We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Superb!”
Review of Bistro Martello - CLOSED

Bistro Martello
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow! Superb!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

This really is an excellent restaurant with a very talented chef. Fantastic flavours well cooked and great presentation. Service with a smile and friendly caring attitude. Not cheap but not expensive. Nothing disappoints even when challenged. (Top creme brûlée). Get to this place you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank BrianCallansView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dont Pass it by”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hi
visited 4-oct 2013
Very clear and comfortable setting
Plenty of food at very reasonable prices
Service very attentive
I suggest the crab and avocado starter
the sizzling hot Sea food mixed dish for the mains
Would call again and recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank home26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Dublin Bay prawns in garlic butter ever.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delightful and charming place looking directly onto Dublin with loads of car parking at the door. We have been to Martello at Sandycove many many times and the garlic prawns are always so incredibly tasty and fresh it is difficult to order anything else ! Except maybe the prawns provencal! Unbeatable for flavour and value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Realfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent warm friendly service, good food, comfortable ambiance”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This restaurant impressed us on two counts from the moment we arrived for our early meal. First of all the waiter invited us to take our pick from any of the tables in the restaurant ( rather than most restaurant's first instincts to stick two women on the worst table in the place - even if all tables still free they often say that other tables are reserved) and secondly when we explained we had a voucher from Menupages and asked what was included and what was excluded, he warmly invited us to choose whatever we wanted - A La Carte menu as well as the Table d'hôte. Brought carafe of water immediately - which was replenished during the evening. Advised re menu. And what a menu it was - full of real choices. We settled on Crab Pot with avocado and Chicken Liver Pate - both generous helpings and delicious; then pan fried Dublin Bay prawns in garlic butter and hake with chorizo - ditto; managed to squeeze in two lovely desserts also! Coffee was strong aromatic and fresh. This was a place where you cannot wait to tip generously because you felt you were well-looked-after.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant views in Dublin ...”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Located right on the seafront over looking Scotsmans Bay this bistro has fab views and is lovely inside too. There are some tables to the front which catch the morning sun - ideal for morning coffee or brunch. Inside tables are nicely spaced with comfortable chairs. Staff are excellent - particularly the guy that seemed to be head waiter. We enjoyed a mix from the set lunch menu and the brunch menu. Of note was the butternut squash and feta soup and the pate. The steak sandwich was very generous and the accompanying chips were delish! Will definitely be back for an evening meal. If you are a tourist to the area this place is highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wicklawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Martello also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing