We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great location, nice house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value, great location, nice house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stayed in Oaklodge for almost 3 weeks recently as a landing point in moving to Dublin.
First thing is to say location and value are great. Oaklodge is on one of the best streets in Ballsbridge - probably the best area of Dublin - right next to Herbert Park. That this is also one of the cheapest B&B's I found makes it outstanding value.
Rooms were comfortable and got better the more people they were intended for. (I moved around as my stay kept extending). Breakfast was also very good.
I'll definitely be recommending Oaklodge to visiting friends.

Room Tip: The single rooms are small. I think it's worth paying a little extra for single occupancy in a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    27
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
55
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed in Oaklodge B and B recently and it was a most enjoyable experience. The house is lovely in a lovely part of Dublin. Teresa is very professional in taking care of her guests, very helpful with directions, recommendations, transport queries ect. The house is spotlessly clean and the breakfast made to order was delicious. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I had a very nice 3 night stay at the Oaklodge. Teresa, the proprietress , was always prompt at replying to all my planning correspondence. She was also very helpful in helping me line up transportation before arriving in Dublin. Everything went exactly according to plan. The B&B is in a lovely tree-lined Georgian neighborhood, where we felt extremely safe even walking at night. It was also very quiet. With that said, its a little further away from the main sites of the city, but the bus into town was only a 5-10 min walk.

Rooms were comfortable, nicely, but simply decorated and most important....spotless. Breakfast was delicious, everything made to order. Teresa is a lovely hostess. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B & B for your stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABR-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

A comfortable find in a handy location for us. Teresa was extremely helpful in giving us recommendations and directions for local attractions and services. She arranged a taxi and an early breakfast for us on our departure. This took off stress for us meetin up with our tour early in the morning. We learnt from expereince that Dublin buses do not take notes and give change. A difficult start until coin is accumulated.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussfTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitesboro, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Oaklodge and my brother and his wife did as well. We had a tough time finding it with the directions we brought from the AAIreland website, mostly because the streets are frequently not marked at all. Maybe a GPS would have been better, but we heard some stories about this not being true either. In any case, the local police got us pointed in the right direction and some friendly locals helped us as we walked toward St. Stephen's Green, looking at our map and probably looking confused as well. Once we parked the car, it stayed there until we left two days later. Teresa gave us good advice about local eateries, and her breakfasts were terrific. We were so grateful that she left us some breakfast on the morning of our departure when we had to be out of the B&B by 6AM. The rooms are large, with lovely high ceilings and larger bathrooms than we were used to in Ireland. The WIFI service was good as well. The only drawback is that you will have a long walk in to the town center, so unless you plan to take a cab, wear comfortable shoes and head to St. Stephen's Green to catch the hop on, hop off bus for some sightseeing. Don't miss seeing Killmainham Gaol. Take a guided tour to really appreciate the place. Trinity College also has a nice student lead tour that includes a pass to see the Book of Kells. The Guinness tour is pretty lame. It is not a brewery, but you do get some nice city views from the bar at the top.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at Teresa's B&B in May 2011 and overall we found the B&B to be just okay. It was good value for the money but there are a number of areas that Teresa could implement to improve your stay. The decor of the room that we stayed in was dated. There was too much furniture, the television was old and the carpet needed replacing. The breakfast could be improved by providing pitchers of juices that the customer could pour themselves as opposed to just giving out one small glass of juice. Also, Teresa should provide more choices for meals. Like french toast, waffles and pancakes. Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Dublin but a few minor improvements could greatly improve our stay and make this a first class B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Meist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
I am surprised at this review as my rooms are updated regularly and I am constantly being complimented on their decor. I only have enough furniture in them to ensure my guests comfort. I will have to agree with regard to the televisions but am replacing them at the moment. My carpets have been replaced recently. I have a varied breakfast menu and am prepared to offer a substitute if a guest cannot find anything to suit them. I will take on board the suggestion with regard to the pitchers of juice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

we stayed at oaklodge 4 days, it is a great bed and breakfast, teresa the owner is very nice, it is very charming, well situated, quiet and very clean and great breakfast too!
I highly recommend it !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,349 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andorra B&B
Andorra B&B
#14 of 162 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#5 of 162 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Pembroke Park | Ballsbridge, off Clyde Road, Dublin D4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaklodge is a superb Victorian residence situated in Dublin's prestigious Ballsbridge area. It is within walking distance of vibrant Stephen's Green and the famous Grafton Street. Experience the thrill of walking down Dublin's main shopping thoroughfare with it's elegant shops, tour the city's many museums and galleries or just soak up the atmosphere and charm of Ireland. No matter what you decide to do Oaklodge is the ideal place to stay for a short break in Dublin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing