We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #52 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was reasonably pleased with this property all things considered. We checked in on a Thursday and out on Sunday and had a very decent rate during our stay. The location for this hotel was a bit outside of the city centre but within reasonable walking distance. It took us about 12 - 15 minutes to reach the center of St. Stephen's Green and about 20 minutes or so to reach Grafton St. The building was not a beautiful structure with basic 60s or 70s architecture but it looked decent enough. The interior of the hotel gave a much better impression as the lobby appeared spacious and comfortable. The check-in process went smoothly as the person at the front desk was quite pleasant and helpful. This actually characterized our stay quite accurately as each member of the staff with whom we interacted was very helpful, very polite and genuinely pleasant. Our room was reasonably spacious and very clean. The WiFi worked relatively well with no problems of note. As a Hilton Diamond Member, I had access to the lounge, which was located on the first floor. It was very comfortable and well stocked with snacks and beverages. The morning breakfast in the restaurant featured a very nice buffet with a good variety of hot and cold dishes. The gentleman who seated us each morning was a very pleasant chap whom we found to be very accommodating. The room rate we received was very reasonable (€85 per night) which we felt to be a very good value. In all, if you are looking for a nice place to headquarter on your visit to Dublin, this is a good choice if you don't mind the mile walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.


We are delighted with your very kind feedback about our team; 'as each member of the staff with whom we interacted was very helpful, very polite and genuinely pleasant.'. We are also so please to hear that you enjoyed our newly opened executive lounge, we hope you took the opportunity pull your own pint of Guinness?


We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,685)
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,198 - 2,204 of 2,685 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed in this hotel many times but this is the first time as Doubletree Hilton. The rooms had been re-furbished - bed extremely comfortable. Room was spotless. Free wi-fi which is always a bonus. The only quibble was the phone in my room didn't work - they did offer to move me though. Staff in all parts of the hotel were friendly, and helpful. The food overall was very good - lunches at our conference were much better than previous years. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.


Many thanks for your feedback we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.


Yours sincerely,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed from Saturday to Monday as a group of six friends who had travelled to watch the Ireland Scotland rugby match. The hotel is ideally located, the rooms are clean and well appointed. There is work ongoing at the hotel but didn't hear anything until we were getting out of bed so no worries. Great breakfast and a really nice bar. A pint is around 5 Euros and that's about the average for Dublin so not inflated price wise. We'd stay here again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank No Alibi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road for the Ireland vs. Scotland Rugby Game.

The Hotels B Bar is the perfect place to catch a pre match pint as the Hotel is in an easy walking distance of many of the large sports stadiums in Dublin. We are pleased to hear how much enjoyed both your guestroom and the hotel breakfast during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Attended a 3 day British Thoracic Oncology Conference - my first time to the Hilton/Burlington although familiar with the hilton Doubletree/garden inn sites in England.
Very impressed with facilities, proximity to airport busstop, good catering and conference dinner was very good. disappointed at inability to order food on first evening except sandwiches as room service after 10.30pm as this part of Dublin seemed to shut down generally.

Room very comfortable, good facilities generally and great to have conference and accommodation on same site. Breakfast choice, service and ambience excellent. Lunch selection excellent, ample drinks available throughout the day and service from waiting staff always excellent. friendly concierge and reception staff. All in all, an excellent experience.

Room Tip: note there is a gym on the 6th floor - for those who want to stay active or work off their food!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.


Many thanks for your feedback on your conference experience we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights over Christmas. Great location, nice walk by the canal and down lesson street to Stevens green and Grafton street. Great service and amazing rooms. Got a great rate on the room too as it's generally quiet of Christmas period.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank BaileAthaCliath86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road over Christmas..

We are delighted to hear how convenient our location was for you and how you were please with the rate we had on offer.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I've stayed here several times but this time was the best. The staff have always been polite and effecient and this time was no exception. The hotel has been renovated and the room I had was lovely and the bed so comfortable. The breakfasts are really good and we were at a conference and all the food was the best we've had here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay at The Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are delighted to hear that you have noticed the improvements across service levels and dinning in recent months since we rebranded to a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. I have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage team in relation to your positive feedback regarding the Hotel Breakfast and catering at the recent conference you attended.


We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for hopefully many more enjoyable stays.

Kind Regards,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I've stayed in the Burlington many times and have a real soft spot for this hotel. I was concerned that the recent takeover by Hilton Doubletree would be detrimental but my fears were not realised. Quite the contrary,

The lobby redesign is smart and modern. Yes perhaps some of the old charm is reduced. The dining room refurb is fantastic, very clean and refreshing. The breakfast quality was even better than before with the food selection good and the quality excellent.

I had requested a refurbished room and was impressed. The bed was fabulous - good and firm as Hilton beds tend to be. The new flatscreen Sony TV was impressive. The bathroom was clean and modern - the old Burlington bathrooms were in need of an overhaul.

Yes the refurbishment is ongoing and there is a lot of disruption to the car park but this will be temporary.

I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: I'd go for a high floor, but avoid the top floor (air con noise). I'd request a room on the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim-J-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay following your return to the property since we rebranded to a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel in September 2013.

We are delighted to hear how you have enjoyed many of the improvements which have been made to the hotel from our improved Hotel Breakfast to our refurbished guest rooms which include new flat screen televisions.


We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for hopefully many more enjoyable stays.

Kind Regards,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 150 in Dublin
557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#46 of 150 in Dublin
1,974 reviews
0.8 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#18 of 150 in Dublin
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £97 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing