We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting”

Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.24*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #65 of 503 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vienna
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was my second visit. The house is lovely and the staff very welcoming. This time around there was no tour available and that certainly was to the detriment of our visit. It's probably because we visited late in December. I did a tour previously and it was wonderful - the self-guided visit was interesting as well but I'd definitely recommend trying to catch a guided tour. The detail in the house is incredible and it is well worth a visit for any history enthusiast. The entry fee is very low for what you're getting. It made me feel very Downton Abbey ;) although it is much smaller etc. but it definitely puts you into the spirit of the time.
There are several flights of stairs to climb so don't go if you have knee trouble or something to that effect.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L0upin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    114
    21
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Step back in time to Georgian Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I was researching my family history and stumbled across this lovely museum. There were many interesting objects in the house such as a urinating chair for the male guests and very detailed children's teaching materials on the top level. Neil, the guide, was very accommodating. As my relatives lived in Upper Fitzwilliam St in the 1800s I very much appreciated the opportunity to experience what life would've been like for them in a Georgian mansion, the exterior of which belies the spaciousness and comfort behind the grand front doors.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super school trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I visited the museum today with my class - 6th class. It was fantastic. The children and adults absolutely loved it. Our guides Niall and Avril were great with the children. They totally held their attention, brought everything to their level and were very kind towards the children. Thank you!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aingeal1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very interesting stop-off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

If you've ever stood in a beautiful Georgian square and wanted to have a look inside, this is the museum for you. Very reasonably priced and very interesting to see. A formal guided tour would have enhanced the experience, although staff were on hand to answer visitor questions. The website indicated the museum is open April to October, although we visited in November.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a window into the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The visit to the museum starts with a very informative video with voices of characters representing the inhabitants of the house . The route is well-marked and the displays well done. I encourage visitors to interact with the docents as I learned so many interesting facts by doing just that. There is an inviting tea shop in the basement along with spotless facilities.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing