We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
cork
2 reviews
“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night while attending the Iron Maiden concert in the O2. The hotel is really modern and the bedrooms are fantastic. The only problem we had was with the food. We arrived at the bar around 5pm and took a quick look at the menu, only to find no steak, burgers, chicken (except for thai green curry) on it. Asked waiter about this only to be told that we could only order from this menus even though steak etc could be got through room service. Anyway we opted for barbeque which they were holding from 6pm as when we enquired about eating in restaurant we were told it wasn't opening until September. Lo and behold 5 mins after getting our food from barbeque table alongside us were served with burger and wedges!!!! Thought they were not on menu. Anyway after concert we returned to bar and again asked if it was possible to get some food. Again shown a page with sandwiches/dimsum and told that this was all that was available which we thought ok as it was 11pm. Again our food was served and 2 tables in our view were brought burgers/chips.
Would stay here again if we were going to the O2 for convenience but defintely hope that the food situation improves as it really spoilt our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopper1Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2010
Dear Shopper1Cork,

Thank you for posting your review. It is great to see such positive comments about the hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will investigate your comments about the BBQ and food menu. On the night of the concert we served a BBQ on the terrace for concert goers for their convenience, we were also serving food from our bar menu at the same time. I apologise for the fact that you were refused food from the bar menu and I will pass your comments on to our F & B Manager. Once again, thank you for making us aware of your experience. If you are planning a trip to Dublin in the future please contact me personally at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie to arrange your reservation.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,953
    1,255
    298
    90
    56
See reviews for
600
2,078
151
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Fiancee and I stayed here last week. In short, this hotel is beautiful. It's new, modern, luxurious and comfortable. eg. standard double room is very spacious and has lovely view, flat screen tv, motorised blinds for window, under-bed lighting, huge shower, speaker in bathrooom, and is very stylish. The rest of the hotel, including the bar, dining area etc. is also very modern and chic.
The breakfast buffet is very comprhensive, and the luas public transport tram is directly outside the door of the hotel, making it a very convenient location for exploring dublin city.
All in all, we were very impressed with this hotel and also found it to be great value for the price we paid. We'd highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely look into staying here again on future trips to dublin.
p.s. The hotel is directly beside the O2 arena, but we didn't go to any shows while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank formal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2010
Dear Formal6,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Congratulations on your engagement, we are thrilled you and your Fiancee enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel in the future, if you are returning to Dublin please do not hesitate to contact me personally at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie and I would be delighted to make the arrangements for you.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We arrived at 5.00pm and waited for half an hour in a queue for one of the 3 checkins with only 2 couples in front of us. The receptionist asked for payment even though we previously paid in full through expedia, we were told that the room would be ready in 30-40 minutes so we waited for an hour in the lounge which offered complimentary tea/coffee. on our return to reception which was full of people waiting on their rooms, we were told that the room was still not ready (6.30pm) after insisting that we were given a room so that we could freshen up before the rod stewart concert at the O2 we were given a room with twin beds and not the double ordered. There was no coffee or tea making facilities in the room although there was a letter to say that coffee makers were on order. In short we received nothing but excuses for the shambles,
In fairness the reception staff tried their best when the situation was clearly out of their control, and should not have been put in that position. the fault lies squarely with the management for not ensuring that adequate resources were put in place to cope with full bookings.
On the positive side, the hotel has the potential to be one of the best in Dublin, the rooms are fantastic, modern and comfortable, once the coffee makers are in place even better.
On the negative side there is an impression that the hotel opened before it was ready or that the management seriously under estimated its potential.
Since the check out time is 12.00 over 6 hours to get rooms ready is unacceptable and negates all of the good points

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billmcl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2010
Dear Billmcl61,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I note your comments and can only agree that we were let down by poor organisation. We underestimated how busy we would be so soon after opening. However, we learned alot from the weekend and can guarantee that the issues you experienced will not be repeated. I'm glad you recognised, as we do, the potential of the hotel and that the staff you encountered were friendly and helpful under difficult circumstances. If you are planning a return visit to Dublin please contact me directly at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie to look after your arrangements. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork, ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed here for the iron maiden concert. It is a lovely hotel with friendly no hassel staff at the reception. The rooms are very spacious and the bathroom is massive with a walk in shower. The only problem we had was that the drain for the shower filled up too quickly and nearly went out the bathroom door. I said this to front desk and they were on it straight away. The O2 is only a few seconds walk from the hotel and the luas stops right outside the door of the hotel. which is only approx 10 min ride to O Connell street. We will Definitely be staying here again sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Dear Jennandpete,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I have passed your comments on to the team. I was sorry to note that you had a problem with your shower but delighted that it was resolved imediately by our Front Desk team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel in the future. If you require any assistance in planning your next trip do not hesitate to contact me on dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed at the Gibson after the Cirque du Soleil show in the 02. (which is across from the hotel). What a delight to see such a great hotel opening close to the 02. This hotel is world class, like something you'd expect to see in New York or LA. The balcony has a great view of the square, the bar is open and spacious and rooms were perfect. We paid around €200 for 2 incl dinner and really couldnt have been happier. This hotel will become a landmark in Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Dear Helgg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for your kind comments, which I will pass on to the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Gibson in the future. If you are visiting Dublin again please contact me personally to arrange your reservation at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel in early July with my partner and two friends. We had requested ajoining rooms a twin and double room which we were allocated on our arrival. Rooms are large, bright and airy. The only complaint I had was that the double room was infact two single beds joined together (ziplock) which is a personal hate of mine! As we were staying only one night I didnt ask about a room change as I would of preferred a double/king bed as requested! Also no tea or coffee making facilities were available in the room but there was comlimentary tea/coffee at the residents bar. Unfortunatley the two times I went to have tea, there was no hot water in the burners and I had to request this at the bar on both occasions as the area seemed to be forgotton about. Also on arrival there were many construction workers working at the hotel as it is only just open. I did find this a little off putting. The staff were extremely friendly and I do have high hopes for this hotel after all teething problems have been addressed. I will be back again and have actually booked a stay again in September. I do hope all is well on my return!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Dear Alphakk,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and thank you also for your feedback. Unfortunately, as you pointed out, we are unable, as of yet, to offer our guests tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms. We do, however, have top of the range expresso machines ordered for each of the bedrooms. In the meantime we offer all our guests complimentary Tea & Coffee in our bar areas throughout their stay. I do apologise for the fact that there was no water in the burner when you required it, I have passed on your comments to our F & B Manager who will ensure this doesn't happen again. We were delighted to note your comments on the attitude of our staff and have passed on your comments to our Team Members. We look forward to welcoming you back in September, please contact me personally on dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie and I will ensure you receive a room with a King Size bed as per your personal perference. Thanks again for your feedback.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Just back from an over night in the Gibson Hotel, The Point Village, Dublin.
It is a new hotel just opened in June 2010, it is a lovely hotel. The rooms are top rate, spotless clean. The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The Lucas is just outside the door to bring you to the city centre or if you are going to a concert in the O2 its right on its door step.
All in all we have a lovely time in the Gibson and I will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinedoran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Dear Carolinedoran1

Thank you for your for taking the time to submit your review and for your kind comments which I have passed on to our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel in the future. If I can be of any assistance to you in planning your next visit, do not hesitate to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,224 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,494 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing