We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rooms need soundproofing :(” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #53 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“rooms need soundproofing :(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend trip, and although we requested an early check in, as an option when booking, this was not available, so we had to wait for normal check in, no big issue really, complementary hot cookie on arrival, nice touch, hotel frontage is very smart and classy, rooms not that big considering we booked an executive room, the sound proofing between rooms was none existent, lets just say the lady in the room next to us had a lot of "fun" at 2am, 3am and 4am ;) Again considering this was supposed to be a better room I did expect more than one small bottle of shower gel between the two of us and more than two bath towels would have been good considering how most ladies like two to themselves after washing their hair in the shower.
Gym was very well kitted out, complementary earphones, the executive lounge that we had access too as part of our package via booking.com was great, complementary breakfast and in the afternoon alcoholic drinks and small snacks until early evening, was not busy either so nice place to have a couple of drinks before heading into Temple Bar.
will use this hotel again as its location was good (if you dont mind a 15 mins walk into the town,), plenty of taxis outside if you do.

Room Tip: ask for one that doesn't have a rampant couple next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank standrews47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    934
    314
    122
    75
See reviews for
316
748
104
804
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kesh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Pleasant and helpful staff, very spacious and clean rooms Few problems with lifts not working, but otherwise well located, with great facilities. Bar food fine, and a breakfast buffet...which I suppose could get boring if you stayed more than a few days.... I d recommend for business Great conference location with good rooms of varying sizes

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank MandyNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road for Business.

Thank you for your recommendation to future guests to use the Hotel for business travel or conference and meeting venue.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.
Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator


Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

It seemed like a nice hotel, until a big chunk of the ceiling plopped into the bath beside my wife. It turned out that a past water leak upstairs had caused the ceiling surface to become detached, but none of the staff had noticed/reported the brown stains and breaking away of the ceiling surface. It was all mouldy underneath. Not nice to get in your bath water. We reported it and didn't get charged for breakfast on the last day of our stay. Yuk.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookbinder79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We were very disappointed to hear that recent visit to the Hotel did not exceed your expectations. In relation to your guest bathroom feedback, the damage to paint work caused by a leak has now been fully repaired by our Engineering team. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to constantly improve our service.

Thank you again for your review and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, feel free to contact me directly jane.igoe@hilton.com to make a booking so that I may ensure an enjoyable stay for you.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here when it was the Burlington a few times and this is a definite improvement. Its a big hotel so facelifts i cant imagine are cheap, but it does look quite plush now,
The reception area is huge as is the bar, so even when its busy as it was the night I arrived there is still space. I arrived to a couple of 'bouncers' on the car park telling me it was full due to the national restaurant awards taking place, but after some banter they kindly found me a place.
Rooms are good, WIFI works well and the breakfast is pretty good ( buffet).
Its not too bad to walk to town !! or a taxi is about $7.
Its Hilton prices, but I'll be going back.
There is a great little pub down the road that had fantastic live music the night i visited.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are pleased to hear that you were impressed with our renovations to date. Your support is greatly valued and I hope we can be a home away from home for you whenever you are in Dublin.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another enjoyable stay!

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

very comfortable, great food and friendly staff and the cookie was very nice! Had no issues at all the room was very clean fresh and tidy would not hesitate to come back here. Location wise it was a bit of a walk for where I had to get to but this can't be helped by the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your Five Star review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially our DoubleTree Cookies and warm welcome from our team.

We wish you a safe return journey to the United Kingdom and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Without the help from Sylvia at the nearby Dublin Hilton fully booked we would have had a real problem. Sylvia called Dan at the DoubleTree to see if he could help my wife and I. Just like that we had the exact room we wanted for the 3 nights stay. We always try to stay within the Hilton chain and this is why. We cannot thank Dan and Sylvia and all the Hilton staff enough. You made our stay in Dublin city exceptional. Excellent breakfast if not the best we ever had. Tripping thru the city and tours in Ireland were great and then back to the Hilton DoubleTree what could be better.

Room Tip: Any room is clean and excellent. if you can get any upgrade you will get some extra treats. Again an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indian_motorcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your Five Star review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are so glad that we could accommodate you on your recent visit to Dublin. We wish you a safe return journey to the United States and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel is located outside Dublin busy area, but you will need less than half an hour walk to the heart of the city: the pedestrian zone and famous Temple Bar area. Suposedly the hotel was renovated lately, but on the third floor where I stayed for four nights in the second week of June this was not really reflected. Sleep was good, but the prices are way too high for higher overall rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mik1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We were very disappointed to hear that recent visit to the Hotel did not exceed your expectations. In relation to your guestroom feedback, I would be most grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with the details of your recent stay e.g. dates and booking name so that we may review your feedback in greater detail. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to constantly improve our service.

Thank you again for your review and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, feel free to contact me directly to make a booking so that I may ensure an enjoyable stay for you.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#54 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing