We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely needs a makeover”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clarence
Ranked #43 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Definitely needs a makeover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My first impression of the hotel was that it was very dated and hadn't been touched in the past decade. We had a superior double room which was on the small side. Although the room was generally clean it lacked any sense of design or style. We also faced the courtyard which was actually the outdoor patio for the dance club located in the basement of The Clarence so the view was lousy and it got noisy at night (past 2am). However, if you shut the windows then the noise was pretty well muffled. Luckily it was chilly while we were there but this would've been a huge problem as there is NO air conditioning.

Our biggest issue was probably with the bathroom. Our toilet ran the entire time and would stop only if we jiggled the handle in some unknown precise manner that we never quite figured out. I also thought the hotel was a little stingy with their towels since we never got washcloths. There were also no hooks in the bathroom or there might have been but looked like they fell off at some point and were never replaced.

Our other disappointment was with the Octagon Bar. Maybe in its heyday this bar was rockin' but the night we were there it was just pretty sad. The dated decor screamed for a makeover and made me feel like I was sitting at the bar at the Best Western in downtown Iowa. The only people there (7 of us) were guests of the hotel.

If you're just looking for a place to sleep and shower that's in a great location then this is fine. But if your expectations are any higher than that you might be a little disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the back courtyard which is directly above the outdoor patio for their dan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyninjitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear ladyninjitsu,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Clarence Dublin.

I am very disappointed to learn of your experience with us. At the Clarence we are very proud of our hotel and the service we provide to our guests and I would like to reassure you that what you experienced is certainly not consistent with our service standards or what our guests in general experience when they stay with us.

Please accept my sincerest apologies and if I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    449
    240
    116
    89
See reviews for
213
703
85
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited the Octagon bar as starting point for our night out. My wife ordered a G & T and I asked for a Scotch with Ginger ale. Since I was adding a mixer, I only wanted a blended whisky, and asked the bartended what the house scotch was, - he looked around the bottles for a few seconds, with a puzzled look on his face, and then pronounced that it was Hennessy!!
This is the first time I have been offered brandy as a whisky - ever.
I find it extremely disappointing that such an 'iconic' place in Dublin should have such poorly trained staff.
The bar manager admitted that he needed more training, saying that he had had the drinks list to 'study' for several weeks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Iain M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Clarence Hotel.
I was disappointed to read about your stay and that we failed to meet your expectation.

Please be assured that this is not our usual 4 star standard.
I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced at the Clarence.

I will be personally reviewing the operations that we have in place to see how we can improve from this feedback.

I would like to thank you once again for choosing The Clarence Hotel and should you decide to return to Dublin. I would be delighted to be your point of contact and to ensure that you experience a stay of memorable luxury that proves this is not our usual standard.

Kind regards,

Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great location but too expensive.This hotel is mediocre but very central to the heart of Dublin .The rooms are boring and need revamped.The staff are probably the best thing about the hotel,they make up for all the short comings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheelagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Sheelagh M,

Thank you for your review following your visit to The Clarence.

I am delighted that our location worked for you and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are not in any way complacent about your comments and where we can do better we surely will so please rest assured that I shall be following your comments up directly with my team.

I very much regret not having had the opportunity of resolving your dissatisfaction prior to your departure.

Once again please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced and we certainly hope that you will consider returning to the Clarence to restore your faith.

Thank you once again for your custom and review.

Yours sincerely,


Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I am very happy that I chose to stay at the Clarence for my first trip to Dublin. The hotel feels like a home rather than a hotel. The rooms are simple in decor, clean, modern and comfortable. It is centrally located to all the key sites. The staff is very professional, friendly and accommodating. I stayed 2 nights at the hotel upon my arrival to Dublin, then left for a visit the West Coast of Ireland. They stored my luggage and upon my return had upgraded me to a larger room facing the river Liffey! It made for a perfect ending to my Ireland trip. The food in the restaurant is fantastic, unique and unforgettable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If it is a Friday or Saturday night I recommend to ask for a room that doesn't face the river. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joniz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Joni Z,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the online review after your recent stay at the Clarence Hotel.

It goes without saying that we were genuinely delighted to read all the nice things you said about your stay.

Perhaps we will have the privilege of welcoming you back in the not too distant future and with that in mind, if we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

In the meantime and once again, thank you very much.

Warm regards,

Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The staff was very accomodating and we got an upgrade for our room, and what an upgrade ! We were on the last floor next to the penthouse and had a woonderful view on the river and the quays. Plus, the location is great, we could visit almost everything on foot and were the closest to Temple Bar

Room Tip: Room 501 and the other one next to the penthouse (503 I believe) has a wonderful view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laetitia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Laetitia G,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us in such detail.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I was delighted to read that you had time to avail of the facilities here at the Hotel and that you enjoyed them so much.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you will have another memorable and relaxing stay with us. Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Clarence is well located to enjoy the best of Dublin! You can easily find your way around the most historic parts of Dublin and everything is walkable and easy to find from here. The best part is your access to O'Connell St and Trinity University, and the theatre district, plus your right in the heart of Temple Bar- the entertainment district of Dublin!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Tim292,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Clarence Hotel Dublin and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of our establishment on Tripadvisor.

Your opinion is important to us and your feedback is most appreciated indeed.
Comments from our guests allow us to carefully monitor and ensure the very best of standards.

I do hope that it will not be too long before I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Clarence Hotel and thank you once again for your comments and custom.

Warm regards,
Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

There is nothing fancy or over the top about this hotel but it's really lovely! The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are small but nicely appointed with simple, clean, modern design, but feel warm. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLittleRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Rachel A,

Thank you for having stayed with us and for your favourable review of The Clarence Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are all delighted with your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once more for recommending The Clarence Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Warm regards,

Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Property: The Clarence
Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence boasts fifty bedrooms and suites, along with our world famous Penthouse Suite. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Our furnishings are simple: classic Shaker oak, beds dressed in cool white linen, sitting elegantly in contrast to a palate of vibrant cardinal colours, rich drapes and luxe carpets. We aim to provide all the simple needs of our guests and we offer 'round the clock room service and all rooms have complimentary WiFi as standard. Our city centre location means car space is at a premium, but we do have a small underground car park that can be reserved for a small nightly supplement. It is also worth noting that our location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. In the bowels of our building you will find the luxurious cocktail and food bar The Liquor Rooms, home to Dublin's arts set and the first ROI bar ever to be nominated in the prestigious Tales of the Cocktail Spirited Awards. On our first floor, overlooking the River Liffey lies The Cleaver East Suite at The Clarence, which can be reserved for special occasions, from large weddings to intimate business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing