We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for a Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for a Conference”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently attended a conference at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin (The old Burlington Hotel)

I have not been to the newly refurbished hotel for a long time, and when I did arrive I thought I was in the wrong hotel. The work that the Hilton group have done is incredible. The reception has a very warm welcome to it and the bar is one of the nicest I have been in (They also serve a very good pint of Guinness). With regards to the conference itself, the sound and lighting was faultless, the room was comfortable and most of all the service was impeccable

However, the highlight of the 3 day conference was the food. It’s hard enough to keep the Irish happy, but to have a conference with over 150 people from all over Europe leave with a smile on their face was priceless. It is really great to see a hotel, in Ireland, pull off a faultless conference. I have no doubt that we will be using this hotel again for many more conferences. I also have no doubt that if my colleagues come back to Ireland for a visit that they will stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are arriving via Dublin airport, then you can get a bus that brings you directly to the steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your most recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road for Business.

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the conference; I have shared your kind feedback regarding the conference dining options with the Hotels Executive Chef and Food & Beverage team.

Thank you for your thoughtful words about the Hotels refurbishment, we are delighted that you found so many positives in all our recent changes.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay!

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    1,000
    350
    143
    84
See reviews for
353
814
109
861
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

ugly building but free wifi, good gym, tasty and well served brekkie make this place a winner for a long stay.

it is a good 20 minute walk out of town but there are nice bars and eateries within 10 mins walk.



staff very friendly

no a/c

very large bar

free cookie on arrival

very noisy doors when auto closing wake you up

toilet paper is shocking....

Room Tip: back of hotel has access for bins and deliveries and is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the time to benefit from use of our gym, complimentary Wi-Fi and Breakfast.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay and some more of our warm DoubleTree Cookies!

Kind Regards,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here mid-May for a 2 night visit.We were made very welcome,found a well appointed hotel which has recently been modernised and refurbished.Staff were excellent. Rooms were modern and large. The location is about 15 minutes'walk from central Dublin,incidentally a lovely stroll.We enjoyed our stay very much ,except for the result of the rugby match. BandH 77

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank BandH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are so pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the stroll from the Hotel to the city centre.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay and hopefully your team will have more success next time they play in Dublin!

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at this double tree this month. It was a 20 min walk to Stephens green where you can catch the hop on hop off bus. There is an awesome restruant withing a 5 minute walk from hotel. Rooms are cozy, water was hot. heaters are off already so if its cold outside your SOL. Good sized bar downstairs and the restaraunt burger looked great but we didint have time to try.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jharve07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay and that our location was convenient for you when touring Dublin City. Hopefully, on your next visit you will have the time to enjoy our popular Maple & Thyme Irish Beef Burger.

Thank you again for your review and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future for another enjoyable stay

Kind Regards,

Jane

Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is advertised as five minutes walk from the city centre, it is at least twenty. The bedroom was bare and shabby. Breakfast is a reminder of a 1960 s works canteen. There is only bar food available mid week and this was very poor quality as was the toilet paper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarforthHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

I would like to apologize for your recent stay not exceeding your expectations.

We were disappointed to hear that our location was not convenient for you during your stay. We agree with you the Hotel is within a 15-20 minute walk from the City Centre. We do not currently advertise the Hotels location as being within five minutes of the city centre, as can be ascertained on the Maps & Directions page. We are very lucky that the Hotel is very well situated to public service transport such as Dublin Bus and The Luas.

We were also very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast at the Hotel, as this is often mentioned as a highlight by many of our other guests.

I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with details of the dates of your stay and the meal you had in the Hotel Bar so that we may review your feedback in greater detail.

We have also taken into consideration your feedback regarding the Hotels toilet paper and we are currently reviewing this matter.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Jane

Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Formerly The Burlington Hotel, this property had passed it's sell by date until it was taken over by Doubletree/Hilton who are renovating it. This has certainly gone a long way to restoring it to a hotel fit for the 21st century. The decor has improved greatly, the beds are comfortable, bar menu is very tasty and staff are all very friendly.
One minor gripe - the late night room service menu is basically sandwiches with no hot food options at all. And considering how quickly they were served leads me to believe they are pre-prepared and not freshly made to order. Not the biggest complaint in the world, but as someone who likes to use late night room service I found it lacking.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have air con, so try and request one that does have it if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjchrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I stay here quite regularly and have no complaints. Great staff, nice bar menu. Good Gym. Fantastic breakfast. Recently refurbished rooms.
Special appreciation for Aoife at reception and Tommy who greets for breakfast. They are a credit to the hotel.
Only negative is that some rooms do not have air conditioning and some that do are quite noisy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ronan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.
We are so pleased that you have had many enjoyable stays as a regular guest at the Hotel. Thank you for your kind words about Aoife and Tommy, we have shared them with the entire team.

In addition, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit to the Hotel so that we can make it even more enjoyable for you.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.8 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#18 of 151 in Dublin
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#49 of 151 in Dublin
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing