We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel !!!!!!”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab hotel !!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed with my 11year old daughter, staff very very friendly and accommodating to her needs.
View from the balcony is perfect to see concert goers arrive .room service was delivered on time & hoy . Had a wonderful experience here will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinekeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear catherinekeenan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with your daughter.

I am so glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that we will see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,929
    1,245
    296
    90
    56
See reviews for
595
2,059
150
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

What a nice surprise to find the tram to downtown Dublin right outside our door! The small vase with flowers offered in the lobby added a nice touch to our lovely room. The staff was efficient and helpful. We ate in the bar and enjoyed the delicious choices from the Asian menu. A great place to unwind and relax after a busy day in the city. We recommend the Gibson to anyone staying in Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Wayne M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in the gibson.

I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. I was especially glad to see that the staff were friendly and efficient and you liked the flowers to take to your room.

Hopefully you will be able to return to the gibson again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The staff are effortlessly friendly, the service was next to none. The hotel itself was spotless. The prices is excellent for what you get and the transport is ideal. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone staying in Dublin

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabrinaAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear SabrinaAJ,

Thank you so much for taking some time to write a review about your stay in the gibson hotel.

I was so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay so much, especially that the team were so friendly and that you found the transport links so convenient.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the gibson in the future.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The day we booked Bob Dylan tickets we booked to stay the night in the Gibson - first time here. What a lovely building from the outside, parking right at the back in a Multi-storey car park- €14 per night.- not bad for Dublin.

Hotel itself is quirky - bright, modern and Eco oriented. Reception staff lovely. Bedroom spacious, simply but stylishly furnished, bed very comfortable and nice large bathroom.

We had some Bar food. Served by lovely waiters. Yep it was a bit pricy, we were joined by our daughter - bill came to €130 approximately - did include a bottle of wine. Food was delicious with the exception Of the Green Thai Curry which looked very very oily with the chicken obviously having been picked from the bones. I didn't say anything as we were on a rare night out.

Now, my 2 niggles - you can't turn down the TV in the room past volume 5. I found this to be very loud in a lot of the stations and it was very loud in the bathroom. Niggle no 2 - we came back after the concert, my other half got me a G&T (I requested a Bombay Sapphire) and we sat out on the bar balcony admiring the view. I honestly couldn't taste the gin so I went up to the bar and told them. He said I had obviously put in too much tonic. I always use the full bottle with a measure of Bombay and enjoy it. I told him I wasn't happy and he turned to one of the supervisors also serving who just took up the glass, threw the contents down the sink, didn't look at me and said get her a new one. I wasn't very impressed with him. The second G&T wasn't any better with less tonic - I didn't even drink it!

Breakfast is a self serviced one. Lots of choice. Loved the fresh fruit. Only niggle here is the way the bacon was cooked - I hate it when they're all stuck together and not cooked properly.


Overall a really lovely hotel with lovely little areas to explore. Great location if you are going to the O2.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tamcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Tamcf,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the gibson hotel. I trust that you had a good night at the Bob Dylan concert.

I was so sorry to read that your food and beverage experiences were so disappointing. I have flagged your review with our Food and Beverage Manager so he can work on the issues you mentioned with the team.

I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay at the gibson and hopefully we will have the opportunity to show you a better experience on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Whilst in Dublin for a concert decided to eat in Gibson Hotel as it was right beside O2.
Booked on line for a table in the bar area serving Asian style food only to find on arrival that the booking was for the restaurant. What a disappointment.
Menu was poor, poor selection & over priced. €18 for a small tasteless burger accompanied by a small mug of chips. Wife's vegetarian pasta was tasteless & not the pasta described on the menu.
Lovely vibe in hotel & waiting staff friendly but food poor quality & overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan-robinson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear alan-robinson12,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in the gibson hotel. Feedback like yours is vital to our continuous improvement as it shows us what we are doin doing well and most importantly, where we need to improve.

I have highlighted your review with our Food and Beverage Mananger and the Head Chef who will be working closely with their teams to improve on the experience that you had. We do not take reservations in the bar, which serves the Asian menu however reservations are taken for Coda Eatery and I have made our marketing team aware of your experience to see it we can make this information clearer.

I am so glad however that you enjoyed the atmosphere and that you found the team in Coda friendly.

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again to the gibson again in the future.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at the Gibson hotel during a company seminar in Dublin and loved my time there.

The hotel is really modern and beautifully designed. Rooms are big and hotel service is really good.

Don´t come to this hotel if you are planning to visit the city center. It is great for any business related trip, as most of the companies are very nearby, but it is a bit far from the most touristic attractions.

There is a tram literally in front of the hotel that makes everything really easy.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cotermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Cotermin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you thought the service here was really good.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back to the gibson soon.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at the Gibson for two nights at the start of June, easy to locate, secure parking underground at a relatively reasonable price for a city.

Location is quite good, just out of town so nice and quiet but within metres of the O2 and on the Luas so easy access into the centre for a reasonable cost.

The key to this hotel is with the staff, from the moment we walked in to when we left we found the staff to be exceptional in their customer service.

The room was of a nice size, clean and comfortable although the trek to the room was quite extensive and confusing initially and could have done with a few more towels (this was rectified within minutes of making the request at reception, another example of exceptional service).

Excellent breakfast with a good selection of food.

We enjoyed the stay here and would definitely return, fantastic hotel run by fantastic people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Whiskeywalker,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in the gibson.

It's great that you found us so easily and that your room was comfortable. I have noted on your booking profile that we should try to allocated your room closer to the lifts in future.

I am so glad to see that you felt the gibson team delivered exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,505 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,436 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing