrimp salad was deliciously complemented by the Stonewell cider (photos below).

Any bad marks? Just one. They ran out of a lovely craft cider (Stonewell Medium Dry Irish Craft Cider) but that means I'll have a good reason to stay at the Gibson next time I'm in Dublin.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor mean you can get to your room easily without waiting for a lift / elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Emufi,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Dublin and for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that you were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, the service and all the facilities.

I agree that the hotel is in a great location easily accessible by bus from the airport and a short Luas ride into town. I am happy to read that you made good use of the hi-speed Wi-Fi during your stay.

I have shared your lovely words with all the team here and we look forward to your next visit and perhaps we will have a few more of the Stonewell cider for you.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,348 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing