We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #52 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Two nights in June. Great location for South Dublin and not too far from center. Internet was a bit slow at times. Great breakfast variety. Really confortable and good size bedroom. Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We love the picture you have shared of our DoubleTree Cookie! We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay and that you enjoyed our Hotel Buffet Breakfast.

We are currently upgrading our Wi-Fi system so guests can expect faster download speeds very shortly.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Jane

Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,949 - 1,955 of 2,710 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

After travelling through Italy and France with their very small hotel rooms and lifts, the Doubletree was a welcome change. Well appointed rooms, big tv, great bar/restaurant, fantastic breakfast, polite and helpful staff. Pity there was no air conditioning as the room got very hot during the day..but otherwise, cant fault this place. A 15 min walk to the centre of town and the beautiful St Stephens Green.would definitely stay here again....

Room Tip: Try and get a roo. With airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay and that our location was convenient for you when touring the city.

We have recently experience a period of very warm weather here in Dublin, which has led to a high demand for our guestroom with Air Cooling Systems.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is a little bit out of Dublin Centre. The rooms are not particularly desireable, the room I stayed in had grease satins all up one wall, very unpleasant. The service in the bar/restaurant, is extremely slow, we had to wait fifteen minutes to be served, and the bar was only a tenth of its capacity, talking to reception about it, it was mentioned that this was not the first complaint on this particular evening about the service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to constantly improve our service.

We were very disappointed to hear that recent visit to the Hotel did not exceed your expectations and we are eager to make this right for you.

In relation to your guestroom feedback, I would be most grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with the details of your recent stay e.g. dates and booking name so that we may review your feedback in greater detail. In relation to you experience in the hotel’s bar I would like to apologies for the delay that you experienced in relation to service. I would also be grateful if you could advise your dinning times so that we can review how such a delay occurred.

Thank you again for your review and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, feel free to contact me directly to make a booking so that I may ensure an enjoyable stay for you.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here with a colleague for one night and was pleasantly surprised by the great job done in converting the hotel to a bright, modern, we'll furnished place to stay.
The rooms are the usual Doubletree standard but with a great TV and modern bathroom facilities.
The lobby is bright and comfortable but the real feature is the huge bar which is open until late which has a great selection of drinks. The bar must be 25 metres long and oval in shape and you can be served on all four sides- a must see!
If you are lucky to get in the exec lounge then it is worth the visit with a great choice of drinks and some really good quality snack food.
Breakfast is also a plus point- good service, good selection of hot and cold foods in a bright, we'll appointed location.
The only disappointment is the location which is about a 20 minute walk to Temple Bar which is fine if the weather is good as there are lots of bars on the way in and out but if the weather is poor then it is a taxi trip.
Overall I would recommend this hotel as a great value, newly modernised hotel with good service.

Room Tip: If you can book a room with exec lounge access you will get your money's worth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 429SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was at this hotel for 6 days in June. In many ways this is a superior hotel. The breakfast was a very nice buffet and I had several meals at the bar that were very nice. This hotel is a little farther from the center of Dublin but not more than 15 minutes’ walk. The room is very nice and the beds were fine. The internet was bit slow at times but manageable. My only complaint is the shower. Low pressure, the water just fall out of the shower head and the strange half glass door that guarantees you wash the bathroom floor each time you shower. See attached photo.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Gym or you will be awaken by the exercise machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My visit was related to a conference. Our room was too warm with no A/C or fan, and the window opening was inadequate. Some floors have the A/C, others are planned. The room was also noisy with the clanging of bottles being tossed I to dumpsters ringing out throughout the day and into the evening; the dumpsters should be relocated away from rooms. The staff were all very friendly, even the housekeeping staff. The best thing was the bar restaurant, which serves up very good food. It is a 20-30 minute walk to the Temple Bar area, so it is outside of the points of interest. With better climate control and sound mitigation this hotel would rate 4 stars easily.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank World H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We have recently experience a period of very warm weather here in Dublin, which has led to a high demand for our guestroom with Air Cooling Systems. Currently, the majority of rooms feature Air Cooling Systems and were not available we can accommodate guests with Fans and additional water.

We will share your feedback regarding noise created from the emptying of bottle bins with the Hotels Bar manager for review. Thank you for your generous feedback about the food which you enjoyed in the hotels BBar.

Thank you again for your review and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, feel free to contact me directly jane.igoe@hilton.com to make a booking so that I may ensure an enjoyable stay for you.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed for two nights during the recent warm weather and found the room warm, even with the requested fan provided by the staff. The window barely opened inward, so air flow was minimal. I understand ac addition is being planned for more floors, and it will be more comfortable soon. It would have been better to replace duvets with light sheets in warm weather. Also, it is a good 15-20 minute walk to the city center, not something to look forward to after a day of sightseeing, so plan on a taxi to get home.

The staff was helpful and pleasant and the room was comfortable except for the temperature.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room if it is warm weather, the west facing rooms are especially warm sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
585 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#47 of 150 in Dublin
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.8 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £93 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing