We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and ideal for O2”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #22 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
cork, ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great hotel and ideal for O2”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed here for the iron maiden concert. It is a lovely hotel with friendly no hassel staff at the reception. The rooms are very spacious and the bathroom is massive with a walk in shower. The only problem we had was that the drain for the shower filled up too quickly and nearly went out the bathroom door. I said this to front desk and they were on it straight away. The O2 is only a few seconds walk from the hotel and the luas stops right outside the door of the hotel. which is only approx 10 min ride to O Connell street. We will Definitely be staying here again sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Dear Jennandpete,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I have passed your comments on to the team. I was sorry to note that you had a problem with your shower but delighted that it was resolved imediately by our Front Desk team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel in the future. If you require any assistance in planning your next trip do not hesitate to contact me on dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,904
    1,229
    291
    89
    54
See reviews for
590
2,042
148
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed at the Gibson after the Cirque du Soleil show in the 02. (which is across from the hotel). What a delight to see such a great hotel opening close to the 02. This hotel is world class, like something you'd expect to see in New York or LA. The balcony has a great view of the square, the bar is open and spacious and rooms were perfect. We paid around €200 for 2 incl dinner and really couldnt have been happier. This hotel will become a landmark in Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Dear Helgg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for your kind comments, which I will pass on to the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Gibson in the future. If you are visiting Dublin again please contact me personally to arrange your reservation at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel in early July with my partner and two friends. We had requested ajoining rooms a twin and double room which we were allocated on our arrival. Rooms are large, bright and airy. The only complaint I had was that the double room was infact two single beds joined together (ziplock) which is a personal hate of mine! As we were staying only one night I didnt ask about a room change as I would of preferred a double/king bed as requested! Also no tea or coffee making facilities were available in the room but there was comlimentary tea/coffee at the residents bar. Unfortunatley the two times I went to have tea, there was no hot water in the burners and I had to request this at the bar on both occasions as the area seemed to be forgotton about. Also on arrival there were many construction workers working at the hotel as it is only just open. I did find this a little off putting. The staff were extremely friendly and I do have high hopes for this hotel after all teething problems have been addressed. I will be back again and have actually booked a stay again in September. I do hope all is well on my return!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Dear Alphakk,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and thank you also for your feedback. Unfortunately, as you pointed out, we are unable, as of yet, to offer our guests tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms. We do, however, have top of the range expresso machines ordered for each of the bedrooms. In the meantime we offer all our guests complimentary Tea & Coffee in our bar areas throughout their stay. I do apologise for the fact that there was no water in the burner when you required it, I have passed on your comments to our F & B Manager who will ensure this doesn't happen again. We were delighted to note your comments on the attitude of our staff and have passed on your comments to our Team Members. We look forward to welcoming you back in September, please contact me personally on dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie and I will ensure you receive a room with a King Size bed as per your personal perference. Thanks again for your feedback.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Just back from an over night in the Gibson Hotel, The Point Village, Dublin.
It is a new hotel just opened in June 2010, it is a lovely hotel. The rooms are top rate, spotless clean. The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The Lucas is just outside the door to bring you to the city centre or if you are going to a concert in the O2 its right on its door step.
All in all we have a lovely time in the Gibson and I will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinedoran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Dear Carolinedoran1

Thank you for your for taking the time to submit your review and for your kind comments which I have passed on to our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel in the future. If I can be of any assistance to you in planning your next visit, do not hesitate to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We were travelling to the 02 for a show and decided to try out the newly opened Gibson which is basically next door to the 02.Had a wonderful stay and if their standards are kept up this will be a popular hotel.
Excellent clean spacious rooms with fresh minimalist decor with nice little touches like underbed lighting.Room has the usual expected features such as in room safe,ironing board,hair dryer, coffee maker soon (irish hotel- kettle would be fine !) work station,wi -fi,plenty of clothes hanging space.The only feaure I missed would be luggage racks.
Nice modern bathroom with wash bowl on granite counter,walk in shower with rain shower & hand held shower.Just a little dissappointed that they only supply the bare minimum towels and toiletries.
The hotel has a nice large bar/restaurant area just off reception which includes many outside seating areas.Bar food was excellent and served quickly even though our server apologised for delays so they obviously have teething problems with service at times.Good choices for breakfast ,self serve full Irish or continental with many options but let themselves down with staff being disorganised with tables left uncleared & hot food serving dishes left unchecked & empty for periods.These can be problems with a new hotel and Im sure these small issues will be sorted.During our stay there appeared to be plenty of suits giving orders rather than direction/training.
The proximity of the hotel to the 02 & the Luas will be the real winner for the Gibson & it made for a very relaxing stay without having any traffic or parking issues.
The hotel will need to get direction signs in place soon as it was quite difficult to find the entrance with all the construction work in progress at the moment.The easiest option is probably to drive directly into the underground car park signposted for the 02 and then take the lift to the hotel reception which is on the third floor of the building.The ground floor of the building appears to be designed for retail outlets but is unused at the moment so it can be a little bit confusing if you walk into the main hotel entrance and not realise that you have to take the glass elevators to the hotel reception on the 3rd floor.
The Gibson is a great addition to Dublin and because of its proximity to the Luas is perfect for a trip to the city and not just for users of the 02 or the docklands.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Dear Zena1,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Gibson. Thank you for your feedback on the bathroom amenities. These amenities are only a temporary measure. A bespoke range of toiletries are currently being produced for us by an Irish company called Voya. Voya are based in Strandhill, Sligo and specialise in hand harvested, organic seaweed products. Voya have won many national and international Spa & Beauty product awards so hopefully you will be able to sample these products on your next stay with us. Thank you also for your comments on breakfast service which I have passed on to the restaurant manager. You will also be delighted to hear that we have extra signage in place since your last visit. Thanks again for your feedback and if you are planning a return trip to dublin please do not hesitate to contact me on dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry City, Northern Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Decided to take a last minute break to Dublin on the bank holiday weekend. Really wanted to treat ourselves so booked a junior suite at the newly opened Gibson and tickets for Cirque du Soleil at the O2. Location of hotel is excellent, yards from the O2 venue and in the heart of the Point Villiage. The village is a relatively new development so all of the attractions are not yet operational, such as the wheel and shopping venue. The look and feel of the hotel is quite modern with lots of nice touches.

Room: Junior Suite was large and spacious but view was disappointing - two balcony's looked onto some warehouses and railway terminal. The room was pristine, as you would expect with a newly opened hotel. The air conditioning was great - although ours did develop a leak around a light fitting and we had to be moved rooms. Unfortunately there were no other suites available however the duty manager was very helpful and found us an executive room with a much better view and large terrace. The room was not as spacious but had everything we needed. The manager was most apologetic for the inconvenience. The staff in general during our stay were friendly and courteous. Nothing appeared to be any bother for them. Good high speed wireless internet available!! Tea / Coffee facilities not yet available but complimentary tea / coffee is available in the reception lounge.

Bar - Food was excellent in bar on the first evening and the second evening we ate later and whilst it was still good, it was not of the same standard. Again the service was good. Dim sum highly recommended (chicken and pork).

Breakfast - Self service buffet style between full irish and continental style. Good choices available.

Access to city centre is via the Luas which is located directly outside the hotel entrance. Will absolutely stay in this hotel again due to its great location and ease of access.

Parking is available underneath the hotel at preferential rates, get parking ticket validated by hotel upon checkout. (14 euros per night)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryFromDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2010
Dear GerryfromDerry,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Its great to see such positive comments from a guest even though you had a few issues with your bedroom. With a new opening there are always going to be a few teething problems in the first few days, but I'm delighted that you were happy with the hotel staff's repsonse to these issues. At the Gibson we take great pride in delivering excellent service to our guests and we do hope to welcome you back in the future. If you should require any assistance in making a reservation on your next visit to Dublin, do not hesitate to contact me personally on dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie and I will look after all your arrangements.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

the gibson hotel enjoys a fantastic location in the very dynamic Point Village development. The hotel is literally two hundred feet from the O2 venue, and has a LUAS (tram) stop right outside the door. The newly opened Avia Stadium is clearly visible from the hotel, and it is only a short trip across the East Link bridge to the stadium.
The design, feel and atmosphere of the gibson hotel is one of sheer coolness. It reminded me of some of those cutting edge type uber-cool hotels you will find in cities like Berlin and Stockholm.
The whole hotel is vast and spacious, and no detail has been overlooked. It seems to be full of panoramic lifts, escaltors and there is even a growing "live wall" which adds a huge splash of greenery.
The bar is super cool. It is called the hemidemisemiquaver. It might sound like a mouthful, but is cleverly both spacious and cosy at the same time. The food menu in the bar is excellent and also good value. I tried the Dim Sum with dipping sauces. Delicious. They also sell wine by the glass or full bottle; great if you are having a chew and a chat! Try a mojito; fresh mint!
They are views everywhere, balconies and glass panels allow light into every part of the building, and there are some very synergentic internal courtyards.
The bedrooms are superb and I had a most refreshing sleep. Breakfast was also delicious and good value.
The staff are very helpful and professional and the hotel has parking available in the underground carpark, which is accessable via a lift which can drop you straight to reception. This hotel will become a "must stay venue", and not just for O2 concert goers! I will definately go back, and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLeprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear LuckyLeprechaun,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; especially how helpful and professional the staff were. It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,373 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing