We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clarence
Ranked #43 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

So my wife and I stayed at the Clarence for our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier with our stay. It was obviously a special occassion and I'm sure that had something to do with our experience, but even with that said - we were consistently impressed. The service was great - they did everything they could to help us with restaurants and places to go. The hotel itself may not be luxurious in the way a Ritz may be or other brand new hotels, but everything is high quality and timeless. We've never seen a hotel with such quality craftsmanship and authentic furniture and woodwork. If you're looking for "in your face" luxury and style, this may not be your place - but if you want a place that is located perfectly on the river and temple bar and is perfect in an understated fashion - this is the best call you can make.

  • Liked — Authentic and sophisticated style
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gopherstateguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    450
    240
    116
    89
See reviews for
215
703
85
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2008

I recently stayed here . And I travel to Dublin frequently for work. The stafff are generally very rude and arrogant, and believe the hotel is still in its heydays, which was is 1996, and no renevations/changes have occured since. I complained about the very lousy and rude service I received in the empty bar, and was told, by the evening manager, not to raise my voice. Which I never did, as I am an educated person. Stay away from this hotel, unless you want to be treated badly at prime rate, try the Morrison Hotel close by in stead.

  • Disliked — rude staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hroald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

Ok, so I hate when people just out and out slam a place. It's kind of hard to take their review seriously. So, let me say the good things. The front desk staff were friendly at check in and very hepful. The lobby is clean and nice, although a bit plain. The location is great, but don't think you are going to have romantic views of the river. Our room faced an ally. The room was clean as well.

Now for the bad stuff. The room was absolutely tiny. I mean imagine two beds shoved next to each other in the center and 2 foot clearance around the sides. That was about it. The "in room computer" made a very loud whir, and I couldn't figure out how to shut it off at night. And the tub was badly stained. The room had a rather spartain feel to it, but I guess with the limited size they really couldn't add much in the way of furniture. Oh, and no coffee maker (or hot water maker) in the room. Come on, I have to have my coffee. The bed sheets were rather starchy. That's not a big deal, but not luxury hotel quality.

And did I say the room was small. I mean postage stamp size. Now before you start with the "Americans need to lose some weight" bit, let me say I have stayed in plenty of tiny rooms over the years. No problem what so ever with them. But they were in 2, 3 and 4 star hotels. You sort of expect as you move up the luxury chain, and pay more, you will get more.

There is very little luxury with this place. I was also a bit annoyed with the "pay for use" internet access. What's up with that? The website seems to imply that it is free.

So, all in all, is it a horrible place? - No. Would I stay there again? - Only if I was getting it at a bargain, otherwise there are many other places offering much more for the money. When you are choosing a place, think of this as a 3 star, and you will not be dissapointed.

ps: Ok, ok, so I could stand to lose 20 pounds. But it was still a small room.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — value.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldly_Atlantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

I had a fantastic four day stay at The Clarence recently. The service from staff and their attention to detail made my time there really special. They remembered what I liked for breakfast in The Tea Room every morning, and the bottle of water from the turn-down crew at night was much more appreciated than a chocolate on the pillow (and a lot better for my waistline!).

The rooms themselves, while very clean and comfortable, really are in need of a revamp, but the level of service is what makes it worth the price. The location doesn't hurt either, being right in the heart of Temple Bar and walking (or stumbling) distance from everything you could want in Dublin.

  • Liked — The service, drinks in the Octagon, staff.
  • Disliked — Overpriced internet access, limited wireless access.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

We arrived at The Clarence after a recommendation from my husband last minute as my friend and I were leaving to head to Dublin for the marathon. He had read a review in USA today a few years back and mentioned it in passing just in case the room I found on the internet wasn't what we expected. We couldn't have been more thrilled to arrive at The Clarence after initially seeing our hotel (the North Star) and immediately knowing we were not going to stay there the 3 nights we had planned. We arrived at the front desk to enquire about the possiblity and were met with such professional and friendly staff that we immediately booked a room for two nights. The staff was so accommodating and we truly felt totally pampered and welcomed - our room was spectacular, our trip to Dublin a total success and all of the recommendations from where to get a quick bite to eat, to helping arrange for a massage after the run and booking us a rental car - were fabulous. They even surprised us with complimentary champagne upon our return to the hotel after the marathon. We simply loved every minute we spent there and I am already planning to surprise my husband with a return trip. JUST THE BEST and worth the price. STAFF was superb - shout out to Paul - just the absolute best.

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abfabusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2008

We just got back from a 2 night stay at the Clarence. We were very disappointed.
Our major complaints were:
Overpriced food. I paid 20 euro for a flat diet coke, a stale croissant, burnt toast and fruit that I'm convinced came straight out of a can.
Cheap furnishings: The furniture all looked like it came from Ikea and was assembly required.
The noise factor. DO NOT expect to get sleep in this place. We stayed on a Sunday and Monday. The bar traffic does not die down until around 4 am. The bars are closed so the drunks hang out behind the hotel and are extremely loud.
The lack of cleanliness. The bathroom floor for example was filthy!
I would not recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise factor
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank squeaks34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

Very expensive for a very average hotel - even at half price!!
Nothing more than a hotel of glorified Holiday Inn standard.

Old fashioned and basic decor, uncomfortable beds, rough itchy sheets.

Breakfast nearly £50 for a couple!

Restaurant good though.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — The price in relation to the standard of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minky101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Property: The Clarence
Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence boasts fifty bedrooms and suites, along with our world famous Penthouse Suite. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Our furnishings are simple: classic Shaker oak, beds dressed in cool white linen, sitting elegantly in contrast to a palate of vibrant cardinal colours, rich drapes and luxe carpets. We aim to provide all the simple needs of our guests and we offer 'round the clock room service and all rooms have complimentary WiFi as standard. Our city centre location means car space is at a premium, but we do have a small underground car park that can be reserved for a small nightly supplement. It is also worth noting that our location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. In the bowels of our building you will find the luxurious cocktail and food bar The Liquor Rooms, home to Dublin's arts set and the first ROI bar ever to be nominated in the prestigious Tales of the Cocktail Spirited Awards. On our first floor, overlooking the River Liffey lies The Cleaver East Suite at The Clarence, which can be reserved for special occasions, from large weddings to intimate business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing