We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Horrendous! I'd rather starve (almost did).”
Review of Dakota

Dakota
Ranked #796 of 2,570 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Horrendous! I'd rather starve (almost did).”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

First off, I don't give too many reviews but I do where they are merited. I went here recently with the intention of having lunch with two work colleagues, one of whom recommended Dakota.

First we were there five minutes when the couple at the table next to us got up and left. This was clearly a sign to get out quickly while there was still time. 10 minutes later a member of staff arrived to take our order. I ordered chicken liver pate for starters to be told by our 'friendly' waitress - "We dont have any left" so I ordered something else. Twenty minutes later we were still waiting. After attracting the attention of our waitress we asked if the food would be any longer. She replied "its only been twenty minutes since you ordered. there are other people waiting for food and they are here longer than you" - nice. top class reply. We asked would the food be any longer and the reply we got was "oh. another 5 or 10 minutes". Really? half and hour to get food? I can understand this in a busy place but Dakota is crawling with staff and the place was half empty. At this point we simply left.

Rude staff. I wont even go into the surroundings - except for one word "Hideous".

AVOID, AVOID, AVOID.

My work colleagues judgement abilities are now under scrutiny and I have recommended to my boss that they are transferred to another section without delay!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trotter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    71
    32
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So so...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

It's a nice busy bar with a choice of drinks. However, staff can be overly busy with cocktails and it can get loud.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gemma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Poor Choice”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We called in here for a drink while in the area. Now I am a Guinness man and I feel you drink Guinness from a Guinness Glass, Well it came in a Carlsburg Glass . Surely this is DUBLIN IRELAND and BAR STAFF should be trained to serve it properly as this is the HOME of the stuff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very pleased with return trip to Dakota”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

2nd time here and was once again so impressed with this gorgeous bar & restaurant. Stopped in for drinks on a walkabout and were served by lovely bar person called Angela. Incredible cocktails and beers and lovely friendly and prompt service. Stopped back again later in the day for the duck main course and another couple of drinks and once again felt very welcome and comfortable, staff give the impression that nothing is too much to ask for and are attentive without being overbearing or in your face. Great mix of customers, families and couples and girls about town having cocktails. Our favourite bar in Dublin to date!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuirTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Great food and cocktails 😊”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

A friend of mine had been to Dakota before and recommended that we go there for some food. We decided to have a cocktail with our meal which was amazing and well worth the money. The food was reasonably priced, there is a deal of 2 courses for less than €10 and the options were great! The bruschetta was delicious and the staff were very friendly! Will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank nora289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dakota also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dakota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing