We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #64 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Great location. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to visit. The staff was very helpful. Queen of Tarts nearby is a great place to get breakfast. It can be a little noisy at night because Turks Head Bar is connected. Bathroom supplies were nice, but no conditioner.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    610
    241
    69
    49
See reviews for
103
626
64
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel ticked the boxes in terms of having friendly staff, a central location and clean and spacious rooms. It is, however, a little tired, which may explain the modest price. It is also very definitely NOT for light sleepers, at least not if your room overlooks the street, as ours did. I don't expect a nightlife area like Temple Bar to be quiet, but being in a single-glazed room located directly above a noisy (in-house) nightclub is too much. By the way, if you're staying there and looking for a break from Guinness and Jameson, do try Queen of Tarts for coffee and cake, just one block west on Cow's Lane.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT above Turks Head Bar on Essex Gate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Really pleased to have found this hotel. I booked through NIR travel and got enterprise tickets and bed and breakfast for an amazing price - so I was worried that the hotel wouldn't be up to much. I need not have worried. It was a stone's throw from all the best spots in temple bar, spotlessly clean and the staff were lovely. Would recommend wholeheartedly.

If I must find a con it would simply be that it was a bit noisy late at night (outside not inside) but that's what ya get for having the pleasure of being in one of the liveliest places in Dublin. Temple bar rocks! And so does this hotel ;-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stopped midweek in this hotel, only fault I could find was the noise from revellers in the early hours I'm a light sleeper so it didn't take much to awaken me, The hotel is situated above the Turks Head pub which serves the best and cheapest pint of Guinness in Temple Bar! You can access the pub from the hotel, the rooms were spacious and clean.The Zaytoon kebab place is directly opposite and well worth a visit, never had the breakfast so cant comment on that but the room only option I had was well worth it 70 euro a night for a twin room, easily the best value hotel in Temple Bar and based on these facts I would book again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barge1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel in April. The staff were courteous and helpful and were happy to store our bags before and after checkout. The rooms were well appointed and spacious and the bathroom was big with a bath and an excellent shower. The bed was nice and firm and the pillows plump and comfy.
The only drawback was the breakfast. The Irish breakfast was not the greatest that we'd had on this trip and one mouthful of the buffet fruit salad was enough to know that it was not fresh at all. In retrospect I wouldn't have paid extra for breakfast.
The Temple Bar area is extremely busy at night. It wasn't a problem for us as we were out late but we could hear people talking very loudly outside in the street at 2 or 3am, so if you really need peace and quiet I'd recommend staying another area.
All and all a lovely hotel. The location is excellent, just metres away from museums and pubs on Temple Bar. I'd happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Slightly off the end of the Temple Bar area is an advantage as far as sound goes and yet close enough to walk. I read other reviews about noise but our third floor outside room seemed to be ok (although I am a sound sleeper). Although the hotel is older, the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and functional. I was overall pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Paramount. It was in a good location and very cost effective compared to other hotels in the district. I would recommend this hotel as a hidden gem not to be overlooked when looking for a place to stay in Dublin near Temple Bar!

Room Tip: As per other reviews higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubs13909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay at the Paramount Hotel. On arrival we had a problem checking in as the hotel could not locate our booking. After 5 or 10 minutes this was sorted by the very helpful man on reception. We booked a twin room but were able to change to a double room which was on the 4th floor. There were only 2 rooms on this floor so was quiet. Our room had everything you would need for a comfortable stay.....large bed, plenty of wardrobe space, hairdryer and a well equipped bathroom.
The hotel is in an ideal location if you want to sample Dublins famous nightlife.
Our stay included a Saturday night and to be honest you could hear the noise from the nightclub below and a few revellers outside but nothing to stop you from getting a good nights sleep. At the end of the day this hotel is in Temple Bar which is quite lively so if people want somewhere quieter then stay in a different part of the city.
Staff on reception organised us a taxi back to the airport which cost approx 26 euros.
Would stay here if we ever visit Dublin again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#82 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#78 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Clarence
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing