We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wetherby
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth a stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I stopped here on business on 28th May for one night, and was very impressed. The hotel is stylishly done, the staff were very friendly and helpful (especially Jack in the exec lounge), the room was a good size with a double and single bed, and breakfast had a great selection and the food was tasty. The other good news was free wi-fi, which is always welcome!

The only downside was that the room I was in didn't have any air conditioning, so I either had to open the window, or suffer a warm room.

Don't let this put you off though, it's definitely worth a stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cooper216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    957
    327
    129
    79
See reviews for
325
774
105
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Burlington Hotel was quite the landmark hotel in the swish Dublin 4 suburb. The Hilton Doubletree aquired the hotel in 2013 and later that year started major renovation works. I stay in the hotel every week as my work brings me to the area and I have watched as the hotel has emerged as a more modern version of itself. The conference and meeting rooms are very well layed out and the attention to details when catering for business clients is exceptional. The frontdesk staff are always friendly and pleasant on arrival. The cookie is a lovely touch The bedrooms now sport a huge 42" flatscreen TV, internet access and the recent renovations have modernised and freshed up the space All in all with transformation complete the the Hilton Doubletree Burlington Road has emerged as a lovely welcoming hotel in the heart of Dublin's leafly D4 suburb

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank adele_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the Double Tree for one night on 25th May 2014. We used it for a One Direction concert in Croke Park. Originally we thought Croke Park was about a 25-30 minute walk from the hotel but found out it was more like an hour. It took about 15-20mins to walk to Grafton Street but all the walking was very enjoyable.

The hotel itself was spotless and very modern. Our room (King) was very comfortable. The breakfast next morning was of a high standard. I usually find that items such as bacon are of poor quality and sometimes a selection of breads is limited. But not here. The food was excellent. We are planning another trip to Dublin in July and I won't hesitate to stay here again.

Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: We had room 236. Not a great view but that's not what we went for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisinw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay when visiting Dublin to attend the One Direction Concert in Croke Park. Thank you for your positive review of our breakfast buffet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel later this Summer!

Kind Regards,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here recently. It is a beautiful hotel, and massively improved since its takeover by Hilton. On check in I was given a homemade cookie as a welcome gift, which is a nice touch, and the customer service is great. However, the room I was given turned out to be occupied when i entered it! On returning to the front desk, they were very apologetic, gave me a free drink voucher(nice touch), and proceeded to give me another room. Unfortunately though, this one also turned out to be occupied!! Once i eventually got an unoccupied room, I was impressed with everything else. Nice room, comfortable bed, complimentary water in the room, and robes and slippers for the occupants. The food I ordered from room service was also great. So my only issue was the check-in and finding a room, and also the fact that my wake-up call never happened. But I look forward to staying here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We were also very disappointed to hear that you were not checked in correctly and that you did not receive your wake up call.

I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with details of the dates of your stay and your full name so that we may review your feedback in greater detail with the Front Desk Team to how these errors occurred.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Admittedly the exterior of the hotel highlights just how far Ireland's architectural professionals have come in the last few decades, however once we passed through the revolving doors we were pleasantly surprised. Its interior is modern and stylish throughout, and from the trendy open plan main bar to the cosy solitude of the executive lounge we were treated to a level of service beyond that of most luxury hotels.

The team and the front desk catered to our every need, and to say that the rooms are spacious and well appointed doesn't really do them justice. We were fortunate enough to get a corner suite, which could have easily accommodated our entire extended family.

Since we treated ourselves to breakfast in bed, I should warn you that the irish breakfast is a meal and half, so you may find yourself requiring a late checkout, if you're brave enough to finish it all

Room Tip: Corner suites are magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are pleased to hear that you were impressed with our refurbishment to date and the high standard of service extended to you throughout your stay.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay and of course another hearty Irish Breakfast!

Yours sincerely,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice place handy walk or taxi ride into town, check fare with Black taxi drivers that seem to congregate outside if going anywhere...they are rip off merchants. 20 euro from station 10 back to around the same area the next day. Dont forget you are free to choose what taxi you get into on the rank and not just the first one!

Anyway outside of the hotel could do with a facelift as it does not match the inside.The bar is very spacious and a nice spot for a few before town and after :)

The only negative is my friends stayed in a double room with no air con , it was like a sauna to be fair but floor 5 has air con ha sorry lads.

Staff were friendly and courteous and inside the hotel lobby and bar are nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Try and get floor 5 as my friends room had no air con and was like a sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are pleased that our location was convent for you during your stay. Our Concierge Team are always on hand to assist guests with directions, advice on transport and also Taxi booking services. In relation to guestroom temperatures, we are currently in the process of upgrading our air cooling system just in time for the summer season.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay!

Kind Regards,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

PROs: Service was excellent from the still warm welcome cookie arrival to the express checkout.
It looks like this hotel has been refurbished recently. The rooms are modern and spacious. Our room had a a large flat screen HD TV with a lot of channels including all the Sky Sports channels. The bar is very large with about 15 TVs with all the sports showing. Breakfast is buffet style in a stylish and very large function room.

CONS: The Air-Con was not working in our room when we got back to it but it was not needed at that point. There is a niteclub nearby which was a little loud

Summary: I would happily recommend this hotel. Its a little out of town but the taxi cost us 5 euro to get into town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padraig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our welcome gift of a warm DoubleTree Cookie! Thank you for sharing your positive review of your stay and your recommendation to other guests to stay with us.
In relation to guestroom temperatures, we are currently in the process of upgrading our air cooling system just in time for the summer season.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay!

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#53 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing