We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Venice

Little Venice
Ranked #318 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Near Dublin Airport, near the Express Hotel and and Crowne Plaza Hotel
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Anniversary Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our fist trip to Dublin, saw Little Venice when I was looking around the area on google maps, booked a table as it would be our wedding Anniversary on the 20th June. person who answered the phone was very helpful.
Arrived on the Thursday and went for our meal on Friday, Staff were very friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for us, we felt very at home. The meal was delicious and we were even tempted into a sweet lol. The price we felt was very reasonable.
We asked if we should book again if we wanted to return on another night and the Lady said " no it's ok I will remember you and fit you in" which they did when we returned on the Sunday.
It's seams a very popular place. My only complaint is that it's not local to me so I could return
Thank you little Venice for two lovely meals and making us feel so at home xxx

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bria17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    62
    14
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Daughters 21st”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We live locally and our daughter was looking for a suitable venue to hold her 21st birthday party.. We looked at number of places around the area and found Little Venice to be suited for what she wanted.. We booked the upstairs room in the restaurant and it was ideal for the 40+ Family & Friends that came along.. We were able to decorate the room however way we wished and arrange the tables & chairs to suit the occasion. We booked our own DJ and we had plenty of room set up for the dance floor.. My daughter was in constant contact with the LV Staff before during & after and found them to be most helpful and obliging on all requests. They had discussed the various options available for the food and how best to serve. On the night of the party 21-Jun-14 again the LV Staff were BRILLIANT.. We had early access that day to set up the room.. The DJ had no problem setting up his records. The one negative was that it was very hot and this was probably more to do with the fact that it was a beautiful summers night. Again the staff made sure that everyone was being well looked after throughout the night and the food when served was plentiful & delicious and with a full Bar Licence it was ideal.. It was also very reasonably priced considering what you can pay to hold such parties... A GREAT night was had by All and no doubt a night to remember for this Special Occasion,,, A big THANKS goes out to all the LV Staff..☺

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Its Hard to Make Poor Italian Food...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is our first night in Dublin. Little Venice was close to our hotel and looked like a neighborhood place, so we decided to give it a try. I do think it serves mainly locals, which was the best part of the restaurant. I liked the atmosphere too. It was a what I'd imagine an Irish take on Italian to be like.

The rest...not so much. Okay, I know. We get was we deserve for picking an Italian restaurant in Dublin. The service was awful. Example: I had to walk to another table to get silverware so I could eat. I had pasta primavera. It has heavy on fat (butter, cream) and flour, but low on taste. My husband's was better. I didn't find the staff to be friendly or helpful. The meal, with one beer for my husband and water for me, two small salads and the pasta dishes set us back €35 (about $50). I'd say the value of the meal was closer to $25. Tomorrow, we'll find a good ole Irish Pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food fantastic child friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We ate in this restaurant yesterday June 1st 2014 the staff were very friendly and nothing was an issue.there was 8 of us in total 4 adults 4 children...I ordered pasta for the 4 year old when it came out she decided she didn't want it but wanted nuggets and chips I called the waitress who took it back and gave her nuggets and chips instead I offered to pay for the pasta and when the bill came they never charged for the pasta which was a lovely gesture...the children were giving chalk boards and books to read and also there juice was free with the meal...we will definitely return to this restaurant food was amazing,

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharonannhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply exquisite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My aunt had her heart set on going to Little Venice for her 50th birthday meal and I must say, it's one of the best decisions ever made. I rang about 2 weeks in advance to book for a group of 30 guests for a meal and they were very accommodating as one of our guests is in a wheelchair. As with most well laid plans there's always a few indecisive people and I ended up calling the restaurant a couple of times to change numbers and they were very nice about it.

The manageress Tracey rang me a few days before the meal to confirm the booking and to see if we needed anything in particular, it was very thoughtful. She could not have been more helpful, even emailed me the choices of set menus that we were going to opt for. We chose the €15.95 3 course set menu of a starter, main and tea or coffee as the restaurant allowed us to bring our own cake, which they took excellent care of on the night. They even personalised the menu for us with the name of the birthday girl and took the price off as the guests were not paying individually.

On the night the staff were very attentive even before the guests arrived they allowed us to come early to set up some decorations. Absolutely faultless. The food was impeccable, I highly recommend the little venice wings and the lasagne. I have heard no bad comments from any of the guests. Everything was very reasonably priced and the payment method was very flexible with the drinks bill and food bill being processed separately.

I could not recommend this restaurant enough, the staff and food were impeccable. I will definitely be back in the future. Perfect for all occasions.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Dublin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Venice also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Little Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing