We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gibson Hotel: Fantastic”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #24 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed at this modern, stylish hotel on a group tour. The Gibson is slightly out of the way in the Docklands area of Dublin. I think that works in its favor as its a fairly quiet location (unless there's a concert at the O2 across the street). The tram stops right outside the hotel and its a quick, easy and efficient way to get to downtown Dublin - inexpensive too. The decor is splashy and the reception area is on the 3rd floor, a decidedly different idea. there's a wonderful outdoor terrace at the third floor level you can have food or cocktails on. The room and the hotel itself were clean and slick. I think you would enjoy staying here. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Peggy M,

I am delighted to read that your recent group tour staying at the gibson hotel was and enjoyable one and I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community. All the are avid followers of tripadvisor and I am sure they will be delighted to read your kind words.

I hope we will see you back here again soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,613 - 2,619 of 4,852 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I chose this hotel because it was really close to Dublin Ferry Port and I had an early ferry to catch on the way back. When we arrived the Eagles were playing at the O2 and the car park was full, but when I mentioned I was booked into the Gibson they managed to squeeze us in. The Gibson has its own section in the car park. We kept the car in there and paid 14 euros a day which sounds a lot but we needed somewhere secure for the car and we were going to explore Dublin by tram which was very conveniently situated right outside the hotel. We could see from the hotel lift if there was a tram waiting. Breakfast was excellent, didn't use many other facilities, tended to eat out. Staff were very helpful. On the theme of the Eagles - Hotel California was playing as we left the car park..... and they did let us leave!

Room Tip: Car park lift only goes up to level 3 (reception). If on level 4 or above you'll have to take 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just stayed at the Gibson (july) and felt compelled to write a review. Everything about this hotel was fantastic. My wife and I were so impressed. Room, staff, food were all excellent. Carparking was very convenient, checkin was quick and lady made us feel very welcome. Everything about the hotel is very trendy. Although a little out of the city centre (10min walk) the tram stops right outside front of hotel and leaves every 10mins. Breakfast was lovely and we also had dinner in the Coda restaurant which was fantastic. In a nutshell we could not fault this hotel or our stay in it, we will certainly be back and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Dublin if they want a trendy hotel with a bit of class.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesX29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear JamesX29,

I am delighted you and your wife chose to stay with us here at the gibson hotel and I want to thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. It is fantastic to read such positive words about the hotel and the team that delivers it. On behalf of everyone here thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights on March 2014. We've enjoyed our time at The Gibson: the bedroom was well equipped, nice bed, an inner "yard" to grab some fresh air or enjoy a smoke; it was really clean. We hadn't had the chance to eat at the hotel, we preferred to dine outside, but the menu looked good. The receptionist (Steve was his name, I think) helped us choosing a restaurant and a pub for our last night there, a really nice choice; also, the environment is absolutely hilarious, as you might encounter some (fake) sheeps reading a newspaper or the reception welcoming you with a jar filled with sweet beans and bon-bons; great modern-art hotel. The location is great: the Luas (tramway) begins at the very entrance of the hotel and you can be at the city centre in just 10 minutes, that was a huge highlight. It's located in front of the O2 Stadium for those who like sports or music shows. The only downside would be the cost for the night, but since Dublin is so much expensive than other cities, I think it was fair enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LahmF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Be aware of rooms with different views at the hotel. Some rooms have ugly views. We were lucky thanks to our homework. ;-) We were puzzled with a lack of wine bottle in the guest room because we booked a room that included a wine bottle for our romantic night. We ended up with a whip cake instead of a wine bottle. :-( Obviously, the hotel preferred us to skip a romantic night at their hotel. There was one disappointment. We did not have a chance to have a breakfast at their hotel since they did not invite us or did not offer it to us. Anyway, the room was lovely and quiet. The hotel is in a good location for convenience in order to access directly from/to an international airport. The hotel is not far away from the airport so we took express taxi at midnight since bus service was shut down after 11pm. We did choose the hotel because of the direct access from/to airport (bus T1 OR T2 or Airlink bus), curiosity about the new location, and artsy style of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BizVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The even brought me champagne when they found out I was getting ready for my wedding. They made sure they I had everything I needed. Our room was bigger than we expected. I had family stay at other hotels and there rooms were nearly as big as ours. The food wasn't bad but we only had breakfast two of the 3 mornings. I wish it was a little more centralized location but there is a tram right outside the hotel. If you have a car it is easy to get to. We even walked to a few places (the weather was beautiful). I would definitely recommend staying here if you want a bigger room, little more privacy than city center, and for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Christina C,

I am delighted you chose to stay with us on your big occasion and extremely happy that your stay was an enjoyable one. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. I know all the team here work extremely hard to deliver the best service possible and I am happy that you and your family expereinced this.

I have shared your kind words with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here with our two daughters (2&4) before catching an early boat from Dublin port. Location is brilliant for that purpose, and it's really easy to find.
The hotel is surrounded by empty blocks, which didn't bother us as it meant that it was relatively quiet.
The lady at reception was cold and unfriendly, and did not explain that they took full payment at check in - no problem, but would have been nice to be informed that this is what she was doing!
The rooms were very clean, bathrooms fine, but it was all a bit grey! Not an awful lot of character, but perfect for what we needed it for. Not a place for a romantic break for two! We had booked interconnecting rooms that were still locked when we arrived, but a lovely cleaner quickly sorted it out for me.
We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed for a private function, which was not made obvious to us at booking, but the bar was serving food. The hotel does not appear to have many younger children as guests, staff sort of ignored the children. Kids menu was ok, difficult for them to eat at low tables and sofas, and loud football match playing in the rest of the bar. Breakfast was woeful! Porridge that tasted of....I'm not actually sure, but it was disgusting, and I'm a massive porridge fan! The range of brekkie looked impressive, but the quality was very poor, and nothing for children. Breakfast was served in the main restaurant, and again, the staff at breakfast were obviously not used to children being there.
I would stay again, but only if i needed to for catching an early ferry. All in all, ok.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Roisin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Roisin C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community. I am happy to read that you found the location of the hotel to your satisfaction however I am extremely disappointed to read that you found the reception staff to be unfriendly, I have brought this up with the front office manager am sure she will be working closely with all the team to deliver excellent service.

I do hope you will see the improvement in service when you visit us again.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,706 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 152 in Dublin
2,662 reviews
1 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 152 in Dublin
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £90 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing