We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little noisy but convenient and value for money.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #64 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little noisy but convenient and value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel is situated in Temple Bar which has it's good and bad points. I stayed on a rugby weekend and Temple Bar was buzzing. Inevitably, this meant a lot of noise but this would be true of any hotel in Temple Bar. Overall, the rooms were spotless and the hotel is a good base to enjoy the noisy delights of Temple Bar and Dublin City.

Room Tip: If you go to bed early and want a quiet night's sleep, avoid Temple Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballyjamesduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    613
    241
    69
    49
See reviews for
103
628
64
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at the paramount last week. When we arrived, quite late in the evening, we went to our room and found it faced the inside court yard. Unfortunately, as we were on the 1st floor, this meant we could hear the music from the Turks head bar quite loudly. We were tired and decided to leave it and just go to sleep. Unfotunately, although i slept ok, my boyfriend could not sleep through the noise. So, the next morning we decided to ask to move room to face the other side. Immediately, we were offered a 3rd floor room facing the quietest side of the building. We were told to pack our stuff and leave the suitcases in our room and go enjoy our day, and that they would move our belongings to our new room. Indeed, when we returned we were given our new keys and all our stuff was already there waiting for us. Fantastic service, friendly and very efficient. Must say i was impressed with the service from a three star hotel (iv had worse service in 5* hotels). The rest of our stay went seamlessly. The beds were comfortable, the room was spacious and clean and the bathrooms were great (no problems with temperature etc). Above all the location could not have been better and we could walk everywhere, not to mention the bars, restaurants etc right on your doorstep. We did not opt for breakfast, as there are so many great places nearby. I recommend 'Queen of Tarts' which is just round the corner from the hotel.....fantastic! i will be recommending and i will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the direction of the entrance to the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penguin3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

perfectly placed in temple bar, rooms are a bit shabby but then so is Dublin! staff very helpful and the brek was superb...recommended for a short trip and make sure you try a kebab from the persian restaurant opposite

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimbo657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We booked the hotel for the first part of our trip to Ireland. We arrived around 10 am after a flight from the states. The staff at the front desk gladly held our bags and let us know when to expect our room to be ready...which was much earlier than the expected time. The accommodations were lovely with a king sized bed and large restroom.

I will say that all reviews note that it might be a bit noisy due to the location in a popular area. This was true, but it did not interfere with a good night's rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year for a long weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and having the hotel being in such a good location helped this!! The ONLY problem with being so close to everything was the street noise until about 4am, however we kind of expected this. Otherwise, the reception was nice, the room was very spacious, and clean, the staff were helpful, and food/drink were great also....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B_2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean great welcome at check in rooms ready well before advertised time. service from staff always friendly and attentive. We loved breakfast always happy to bring extra toast and coffee as required. Rooms a bit tired from obviously being well used ........nice to have a hot and powerful shower on demand at all times. Reception really helpful on departure and kept our suitcases safe until our evening flight home. Great location for bars and restaurants at the heart of the tourist area of temple bar

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and found it ideal for our purposes. The staff were helpful and the room adequate. We had a comfortable double bed and a modern bathroom. Our window faced the back of a pub/hotel so was quiet at night which suited us fine (third floor, room 305). The decor is rather dark though with dim lighting but then it was Feb/March. We had the morning sun.

We pain the 12 euros for breakfast. Hats off to the chef as the quality was good but the waitress staff had no idea on how the breakfast routine worked. They were friendly enough but didn't seem to offer you the choice of the buffet cereal table with juices. All they wanted to do was to place the basket of toast on the table and take your order and within 4-5 minutes bring the cooked breakfast to you. Also breakfast finishes at 10am Mon-Fri and we were 3 minutes late and was made to feel awkward. They just said "you're too late and chef has finished". I felt so awkward that I said I didn't want anything, just the cereal but they did bring 2 croissants to the table.

The hotel is situated near the Irish Pubs in Temple Bar and not far from the main road for public transport and the 2 shopping centres and of course the River Liffey. The nearest attraction from the hotel is Dublin Castle but other attractions are easily reached either by foot or on the Hop On Hop Off bus. We bought a 3 day (72 hour) Freedom Pass online which included transport from the airport, the Tour Bus and local buses.

We were in a group of 10 and I would recommend the Paramount Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is quiet at night if you need to sleep as the bars finish at 2.30 - 3am
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suestu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#82 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Clarence
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing