We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a fairly good hotel in a good location 15mins walk from saint Stevens green. The rooms are nice and clean but could do with air-conditioning. The food is good but the veggie options are poor and the breakfast is expensive at €15 and €11.50. That being said this is a very good hotel and would recommend staying here!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank timothy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.
We are so pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for you. The majority of our guestrooms have air cooling systems; however these have been in high demand due to recent warm weather. Please do not hesitate to request an air conditioned room on your next visit to the Hotel and we will do our best to accommodate your request.

In relation to our Hotel Breakfast, it may interest you for your next visit that we are now serving light breakfast options in the Hotels Lounge from 7.00am – 10.30am. The new Lobby Lounge Morning menu includes a range of options such as scones, pastries, porridge, smoothies and cooked breakfast items options ranging from €2.50 to €8.50.

Thank you for your feedback regarding vegetarian dining options within the Hotel, we would be interested to find out which outlets in which you dinned in during your recent visit as we will be updating our menus in the coming weeks and we would greatly value your feedback. As always we are happy to accommodate any special dietary requirement were possible by adjusting our current menu to suit your requirements.

In addition, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit to the Hotel so that we can make it even more enjoyable for you.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,930 - 1,936 of 2,747 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed for three nights. Arrived at 9am and room was ready for us to check in. We had access to the Exec Suite which meant free beer and wine with nibbles. Room was very clean and facilities of hotel were excellent. Breakfast was great with wide choice. Hotel was very large but this didn't cause any issues.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BathGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, in particular our Hotel Breakfast and Executive Lounge. The Executive Lounge is a great place to relax in the evening and to perfect your Pint Pouring Skills at our Pour your Own Guinness Station!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Wonderful hotel, clean, helpfull staff. The only problem was the bathroom door that was broken and they didn't fix it during our stay. The room was a bit warm with no air conditioning. However, it was a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
4  Thank DrJames84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay. Please accept my apologies for our guest bathroom not exceeding your group expectations. The Hotels maintenance team have now followed up and resolved this issue.

In addition, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit to the Hotel so that we can make it even more enjoyable for you.
Kind Regards,

Jane

Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Since you enter the main lobby at this hotel you experience a trendy and comfortable property. Check in was fast. The room was very big but it was a surprise to find there were no drawers on any of the furniture, only shelves in the closet.

Strange enough the only drawer has the safety box, which technically can be taken away with the drawer…

It was very nice to find several outlets in the desk, and one of them of 110 volts instead of the traditional 240 outlets of the UK and Ireland. However after a couple of hours of working on the desktop the chair is really uncomfortable and the little drawers for pencils or small items in the desktop tend to bother you a lot in the stomach.

On my scale of 1 to 5 where 1 is poor and 5 is excellent the bed was a 4 and the shower was a 1.

The reason a rate so low the shower is due to the poor water pressure I experienced, which forces you to take a longer shower and the height of the bathtub, where you really have to make and extra effort to get into the shower, this is of special importance for people with disabilities and or with limited flexibility on their legs.

The exercise room was outstanding, with the newest machines of the Lifestyle brand. I really enjoyed them. They also provide you with new earplugs to be able to use the machines.

My room had an excellent air condition system however other of my colleagues staying in the property complained about the lack of the air condition in a particular hot day. Keep this in mind since at the time only rooms at floor 6 and 7 do have air conditioning inside the room.

The breakfast was excellent, including the real Belgian waffles that you only can get in Brussels and now in this hotel as well.

Wifi was fast, but keep in mind that it is not free for everyone as I understand. It depends on the category that you have with the Hilton loyalty program.

Checkout was also very fast and with no further problems.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the 6th or 7th floors if you need/want air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MPM_WORLDWIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that overall you enjoyed your recent stay including our comfortable beds, breakfast buffet and sixth floor gym.

Please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations in relation to shower water pressure. We are currently upgrading our boiler and water pump system so water pressure will be increased throughout the property very shortly. The Hotel also has a number of guestrooms with roll in showers and wet rooms for those whom would not be comfortable with a standard shower/bath.

I have shared your feedback regarding guestroom drawers and safe security with the Hotels engineering team for review.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future when you next visit Ireland.

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel was recently updated and it shows! The room was large, well appointed with a large flat screen tv, a spacious bathroom, and in a great neighborhood. The downstairs bar was modern and I loved the outdoor area with the street views. The only thing missing from our stay was air-conditioning. It was unusually warm in Dublin during our stay and the fan given to us just wasn't enough for comfort. I would absolutely stay here again, as long as I could get a room on the one floor with air-conditioning or during any other season but summer.

Room Tip: Book early and request air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you were impressed with our recently renovated guestrooms. We would like to apologies for the inconvenience of having no air conditioning in your guestroom, during this spell of hot weather in Dublin.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future when you next visit Ireland.

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just spent three days here and I must say how nice it was. We arrived very early after leaving home at 3am for 6am flight and were at the hotel at 9am wanting to drop our bags off to go sight seeing. Reception allowed us to check in and that was great it meant we could have a quick nap which really set us up for a full day of walking around Dublin, I am sure we were just lucky being allowed to check in so early but thank you doubletree. and the warm chocolate chip cookie was delicious.
The breakfast was really good with wide selection of both cooked and continental options and lots of fresh coffee.
Rooms clean modern with flat screen tvs and good quality beds.
The hotel is a 10 minute stroll from st Stephens green and 20 from temple bar.
We would definitely stay here again.
If you are looking for good food try the barge pub a five minute stroll up the side of the canal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your Five Star review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We were so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit to Dublin and that the Hotel made such a good base for exploring all the Dublin has to offer. All the team here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel genuinely care about our guests and we are pleased to see that our team could accommodate your early arrival and make you feel welcome with the gift of a DoubleTree Cookie.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future when you next visit Ireland.

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just returned from a trip to Dublin, Ireland. Stayed at the Doubletree Hilton on Burlington Rd. Fantastic place! Beautiful rooms, delicious food and friendly customer service. I would highly recommend this fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sallyb10Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your Five Star review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We were so pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic time that would be happy to recommend our Hotel to future guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future when you next visit Ireland.

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,663 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £79 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing