We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it once was.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #55 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not what it once was.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Enjoyed a lovely week staying in this hotel, food and service excellent, recommend the executive lounge. Sadly though this once magnificent hotel has been "modernised" gone are the polished mahogany furnishings replaced by plastic effect wood and the breakfast silver service by thermos jugs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingo369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    944
    322
    127
    78
See reviews for
321
764
105
818
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel early, so ok the room wasn't ready. We were told to wait, which we did. Went back at time we were told, one room ready but the other one wasn't. So told to wait again, once again went back, room still not ready. So reception told us to give her 15 mins then she would come looking for us. But no she didn't. So decided to go out. A very long walk into town, ok if your fit. Got back and they had given that room to someone else!!!!! In end was given disabled room next to the other one. Which had no bath just walk in shower! Hotel reception staff very rude and not helpful, wasn't told anything. Bar and restaurant staff I couldn't fault them. Next day we went out, got back one room had been cleaned and the second one just left, beds wernt even made!!! Inside window sill looked grubby, paint had all chipped. Curtains fell down. So not very happy. We wernt even told where the restaurant, or bar was. Had to find it ourselves. Asked about coach trips but no one seemed interested in helping. So we certainly wont be going back there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 923Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road. We greatly appreciate all guest feedback as it affords us an opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

We were disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not exceed your expectations. I would be grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with the details of your recent stay so that we can make this matter right for you and make the necessary improvements to service here on the property.

In addition, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit to the Hotel so that we can make it even more enjoyable for you.

Yours sincerely,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

overall the hotel is good...but is certainly not to the standards of the old Burlington. Reception and breakfast staff...very polite,and professional,comfortable rooms,and good location..... Bar,and bar food,and staff,very poor. Meal wait time over an hour,service wait time for drink 20 mins,and wait time to order food 30 mins. Dreadful!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank gtad66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road. We greatly appreciate all guest feedback as it affords us an opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

We were very disappointed to hear that your dining experience in B Bar did not exceed your expectations and we would like to apologise for the delay in service regarding your drinks order and in taking your meal order.

I would be grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with the details of your recent meal (Date and times as well as food ordered) so that we can make this matter right for you and make the necessary improvements to service here on the property.

In addition, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit to the Hotel so that we can make it even more enjoyable for you.

Yours sincerely,

Jane

Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

staff on reception rude and offhand rooms shoddy! not what we asked for. bar staff and dinning staff excellent .if your face don't fit get poor treatment .charged for breakfast but on web it said it was bed and breakfast .i would say to pay for everything as you go as prices on web sight are not the same anywhere in dublin so shoddy curtains fell off .wasted a whole day trying to get rooms we booked this is not a good 4* hotel.

Room Tip: The staff on the reception are mostly offhand and rude. on the day we arrived 4 hours to get one of...
See more room tips
Green Features: yes we are all doing things to save the planet. but when on holiday we expect the luxury of clean towels every day thats what we are paying for . you would encourage to do this more if you offered a discount .
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road. We greatly appreciate all guest feedback as it affords us an opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

We were disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not exceed your expectations. I would be grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with the details of your recent stay so that we can make this matter right for you and make the necessary improvements to service here on the property.

In addition, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit to the Hotel so that we can make it even more enjoyable for you.

Yours sincerely,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

great location, quiet area.
can walk to some attractions such as St Stephens green,other you need to take a short cab ride.
the staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble.
the restaurant is great,large variety.rooms are large and well appointed,but the shower is slightly unusual, never did master how to not get water all over bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had such a great time while visiting us recently and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was a bonus for you; it is an easy journey to the City Centre from the Hotel by Dublin Bus which stops at many of the city’s key attractions.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your guest bathroom shower, I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at jane.igoe@hilton.com with details of your stay (Reservation Name and Dates of Stay) so that our Housekeeping Team can review your feedback and confirm that the shower is in correct working order.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.
Kind Regards,

Jane

Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had requested an early check-in weeks before our arrival. We were flying from the USA (California) and would be to the hotel by noon time after traveling for 16+ hours. Upon arrival at 1230 p.m. our room was not available (just a regular room, nothing special). We went to our rental car in the car park and checked back every 30 minutes or so with the reception personnel. The hotels check out time was 1200 p.m. so one would think that a room could be cleaned & made available quickly especially since we had made the request weeks in advance and now we had attempted to check in early after a long flight. Long story short. after 2.5 hrs. of waiting in our rental car in the car park (now 19 hrs. after leaving California in the USA) we finally got our room at 3:00 p.m. (the regular check-in time). Mind you, multiple other people were checking in at that time also (their rooms were also ready). My questions is this! If you have customers checking out at noon time and I arrive at 12:30 p.m. why does it take 2.5 hours to have a single room ready for me to check in to? At 3:00 p.m. all kinds of people had their rooms available. I know that not all the rooms were cleaned & ready at the exact same time (3:00 p.m.). I do not believe that the hotel staff did what they could to make sure we could get the early check-in that we requested. How can all the rooms become available at the exact same moment in time (3:00 p.m.)? A room had to have been cleaned & ready way before the 3:00 check-in time. Don't stay here if you are traveling from far away and have an early arrival time because you will be sleeping in your rental car in the car park. Another problem is the large & heavy room doors. Constantly all day and all night there was slamming of the room doors. The doors are so heavy that when one leaves their room and closes the door behind them the door shuts so loudly that the customers (like me) in the other rooms are awakened (and I am not talking about next door, I am talking about the whole floor). I travel a lot so this is a big deal for me to notice the loud slamming doors all day and night. On a more positive note the staff were friendly (but not helpful) and the rooms were great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road. We greatly appreciate all guest feedback as it affords us an opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

We were disappointed to hear that your recent check-in experience did not exceed your expectations. Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee an early check-in unless the night before scheduled arrival date is secured. However, our reception team will always try to accommodate an early check-in request especially when guests have been traveling long distances.

As you have confirmed the Hotels standard check-in time is 15:00, during the summer peak season we have a high volume of guests staying for longer than one night which can mean not all rooms in the Hotel are simultaneously checking-out at 12.00. Unfortunately, this can lead to a situation where due to high demand for early check-ins and a shortage of availble room types we cannot accommodate all requests.

I would be grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with the details of your recent stay so that we can make this matter right for you and make the necessary improvements to service here on the property. Thank you for your additional feedback regarding guestroom doors, I have shared this with the Hotels Maintenance manager for review.

In addition, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit to the Hotel so that we can make it even more enjoyable for you.

Yours sincerely,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Email: Jane.Igoe@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I booked a Executive Room that allowed for Lounge Access.

Here's the thing about the lounge - with the plush chairs and warm lighting, it's one of the nicest I have been in. However, save for the bottled drinks in the fridges, I must say that it is poorly stocked with snacks when compared to the other DTs I've been in. Unless you value the space and privacy that the lounge accords, I would not suggest that you pay for lounge access. The staff were friendly enough, but there wasn't any recognition for being a HH Gold.

I was there over summer, so it was always disappointing to come back to a stuffy room after a long day out. The air conditioning took ages to cool the room, and we could only open the windows slightly. What was nice was the HUGE LCD TV they had in the room.

I looked forward to breakfast everyday in the breakfast room that was airy, well lit and featured high ceilings. While the spread didn't change over the number of days I was there, the food items were all nicely done.

Choose this property if your are on a mattress run, or if there are hotel promotions going on. While it is located in a nice neighborhood, it's still a distance away from where all the action of Dublin is.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an air-conditioned room during summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank icemountainsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing