We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean great welcome at check in rooms ready well before advertised time. service from staff always friendly and attentive. We loved breakfast always happy to bring extra toast and coffee as required. Rooms a bit tired from obviously being well used ........nice to have a hot and powerful shower on demand at all times. Reception really helpful on departure and kept our suitcases safe until our evening flight home. Great location for bars and restaurants at the heart of the tourist area of temple bar

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    648
    265
    72
    51
See reviews for
115
678
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and found it ideal for our purposes. The staff were helpful and the room adequate. We had a comfortable double bed and a modern bathroom. Our window faced the back of a pub/hotel so was quiet at night which suited us fine (third floor, room 305). The decor is rather dark though with dim lighting but then it was Feb/March. We had the morning sun.

We pain the 12 euros for breakfast. Hats off to the chef as the quality was good but the waitress staff had no idea on how the breakfast routine worked. They were friendly enough but didn't seem to offer you the choice of the buffet cereal table with juices. All they wanted to do was to place the basket of toast on the table and take your order and within 4-5 minutes bring the cooked breakfast to you. Also breakfast finishes at 10am Mon-Fri and we were 3 minutes late and was made to feel awkward. They just said "you're too late and chef has finished". I felt so awkward that I said I didn't want anything, just the cereal but they did bring 2 croissants to the table.

The hotel is situated near the Irish Pubs in Temple Bar and not far from the main road for public transport and the 2 shopping centres and of course the River Liffey. The nearest attraction from the hotel is Dublin Castle but other attractions are easily reached either by foot or on the Hop On Hop Off bus. We bought a 3 day (72 hour) Freedom Pass online which included transport from the airport, the Tour Bus and local buses.

We were in a group of 10 and I would recommend the Paramount Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is quiet at night if you need to sleep as the bars finish at 2.30 - 3am
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suestu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

we stayed for three nights I've stayed in better places for less money the rooms were in need of decorating althou clean the place is next to impossible to find the rooms are very dark and dingy dark brown wallpaper the room we had on the third floor the windows were old sash type not double glazed and the noise from the club/ bar opposite woke us every night the room was that dark that you couldn't read a magazine even with all the lights on the lighting was next to useless with far from adequate lighting . we had breakfast which was ok althou there wasn't a lot on offer I was told on our first visit that breakfast was extra and we hadn't included it when I knew we had and soon put them right on that one no apology however the receptionists were ok and were pretty helpfull the look out the windows is next to awfull looking out over a derelict building however it is very handy for the buses which are all within 2 mins walk however if you get the air coach it doesn't go anywhere near and is a good 20 mins walk away. the room was cleaned everyday and to a good standard the big bed we had was like sleeping on the floor very hard would we go again ? Dublin yes the hotel sorry I doubt it

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel at the last minute when we decided to spend an extra night in Dublin. It's located in the Temple Bar area so is ideal for anyone wanting to enjoy Dublin's night life. The room was very small and was in need of a little re decorating. It was clean and the bathroom was also spotless. The floor boards however squeaked every time we walked around and it must have been annoying for anyone in the room on the next floor down. There is a good bar located in the hotel and the drink was priced reasonable for Temple Bar area (though a rip off compared to prices outside Dublin)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank medoc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is all you need for your stay in Dublin. It is at the heart of everything and all sights are easy to walk to. The hotel is very clean and well kept, breakfast is good and generous. Rooms are perfectly good. The biggest plus for this hotel are the staff - extremely pleasant and very very helpful.

Room Tip: If you are easily awoken then ask for a room at the back of the hotel, especially at weekends when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummies60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived & the staff we're very friendly. We went to our room which was nice enough. Our room (No. 117) had a generator right outside the window which could be heard all night. Music could also be heard from the nearby bars. We did not complain as this did not bother us & I am pretty sure they would have moved us if we had wanted to move to a quieter room, but it's just a bit of advice for anyone booking. Eg, when booking you can ask for any special requests & request to be in a quieter room. The staff were extremely helpful in giving us directions & advice on where to go. Location was pretty central & easy to get to from the airport via bus. Would love to return to dublin & would stay at this hotel again. Overall a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Dave Diddle and the boys booked the paramount for a recent rugby trip away. The hotel is in a great location around 5-10 mins walk from the heart of Temple Bar and the centre of Dublin.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave great advice about how to get places, etc. the room was a good size with a decent sized bathroom. Only slight criticism was that the room was rather hot at night. We had to have the window open on a chilly February weekend. No issues with noise from outside, or perhaps we had just been enjoying ourselves too much to notice.

A great hotel in a great location at a reasonable price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Diddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#85 of 151 in Dublin
1,552 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#78 of 151 in Dublin
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,160 reviews
The Clarence
#42 of 151 in Dublin
1,684 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing