We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed down?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatham Brasserie - CLOSED

Chatham Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Dublin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Closed down?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We've been here several times and while it was a little pricey we always enjoyed the foood and atmosphere. Called on Saturday to find it closed with most of the furniture and fixings removed. Has it closed permanently?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SJPDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    42
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really disapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Used to eat here quite regularly and always found it to be good bistro style food in a great location. Last Saturday four of us, two couples, decided to pop in for a bite after a few drinks. We ordered two starters to share, wings and black pudding with a hens egg. The wings were good but the black pudding was terrible. The egg was overcooked, the pudding stodgy and the onion jelly was liquid in consistency. For mains we ordered one chicken salad, one goats cheese salad and two prawn linguini. The Goats cheese salad was good but the rest poor. The chicken salad appeared to be made up of what was left in the fridge. Asparagus, apple, orange, pomegranate a mixture of leaves, some chicken and no dressing what so ever. The linguini was over cooked, lacked prawns and had virtually no seasoning. A bottle of Spanish red (€24) wasn't great, our own fault for going cheap I suppose. Staff were pleasant if a little unaware. On the plus side it wasn't too expensive, €140 including coffee. Disappointing, but maybe we just caught them on the hop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food and Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I visited the restaurant with a group of friends for lunch and was very impressed with the friendly welcome and the quality of the food. The menu is varied and interesting and the service is excellent. Location is very good for anyone visiting the city centre i.e. shopping on Grafton Street or going to theatre at the Gaiety. There are lots of local pubs nearby also, so an evening can start with a couple of pints followed by a good meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Voyageuse49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Early Bird deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

On our last night in Dublin we wanted to find something a bit more of a fine dining experience after a week of pub meals. It was still early when we stumbled upon Chatham Brasserie down a small lane off Gratftan Street. We checked out the menu and it looked perfect. The only problem was that it was really too early to eat for us at 5:00. On the other hand they were offering an early bird special of two courses for just 19.99 Euros and the regular price for two courses would have been over 35 Euros. Since we were flying out early morning we decided to eat early. Nursing a bottle of Pinot Noir we managed to stretch out our stay until 6:30 and enjoyed a fantastic meal. The crispy duck rolls appetizers were fantastic and my main dish of baked Hake on a bed of seafood risotto was to die for. A fantastic meal in a great little eatery that we just found by chance ended great trip to the Emerald Isle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Slightly expensive bistro style food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Ate here early Saturday evening without a prior reservation while just trying to find a decentish restaurant in the Grafton Street area. Friendly Maitre D' found us a table ok although the restaurant is obviously popular with shoppers , pre-/post-theatre crowd. Slightly expensive. Starters around the €7- 8 mark, main courses €16-25, vegetable portions extra at €3-4.All three of us just plumped for burgers which were fine but the accompanying chips were just McDonald style thin ones, when we fancied something a bit more chunky or home made. Also came with a small bowl of so-called onion rings which just apppeared to be shavings of batter - greasy and horrible.
Alright as a one-off, but wouldn't rush back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chester_UKCitykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chatham Brasserie also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing