We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located, handy to Temple Bar”
Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Clarence
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Centrally located, handy to Temple Bar”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The staff were very knowledgable, welcoming and helpful.
Located in the heart of the temple bar, you are surrounded by restaurants and pubs, with shopping a walking distance away.
The hotel bar and restaurant were nice, both in price and service.
We just happened to be there on Arthur's Day, so the streets around the hotel were packed with people, giving the place a really festive vibe.
Only one small downside is the single glazing on the windows...being on a busy road, and with bars on the doorstep, sound leaked into the room a bit at night. The wifi was excellent.
The hotel is wonderfully classic and well restored.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    456
    244
    116
    91
See reviews for
218
725
88
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Walking distance from Heston Station, Grafton Street. Stayed for one night B&B with evening meal. Very comfortable room, bit noisy at night but didn't bother us. Reception staff were very helpful . There seem to be a lack of communication between the restaurant staff and the reception . The restaurant staff were confused about what we were entitled to, where meals were concerned. Food was nice.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EdwardO71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We visited our son studying abroad and really loved this hotel. We stayed 2 nights in a beautiful suite with a huge bathroom and separate sitting area. We requested a higher floor since in the cities it can be a bit noisy. We did hear the bar crowd leaving at night but we found it quite amusing. Our room overlooked the river and was in the Temple bar district, walking distance to many other sites also. Will definitely stay here again. Breakfast was delicious!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and to face the river for best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Hotel was ok, but nothing special. Single glazing so noisy, but good location for Temple Bar. Breakfast absolutely terrible, and served by the most unfriendly grumpy woman. Didn't bother having it on day 2, although included in room rate, preferred to go out and pay for a decent meal instead.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikepnefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel had a major facelift a number of years ago but is starting to show a few cracks. Location is good but not for families or those wanting a good nights sleep. Temple Bar is literally adjacent to the Clarence so you need to either listen to the party people or join them as sleep will be hard to come by before 2am!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PShynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in river view room which was a bit noisy although this can be expected in a city location. The room was very spacious and comfortable, although the bathroom could be improved with a separate shower closet rather than shower over the bath (or at least put up curved shower curtain rails). Also shower heads need updating. The staff were generally friendly and attentive.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Not a friendly check in whatsoever but the porter who showed us around and brought us to our room was lovely and very polite, unlike reception staff. My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights, cost €567 not including breakfast, so was pricey enough but the location was just fantastic.

Our room, which had a balcony, was lovely and spacious and the bed was very comfortable, we slept fantastic each night. Was VERY surprised to find NO tea making facilities, there wasn't a kettle in sight. For the price of the room and it being a four star hotel I couldn't believe this. Also there was no iron or iron board.

Would highly recommend dining at Cleaver East, their restaurant...the food was unreal. There was a long wait but definitely worth it....incredible!!! Very reasonable prices for, without a doubt, a fine dining experience. Waiting staff were lovely and the hostess was really nice.

Before we checked out I looked for the comment card, (just to mention my disappointment in having no tea making facilities), which most hotels have, as most like to hear feedback in ways they can improve...obviously the Clarence isn't too interested in this.

When we arrived downstairs I handed in my key and as I paid on arrival..the receptionist said, "Yes, all square." He never said, "Good morning....did you enjoy your stay...was everything satisfactory etc etc etc" He was so unfriendly I was a little taken a back. I mentioned the fact about the no comment card and in such a rude manner he said, "And what do you want me to do stand here and write while you just complain?" I was gobsmacked...I laughed a little because I couldn't believe how ignorant this man was and just said, "I was disappointed there were no tea making facilities, I'm Irish after all." He just shrugged his shoulders and arms and made no attempt to say, "Yes I'll pass on your comments...safe trip...thanks for coming" etc etc, as you would expect upon checking our of a four star or any star for that matter. He is definitely in the wrong job...he has no interpersonal skills and has a miserable demeanor about him. I never got his name but he was completely bald...kind of short and had a foreign accent.

I would never return to stay in this hotel and would never recommend it to anybody. I would return to the restaurant but stay in a different hotel. It doesn't matter if it is Bono's hotel...it costs nothing to be nice. So if I was running it I would have a serious chat with that man because he is letting you and all the other friendly and polite staff down.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LD280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Property: The Clarence
Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence boasts fifty bedrooms and suites, along with our world famous Penthouse Suite. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Our furnishings are simple: classic Shaker oak, beds dressed in cool white linen, sitting elegantly in contrast to a palate of vibrant cardinal colours, rich drapes and luxe carpets. We aim to provide all the simple needs of our guests and we offer 'round the clock room service and all rooms have complimentary WiFi as standard. Our city centre location means car space is at a premium, but we do have a small underground car park that can be reserved for a small nightly supplement. It is also worth noting that our location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. In the bowels of our building you will find the luxurious cocktail and food bar The Liquor Rooms, home to Dublin's arts set and the first ROI bar ever to be nominated in the prestigious Tales of the Cocktail Spirited Awards. On our first floor, overlooking the River Liffey lies The Cleaver East Suite at The Clarence, which can be reserved for special occasions, from large weddings to intimate business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing