We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovated hotel but still has issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #55 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Renovated hotel but still has issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

A large group of me and my friends stayed here on the beginning of our trip to Ireland. We were running the Dublin Half Marathon on Monday and stayed here because it was the hotel for the race although packet pickup ended up being else where. We got there early and the employees were very helpful with our bags and getting our rooms ready as soon as possible. When we did get in our room, it was nice but there were spots where it looks like they just quit renovating. Two different color paint, marks on walls, etc but the bed was comfortable and the room was alright so who cares. We did have an awful time of the toilet never seeming to flush on the first try which became annoying and kind of gross. Breakfast was good with a lot of different things to choose from. All in all, it was a decent hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road. We greatly appreciate all guest feedback as it affords us an opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

We were disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not exceed your expectations. I would be grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with the details of your recent stay so that we can make this matter right for you and make the necessary improvements to service here on the property.

In addition, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit to the Hotel so that we can make it even more enjoyable for you.

Yours sincerely,

Jane

Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    944
    322
    127
    78
See reviews for
321
764
105
818
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Although in a capital city, the area was quiet (not a lot of sirens or other street noise late at night). It is walking distance from St. Stephen's Green so convenient to sightseeing (hop on / hop off bus, Trinity College, etc.), shops (Grafton Street), restaurants. The hotel is a reasonable distance from the airport (took less than 30 minutes) but I did learn to verify if the taxi takes credit cards if that is important to you. Lots of bus tour types staying at the hotel as well so on the days they are leaving or arriving, the lobby was quite hectic. Room service and bar menu was somewhat limited. Prices of the food and beverage were not inexpensive but not ridiculous either. Room was clean and comfortable. Will stay again on next business trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Passline7741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, in particular that our location was convenient for all your sightseeing and for traveling from the airport.

In relation to dining options at the Hotel you will be pleased to hear that we have now extended our BBar menu to include over twelve new dishes.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have stayed numerous times in Dublin and decided to give this hotel a go.

We stayed for two nights to visit the RDS and I can honestly say I have never been in a better Hilton hotel – from the moment we walked in we were very impressed – a free warm cookie at check in, the hotel room was lovely and clean and quiet and on the 5th floor – with big comfortable beds and lovely bathroom. We had the best service from start to finish, availability for cabs all the time, staff attentive and friendly even when others they were serving were not! The breakfast was fantastic and we could of easily sat in there all morning! Waiting staff and the head waiter were very helpful and cheery. The bar got very busy on friday night, but staff were dotted around to make sure the crowds of people were all behaving themselves, it was very impressive, they made sure that no hotel guests were upset in anyway – hey its Friday night in Dublin!!! but handled quietly and efficiently! I lost our room keys twice! and not a murmur or a tut from the front desk staff was heard! The general toilets were clean and massive and everywhere looked great! A big thank you to the waiting staff in the front lobby, the lovely Asian girl and the girl from Bulgaria, they always had a smile however difficult and got us fed at gone 10pm at night from the bar – thank you! I bought a tin of the cookies, if you buy one thing from Dublin, get these! they are the best! I have only ate one so far after returning home, but I'm sure they won't last long – a lovely touch!

Room Tip: 5th floor was good if you are a Hilton Honours member
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jollygirlsouting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your five star review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay and that you found our Hotel to provide the ‘best service from start to finish’.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again for another enjoyable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Jane

Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for one night at the Doubletree in Dublin. It was a little more removed from city centre than we expected, but completely doable. The room was adequate, and well located. It was stiflingly and uncomfortably hot. Granted, it was summer but the inability to open a window paired with the distinct lack of a fan or air conditioning is something to take into account if you are travelling in summer, though par for the course in the UK and Ireland I suppose.

The breakfast selection was superb, and we took advantage of the bar in the evening. Our bill was charged an inexplicable 20 euros extra for late night food, which was dealt with accordingly at check out with apologies from the front desk, but which we could have easily missed.

Also note that this seems a popular option for travel groups. Do not expect a particularly quiet stay.

Overall, a perfectly pleasant stay, though not without kinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathilde N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

In recent weeks we experienced a period of very warm weather here in Dublin, which led to a high demand for our guestrooms with Air Cooling Systems. Currently, the majority of rooms feature Air Cooling Systems and were not available we can accommodate guests with Fans and additional water. However, all our guestroom windows should be able to be opened and this is something our Maintenance Team will investigate.

Please accept my apologies for any confusion caused in relation to your billing. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me should you require any further assistance.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The refurbishment at the hotel seems to be complete and the end result is very good. Front-of-house foyer is very spacious and attractive and the large bar area seems to be a venue in its own right. All staff were polite, efficient and very friendly and the breakfast was relaxed, enjoyable and plentiful. As a general rule, Dublin hotels are overpriced, but the Doubletree delivers pretty well in terms value. The southside location is very attractive and sophisticated, unlike Temple Bar and other areas. The bedrooms are very attractive and well appointed- the King Size bed is worth the extra few euros and is hugely comfortable. Only slight gripe for me was that the shower pressure was pretty average. My room was on the 6th floor so there is maybe a boiler issue? However this is something that Hilton should look at as showering is a critical part of any hotel experience. Overall though the hotel is very good in so many ways and I would unconditionally recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJM1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your four star review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that overall you enjoyed your recent stay and that you would recommend our Hotel unconditionally.

Please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations in relation to shower water pressure. We are currently upgrading our boiler and water pump system so water pressure will be increased throughout the property very shortly.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future when you next visit Ireland.

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

After traveling Europe for two weeks it was nice to arrive at this hotel which has amenities most American tourists would be familiar with, which arent necessarily typical throughout Europe. When we checked in we were welcomed with warm cookies and when we got to our room there was complimentary bottled water since we're members of Hilton Honors. We got a pleasant nights sleep in thsi great hotel which also provided nice toiletries. This hotel is about a 25 min walk to the Trinity Bar area or a short cab ride. Cabs wait right outside the hotel. You can also take the airbus from the airport directly to the hotel and it was 14 Euro round trip and it was great service with Wifi on the bus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loves2travel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your four star review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you had such a restful stay and a great night’s sleep in our DoubleTree Sweet Dreams style bed. It is so important to be well rested especially when your day is filled with visiting so many great attractions in Dublin such as Temple Bar and Trinity College.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future when you next visit Ireland.

Warm Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stay in Burlington every so often for business but not sure whether I will again. Building work going on so quite noisy and no parking so had to park on street due to this good if they told you about this when booking. What annoyed me most was checkout this morning I queried breakfast charge as I had not eaten breakfast because I had breakfast meetings both mornings I was challenged whether I had to return vouchers that I had been given I again reiterate to had not booked breakfast or been up sold when I checked in so I had no vouchers to give back. The receptionist made me feel like I was lying as he asked me again had I not got vouchers again repeated no booked room only as I had breakfast meetings in work. Eventually charge taken off room. Not impressed by his attitude or his approach

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamcamdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all guest feedback as it affords us an opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

We were disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not exceed your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience of not being able to avail of the Hotels Car Park during your recent stay. Information about our Car Park restrictions is highlighted on the Hotels website as per below;

‘’The Hotel's Car Park capacity is currently reduced due to upgrade works of the Underground and Back Car Park. The Hotel Car Park is operated on a first come, first served basis and as such the Hotel cannot guarantee car parking for residents. If the car park is full, there is on street parking available in the area (pay and display).’’

In relation to your breakfast charges, please accept our apologies for any confusion caused on check-out. I would be grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with the details of your recent stay so that we can make this matter right for you and make the necessary improvements to service here on the property.

Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing