We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A great improvement”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I've stayed in this Hotel a number of times over the years as its location was always convenient for my meetings, however I usually left the accommodation disappointed. My last visit was a couple of months ago when renovation was still in full swing and most recently stayed this week now its 99% complete. Can only say how satisfied with the service, free good quality WIFI coverage throughout, Gym and rooms. A massive improvement. Only negative is the power of the shower, or lack or power, but that's being picky.

Room Tip: Level 6 rooms are nice and close to the Gym if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    983
    346
    136
    84
See reviews for
336
794
109
858
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed in the hotel during the renovation period last September. Renovation takes time and can often be quite an eye sore, and in terms of this while it was frustrating and not the nicest to look at it couldn't be helped.
On arrival we were met by a lovely and friendly receptionist which was great. Prior to booking I had paid extra to ensure that a couple of bottles of beer and a card were left in the room as a suprise for my boyfriend. I would like to emphasize that this had been pre ordered and paid for. The room was pleasant and very business like. The cleanliness couldn't be faulted. On arriving to the room I had noticed there was no bottle opener which was no problem I just rang reception to ask for one to be brought up. However nobody came. We went out for dinner and returned around 11 ish when the night receptionists were taking over. I politely asked could a bottle opener be brought to the room or if someone could come to the room to open the bottle. The gentleman i dealt with was particularly rude and was interrogative about the bottles. I explained that I had pre-ordered items to be left in the room through the hotel. He wasn't overly convinced and now and behold no bottle opener was dropped to the room. I was quite annoyed, while I am aware that this is really just a small issue it was frustrating to be immediately judged in such a fashion simply because we were a young couple in our twenties.
During the stay the renovation work was quite loud and the builders did start rather early which wasn't ideal but understandable. I found it quite strange that the hotel stayed opening while undergoing such substantial change. On check out, there was a worker quite literally using a jack hammer to open up the group right at the reception desk at check out time. It was impossible to hear the receptionist who had to deal with me through writing on a piece of paper as it was the only way to communicate without having to shout at each other.
When going out to pay for the parking ticket, there had been a problem with the machine which on check out, nobody bothered to explain and the charge for the car park was coming up to 150 euro for a 2 night stay. Obviously this was incorrect and I therefore had to go back into the hotel where the staff were clearly not suprised about this and just said oh yeah you don't have pay that much and I was to pay them at the desk. I couldn't understand why this wasn't completed on check out.
I am aware that the hotel was in the process of changing over ownership and being newly renovated and I'm sure that it is probably lovely now. However at the time I was highly disappointed with this hotel and unfortunately wouldn't recommend the hotel to future guests.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face onto the car park as it is very loud when bins are being co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinkate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had a newly renovated room. Very modern and comfortable. Absolutely loved it. Quiet, clean, excellent sleep. 30 minute walk to downtown shopping. Good pub in house with large portions for a decent price. Excellent Swedish pear cider. Delicious warm cookie on arrival. Fantastic breakfast buffet. Lovely lounge area. All round great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 15 April 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dublin.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for many more enjoyable stays and of course some more of our famous Cookies!
Kind Regards,

Jane Igoe
Hotel Administrator, Executive Office
Direct Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone: +353 (0)1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on and off since January 2012. So far this year I have clocked up about a month, and last year it was my home for about a month too. The hotel was good before the 2013 renovation, but now it's great. If anything is a problem, the staff will be eager to help.

The staff comes across as confident and empowered, and I would think it is a combination of good recruitment, training and mixing very experienced staff with new recruits. Housekeeping does an excellent job with the rooms. I must mention the guys at the Concierge and the Front Desk too. Friendly, warm and helpful people.

Walking to Grafton Street takes about 20 minutes, and the Aircoah stops right outsite the hotel.There are plenty of good places to eat less than a 10 min walk from the hotel. The canal is close which makes for a good running route (if you don't mind running in a straight line).

I have stayed a couple of nights at the Hilton next door which is good, but this DoubleTree beats it by miles.

Room Tip: High up at the front of the hotel has the best views. Lower floors have better water pressure. I lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 15 April 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dublin.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for many more enjoyable stays and of course some more of our famous Cookies!
Kind Regards,

Jane Igoe
Hotel Administrator, Executive Office
Direct Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone: +353 (0)1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for a City Break.
Got a great B and B deal.
Hilton are spending money improving the hotel and car park.
Reception staff were very helpful and welcoming
Bedrooms are ver comfortable and updated recently.
Breakfast was ok but nothing special.
We had a lovely walk into the City Centre and back - only takes 15-20 mins
Would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Get a room away from elevator and at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valladolid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is lovely, clean, quiet and affordable. Room is big enough and I think all is brand new or recently renewed. Only bad thing is that is a bit far from the centre and you will always need a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank JACOBO V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 15 April 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dublin.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for many more enjoyable stays and of course some more of our famous Cookies!
Kind Regards,

Jane Igoe
Hotel Administrator, Executive Office
Direct Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone: +353 (0)1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIATRA NEAMT, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This comfortable and nice hotel near the centre of Dublin made us thinking about our next trip to Dublin and we'll certainly choose this hotel. So, DoubleTree by Hilton is situated near a bus station, but not far from Stephan's Green Park (5 min. walking) and from Grafton Street (10 min. walking). This hotel has big and clean rooms, clean toilets - the hotel provides you towels, shampoo, flip-flops and lot of other things...so you don't have to bring them with you. The rooms and the hotel are quiet ... so the hotel is ideal for families with small children. And also, the gim is big and it's has a beautiful view. The staff is friendly and kind ... you don't even feel the presence of the cleaning ladies, they do their job very well with out making you feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tabarnac Tutu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 15 April 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dublin.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for many more enjoyable stays and of course some more of our famous Cookies!
Kind Regards,

Jane Igoe
Hotel Administrator, Executive Office
Direct Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone: +353 (0)1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#49 of 151 in Dublin
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing